Undercover Reads - Teen and Young Adult Fiction from Walker Books Undercover Reads - Teen and Young Adult Fiction from Walker Books

Uncover the ultimate in YA reading with Undercover. From gritty urban crime thrillers to supernatural historical fiction, and almost everything in between, each with teen protagonists who readers can't fail to be drawn to, you'll find some of the very best YA fiction published this year for readers to devour. Discover your new favourite books for 2012 here...

Frostfire
Zoe Marriott
Perfect for fans of Tamora Pierce, Maggie Stiefvater and Cassandra Clare this is a literary fantasy about war, racial identity and first love, in which Frost has left her homeland to travel to the... Featured in: 13+ readers
Format: Paperback | Released 05/07/2012
Info Extract Buy

The Girl Who Could Silence the Wind
Meg Medina
Sonia Ocampo is a wonderful heroine in an evocative story with a rich South American setting and a touch of magic. When Sonia is born she is thought to have special powers of healing. While 16 year old Sonia knows... Featured in: 13+ readers
Format: Paperback | Released 07/06/2012
Info Extract Buy

The Anti-prom
Abby McDonald
Three unlikely allies team up for a night of rebellion, romance and revenge in a high-stakes drama from acclaimed young author Abby McDonald. Hilarious and heart-tugging by turns it's not to be missed. Please note that this book contains sexually explicit content. Featured in: 13+ readers
Format: Paperback | Released 03/05/2012
Info Extract Buy

Blink and Caution
Tim Wynne-jones
Award-winning crime writer Tim Wynne-Jones toughly tells a gripping and poignant story of two teens swept up into a major crime. Blink is only a skinny kid who's on the run and surviving on his wits; Caution is also on... Featured in: 13+ readers
Format: Paperback | Released 05/01/2012
Info Extract Buy

Kill You Last
Todd Strasser
This is a powerful and uncompromising thriller and not for the faint-hearted. It is the third crime thriller from a bestselling American author who 'really has his finger on the way kids think' (The New York Times). It offers all the... Featured in: 13+ readers
Format: Paperback | Released 01/03/2012
Info Extract Buy

Reader ReviewedClockwork Angel (The Infernal Devices 1)
Cassandra Clare
This deservedly best-selling series launches with a powerful love story that thrills and chills in equal measure. Sailing from New York, 16 year old Tessa Gray arrives in Victorian London to meet her brother. But nothing goes according to plan... Featured in: 13+ readers
Format: Paperback | Released 03/03/2011
Info Extract Buy

Girl, Stolen
April Henry
A teenage girl is inadvertently kidnapped, a car is stolen by a gang but when the gang realises who they have in the car they have no intention of letting her go without recompense. But Cheyenne, despite being blind and... Featured in: 13+ readers
Format: Paperback | Released 01/03/2012
Info Extract Buy

Paradise
Joanna Nadin
When sixteen year old Billie Paradise inherits her grandmother's house, it's a fairytale come true. She and her family move from their rented flat in London to start a new life by the sea. Maybe Billie can even find the... Featured in: 13+ readers
Format: Paperback | Released 01/09/2011
Info Extract Buy

Blessed
Cynthia Leitich Smith
Teased by Tantalize? And possessed by Eternal? Then prepare yourself to be Blessed in Cynthia Leitich-Smith's latest dark fantasy. For those new to the series then start at the beginning. it will be well worth it. Fans of... Featured in: 13+ readers
Format: Paperback | Released 06/10/2011
Info Extract Buy

Shadows on the Moon
Zoe Marriott
A prize-winning reinvention of the familiar Cinderella story set in a richly created Japanese setting, this is a powerful and haunting novel shot through with romance. Suzume is a shadow-weaver; she can become whoever she wants except her true self.... Featured in: 13+ readers
Format: Paperback | Released 07/07/2011
Info Extract Buy

Long Reach
Peter Cocks
Pulling no punches, this action-packed thriller grabs you by the scruff and of the neck and doesn't let go. Seventeen year old Eddie's world turns upside down after the death of his brother. Refusing to accept that his brother killed... Featured in: 13+ readers
Format: Paperback | Released 03/01/2011
Info Extract Buy

Blood on My Hands
Todd Strasser
A powerful and uncompromising psychological thriller that's not for the faint-hearted. When seventeen-year-old Callie Carson is found standing over the body of her best friend holding the knife that killed her, everyone assumes she's guilty. Then someone takes a picture... Featured in: 13+ readers
Format: Paperback | Released 07/04/2011
Info Extract Buy

City of Fallen Angels (The Mortal Instruments 4)
Cassandra Clare
Love, blood, betrayal and revenge - the stakes are higher than ever in the fourth book in the bestselling Mortal Instruments sequence. The Mortal Instruments series has over one million books in print. It has been on the New York... Featured in: 13+ readers
Format: Paperback | Released 04/04/2011
Info Extract Buy

A Monster Calls
Siobhan Dowd, Patrick Ness
Winner of the 2012 Carnegie Medal AND 2012 Kate Greenaway Medal. This is the first time one book has won both prizes! The Judges said: An exquisite piece of writing of great depth which has huge impact upon the reader,... Featured in: 13+ readers
Format: Hardback | Released 02/05/2011
Info Extract Buy

Life An Exploded Diagram
Mal Peet
A Lovereading4kids 'Great Read' you may have missed 2011 selection. This is a brilliant coming-of-age story set against the backdrop of the Cold War and events leading up to the Cuban Missile Crisis. The story is told in flashback by... Featured in: 11+ readers
Format: Paperback | Released 06/06/2011
Info Extract Buy

Reader ReviewedThe Sky is Everywhere
Jandy Nelson
A Lovereading4kids 'Great Read' you may have missed 2011 selection. This is a debut novel that once read will never be forgotten. It's a vibrant, deeply romantic novel that will bring tears to your eyes but it will also bring laughter... Featured in: YA readers
Format: Paperback | Released 06/06/2011
Info Extract Buy

Body Blow
Peter Cocks
This is a gripping, edge-of-your-seat gritty YA thriller from the author of Long Reach. The author's hallmarks from his debut novel come to the fore once again in this his second - cleverly drawn and realistic characterisation, interwoven plot lines... Featured in: 13+ readers
Format: Paperback | Released 05/04/2012
Info Extract Buy

Flip
Martyn Bedford
Shortlisted for the 2011 Costa Children's Book Award. Waking up as someone he's never even met is the strangest experience of Flip's life. Suddenly he's Philip – or Flip – and nothing and no-one is familiar any more; the house,... Featured in: 11+ readers | 13+ readers
Format: Paperback | Released 03/03/2011
Info Extract Buy

Daylight Saving
Edward Hogan
Shortlisted for The Branford Boase Award 2013 & shortlisted for the 2013 Leeds Book Award A chilling ghost story unfolds fast as the mysterious Lexi's watch moves steadily backwards and Daniel discovers he must solve the mystery of her... Featured in: 13+ readers
Format: Paperback | Released 02/02/2012
Info Extract Buy

Share this page

We love Lovereading4kids because it promotes reading choices, new authors and a sense of community for children of all ages!

Rachel Bridgeman

I love Lovereading4kids because I get an opportunity to put my opinion forward and to try new books

Elosie Clarkson – age 11

I love Lovereading as it provides an honest opinion and showcases a range of fiction. Suited to both parents & kids alike, it’s a must-use.

Georgie Rowe – age 16

Love “Lovereading4kids” as my son gets to hear about & read new books before his mates which keeps him interested in reading=a very happy Mum

Liz Evans

I love ‘LoveReading 4 kids’ because they let you read and learn things you’d never dreamed of learning before.

Emily Horncastle – age 11

We love Lovereading4kids because they put books in front of us we wouldn’t otherwise have read. They make us more adventurous readers!

Emily Jacques

It’s really exciting to read and review new books, thrilling to see my reviews online and I love finding the final published copies on sale.

Sam Harper – age 10

It’s so easy to find the right book for your child. Such an easy-to-use, yet in-depth website. 100% reliable.

Pippa, Jack, Liam & Matthew Wils

Undercover Reads logo

Within our Undercover category, you’ll find both new and established names writing for Young Adults across a range of genres. Included in the launch list are books in which readers can most definitely read between the lines…

under cover books 2012

All the titles within Undercover are also available as ebooks for both Kindle and iBook, so take your pick of which format you want and don’t forget each and every title featured on Lovereading has an extract so you can also ‘try before you buy’.

Out now or soon in 2012:

January: Blink & Caution by Tim Wynne-Jones

February: Daylight Saving by Ed Hogan

March: Girl, Stolen by April Henry and Kill You Last by Todd Strasser, author of 2011's Blood on My Hands

April: Body Blow by Peter Cocks author of 2011's Long Reach

May: Anti-Prom by Abby McDonald

June: The Girl Who Could Silence The Wind by Meg Medina

July: Frostfire by Zoe Mariott

August: Diabolical by Cynthia Leitich Smith

Finally, each Undercover book has an innovative QR code on the back cover. Get a smart phone app and scan the code to view trailers and extra content, or check out www.undercoverreads.com


Lovereading

Lovereading 4 schools
****