Amber Lee Dodd - Author Picture

Amber Lee Dodd - Author

Amber Lee Dodd is a writer and playwright whose work has been performed around the country and published internationally. Amber drew on extensive experience working with families dealing with disabilities to write WE ARE GIANTS. She says:This experience led me to writing characters the children wanted but scarcely appear in children's fiction: disabled people who are strong, happy and independent. These children come from ordinary backgrounds, with parents and siblings who deal with the problems we all deal with. My book is not a book about disability; it's a book about grief and growing up. It features a strong mother character who just happens to have a disability. Amber has also recently been a writer in residence for The Expansionists and a playwright for the young playwrights programme at Chichester Festival Theatre, where her short play 'Tea with Grandma' was performed. She was awarded a Distinction in her MA in Creative Writing at Chichester University.

Featured Books, with extracts, by Amber Lee Dodd

We are Giants
Amber Lee Dodd
Shortlisted for the Branford Boase Award 2017 For fans of Jacqueline Wilson and Wonder, this is a novel about a girl whose mum has dwarfism. But it's not just about that. It's about love, family, friendship, and how to be...
Lovereading Price: £5.59 - Saving £1.40 (20%) Featured in: 7+ readers | 9+ readers
Format: Paperback | Released 07/04/2016
Info Extract Buy

Loading other books by Amber Lee Dodd...


Author Info

Did you know

At Lovereading4kids you can download and read an Opening Extract and an online review of books by Amber Lee Dodd and hundreds of other authors.


LoveReading4Kids is a modern and creative way of emphasising the value and importance of books in this digital age #booksforlife

Amrit Bunet – Teen

It is fantastic, you get to read lots of books and you always find something new and amazing in them.

Erica Motoc, age 7

It gives me a chance to read types of books that I would not normally try, and it motivates me to read every night to finish it!

Alice Horncastle, age 14

At @HHSHaringey we love @lovereading4kids because our pupils can practice reviewing & get free upcoming books before anyone else!

Helen Swinyard – Heartlands High

I love lovereading4kids because I’ve read amazing books I would never have picked up, and its opened doors to new genre’s I now love.

Harriet Cunningham

I love Lovereading as it provides an honest opinion and showcases a range of fiction. Suited to both parents & kids alike, it’s a must-use.

Georgie Rowe – age 16

It’s a community united by a passion for books and promoting the best there is in children’s literature.

Sam Bateman and family

I think Lovereading4kids is an amazing company because of the friendly staff and the fabulous chance to read great books before publication.

Adam Graham
Lovereading

Lovereading 4 schools
****