Becoming a member of the LoveReading4Kids community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unconditional book loving for your children with their favourites saved to their own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop plus lots lots more...

Find out more

The Ingo Quartet from Helen Dunmore

Are you a fan of The Ingo Quartet from Helen Dunmore books? Check out all of our The Ingo Quartet from Helen Dunmore book selections, read reviews, download extracts and you can order the book too!

Filter: Baby and Toddler 3+ readers 5+ readers 7+ readers 9+ readers 11+ readers 13+ readers YA readers

Ingo is a series of 4 books, set in a tantalisingly beautiful and dangerous world of adventure under the sea, where the Mer people live.

Helen Dunmore Author of Ingo

Helen Dunmore is an acclaimed and award-winning novelist for both adults and children.  Her first novel for children was published in the ‘90s but her writing for younger readers really came to the fore with the publication of Ingo the first in the ‘Ingo Quartet’ in 2005. The second, The Tide Knot, won the Nestle Children’s Book Prize Silver Medal. The third, The Deep, was published in 2007, and the fourth and final book in the series, The Crossing of Ingo, has just been released to coincide with Lovereading4kids making the quartet our ‘Series of the Month’. Among her many awards, Helen also won the inaugural Orange prize for Fiction in 1996.

A message from the author:
‘I was born in December 1952, in Yorkshire, the second of four children. My father was the eldest of twelve, and this extended family has no doubt had a strong influence on my life, as have my own children. In a large family you hear a great many stories. You also come to understand very early that stories hold quite different meanings for different listeners, and can be recast from many viewpoints.’