LoveReading4Kids

Becoming a member of the LoveReading4Kids community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unconditional book loving for your children with their favourites saved to their own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop plus lots lots more...

Find out more

Oliver Jeffers - Illustrator

About the Illustrator

Oliver Jeffers graduated from The University of Ulster in 2001 with First Class honours. His outstanding talent has been recognised by several high profile awards, including the Nestlé Children’s Book Prize Gold Award.  

Jeffers's picture books are wonderfully accessible. They explore themes of friendship, loneliness, independence and imagination. He has written and illustrated, or "made", as he prefers to put it, numerous hugely successful picture books. The first three - the "boy books" - feature a small boy who sets off on a series of daunting quests. How to Catch a Star (2004), the first of them, was inspired by a Brer Rabbit story he read as a child. In Lost and Found (2005) the boy heroically rows to the south pole for the sake of an unhappy penguin, and in The Way Back Home (2007) he rescues a young Martian whose spaceship has crashed on the moon.

The Heart and the Bottle is wholly compelling for the importance of its message and the brilliance of how that is conveyed in words and pictures. This is a book to return to time and time again says Julia Eccleshare, Lovereading4kids’ editorial expert.

 

Jeffers was born in Australia in 1977 and brought up in Belfast. He studied visual communication at the University of Ulster, and graduated in 2001. Jeffers became passionate about making picture books when he began to understand the subtle relationship between words and pictures – ‘that was what excited me. Until I got really involved, I hadn't realised how just a few words can totally change the meaning of a picture.’ Now living in New York, he works as a painter, designer, printmaker and installation artist, but remains very busy making picture books.

Did you know?

Oliver loves plastic food, suitcase handles and Elvis, and has developed a bizarre habit of endlessly writing lists he never reads. He remains hell bent on travelling all over the world.

Photo Credit Malcolm Brown

Featured books by Oliver Jeffers

It Wasn't Me

It Wasn't Me

3+ readers

Author: Oliver Jeffers Format: Hardback Release Date: 25/04/2013

Award-winning Oliver Jeffers is spare in both his illustrations and his text in this witty story that gets to the heart of the stupidity of most arguments! His simple characters, the Hueys, mostly get along very well indeed but sometimes they don’t! One day Gillespie comes across them having a very big fight indeed! What on earth is it about? No one can even remember! Luckily Gillespie has a great way of distracting everyone.   

ebook of the month
Stuck

Stuck

Baby and Toddler

Author: Oliver Jeffers Format: Hardback Release Date: 01/09/2011

Shortlisted for the Galaxy Children's Book of the Year Award 2011 Delightful chaos ensues when a young boy gets his kite stuck up a tree in this laugh-out-loud new picture book from award-winning, internationally best-selling author-illustrator Oliver Jeffers!  A hilarious book with a wonderful surprise ending.

ebook of the month

Other books by Oliver Jeffers

The Crayons' Christmas

The Crayons' Christmas

Author: Drew Daywalt Format: Hardback Release Date: 17/10/2019

A brand-new Crayons book from the #1 New York Times best-selling duo Drew Daywalt and Oliver Jeffers. This hilarious interactive book has letters, games, ornaments, a poster and even a pop-up Christmas tree - perfect for the festive season! 'Tis the season for all of us to write our Christmas wish lists. But everyone knows - even the Crayons - that the best presents are the ones that you give. In this unique book, readers join in as Duncan, the Crayons and their families celebrate the festive season. With real, folded letters to pull from their envelopes and read, games, press-out ornaments, a poster and a pop-up tree, this book is the perfect gift for fans of The Day the Crayons Quit and The Day the Crayons Came Home.

A Child of Books

A Child of Books

Author: Sam Winston, Oliver Jeffers Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 03/10/2019

Winner of the prestigious international Bologna Ragazzi Award for Fiction 2017 A gorgeous homage to the power of the written word Guardian A fresh and fascinating collaboration between two gifted masters The New York Times In this inspiring, lyrical tale about the rewards of reading and sharing stories, a little girl sails her raft across a sea of words to arrive at the house of a small boy. There she invites him to come away with her on an adventure. Through forests of fairy tales and across mountains of make-believe, the two travel together on a fantastical journey that unlocks the boy's imagination. Now a lifetime of magic lies ahead of him... But who will be next?

The Day the Crayons Quit

The Day the Crayons Quit

Author: Drew Daywalt Format: Hardback Release Date: 27/06/2013

The Terrible Thing That Happened to Barnaby Brocket

The Terrible Thing That Happened to Barnaby Brocket

Author: John Boyne Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 28/03/2013

There's nothing unusual about the Brockets. Normal, respectable and proud of it, they turn up their noses at anyone different. But from the moment Barnaby Brocket comes into the world, it's clear he's anything but ordinary. To his parents' horror, Barnaby defies the laws of gravity - and floats. Barnaby tries to keep both feet on the ground, but he just can't do it. One fateful day, the Brockets decide enough is enough. They never asked for a weird, abnormal, floating child. Barnaby has to go...Betrayed, frightened and alone, Barnaby floats into the path of a very special hot air balloon - and so begins a magical journey around the world, with a cast of extraordinary new friends.

Up And Down

Up And Down

Author: Oliver Jeffers Format: Mixed media product Release Date: 01/09/2011

READ BY RICHARD E. GRANT. In this much-anticipated sequel to the internationally best-selling picture book Lost and Found, we re-visit the boy and the penguin after their trip to the South Pole... The boy and the penguin still enjoy spending all their time together... That is, until the penguin starts to dream of flying, ignoring the boy's advice that it is impossible. Running away, the penguin visits place after place, searching for a chance to get his feet off the ground. But will flying be everything he had hoped? And is the boy missing him as much as he is missing the boy? A heart-warming story about friendship, love and reaching for your dreams, from highly-regarded, multi-award-winning author-illustrator Oliver Jeffers.

Illustrator Info

Illustrator's Website

http://www.oliverjeffers.com/

Twitter Updates

If this is your illustrator page then you can share your Twitter updates with your readers right here on LoveReading4Kids

Find out more

Facebook Updates

If this is your illustrator page then you can share your Facebook updates with your readers right here on LoveReading4Kids

Find out more
LoveReading
LoveWriting
LoveReading4Schools
NEW INDIE AND SELF PUBLISHED BOOK REVIEW AND PROMOTION SERVICE LAUNCHED!    Read More
×