LoveReading4Kids

Becoming a member of the LoveReading4Kids community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unconditional book loving for your children with their favourites saved to their own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop plus lots lots more...

Find out more

Books in the series: Egmont Modern Classics

I am David

I am David

Author: Anne Holm Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 11/01/2018

'You must get away tonight,' the man had told him. David escapes from the concentration camp where he has spent his entire life and flees across Europe. He is utterly alone - who can he trust? What will await him? And all the while, how can he be sure that they won't catch up with him ... This is the remarkable story of David's introduction to the world: sea, mountains and flowers, the colours of Italy, the taste of fruit, people laughing and smiling, all are new to David. David learns that his polite manner, his haunted eyes and his thin features are strange to other people. He must learn to fend for himself in this strange new world. An incredible story of survival against all odds and self discovery, for readers of The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas and The Book Thief.

National Velvet

National Velvet

Author: Enid Bagnold Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 29/06/2017

The most famous and loved racing story of all time. National Velvet is a classic tale of dreams, ambition and one girl's belief in a horse. 'Velvet'll sit on a horse like a shadow and breathe her soul into it ... I never seen such a creature on a horse.' Fourteen year old Velvet is mad about horses. When she wins a piebald horse in a raffle, she knows he's something special. His heart is as big as the five-foot fences he jumps, and he'll do anything for Velvet. Soon, she and her friend Mi have their sights set on the biggest race in England. But can a girl win the Grand National? Perfect for horse and ponly lovers from nine to ninety nine years old. The book that inspired the classic film starring Elizabeth Taylor, National Velvet is a true classic of print and screen. Alongside Black Beauty and My Friend Flicka it is one of the great horse books for children. 'My childhood dreams were based on this book - it was the only place I'd ever seen them come true' Clare Balding

Bill's New Frock

Bill's New Frock

Author: Anne Fine Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 01/06/2017

A classic children's story from one of our best-loved authors, former Children's Laureate Anne Fine. The Modern Classics edition features new illustrations and bonus material. Bill Simpson wakes up to find he's a girl, and worse, his mother makes him wear a frilly pink dress to school. How on earth is he going to survive a whole day like this? Everything just seems to be different for girls ... Perfect for readers aged 7 years and up and fans of The Boy in the Dress by David Walliams. Anne Fine's fun school stories have been delighting children for more than 20 years, winning her awards such as the Smarties Book Award and Carnegie Medal along the way.

The Whitby Witches

The Whitby Witches

Author: Robin Jarvis Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 01/06/2017

A glorious new edition of Robin Jarvis's classic and the inspiration for The Power of Dark and its sequels. Contains bonus material specially produced for this Egmont Modern Classics title. When orphans Ben and Jennet arrive in the seaside town of Whitby to stay with Alice Boston, they have no idea what to expect. A lively 92-year-old, Miss Boston is unlike any other foster mother they've known. Ben is gifted with 'the sight', which gives him the power to see things invisible to other mortals. He soon encounters the mysterious fisher folk who live under the cliffs and discovers that Alice and her friends are not quite what they seem. But a darkness is stalking the streets of Whitby, bringing with it fear and death. Could it be a ghost from the Abbey? Or a beast from hell? Unless the truth is uncovered, the town and all its inhabitants is doomed. Robin Jarvis started writing in 1988 and quickly became a bestselling author with his Deptford Mice and Whitby Witches series. The Whitby Witches is the book that inspired his latest series, which begins with The Power of Dark. You can find out more at www.robinjarvis.com or follow him on Twitter @robinjarvis1963

The Animals of Farthing Wood Modern Classic

The Animals of Farthing Wood Modern Classic

Author: Colin Dann Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 25/02/2016

'We must all find a new home. Now - before it's too late!' Farthing Wood is being bulldozed, and there's a drought. Fox, Badger, Toad, Tawny Owl, Mole and the other animals must band together and set off to a far-away nature reserve. Their journey is full of adventure and fraught with disasters, and the animals must work together to survive. The Animals of Farthing Wood is one of the most popular animal stories in children's literature and is still in print nearly 40 years after first publication. 'The Animals of Farthing Wood always made me very happy' - Alison Flood, Guardian This edition features a brand-new cover by award-winning illustrator, Sam Usher.

LoveReading
LoveWriting
LoveReading4Schools
CHECK OUT OUR INDIE AND SELF PUBLISHED BOOK REVIEW AND PROMOTION SERVICE    Read More
×