Amber Lee Dodd - Author Picture

Amber Lee Dodd - Author

Amber Lee Dodd is a writer and playwright whose work has been performed around the country and published internationally. Amber drew on extensive experience working with families dealing with disabilities to write WE ARE GIANTS. She says:This experience led me to writing characters the children wanted but scarcely appear in children's fiction: disabled people who are strong, happy and independent. These children come from ordinary backgrounds, with parents and siblings who deal with the problems we all deal with. My book is not a book about disability; it's a book about grief and growing up. It features a strong mother character who just happens to have a disability. Amber has also recently been a writer in residence for The Expansionists and a playwright for the young playwrights programme at Chichester Festival Theatre, where her short play 'Tea with Grandma' was performed. She was awarded a Distinction in her MA in Creative Writing at Chichester University.

Featured Books, with extracts, by Amber Lee Dodd

We are Giants
Amber Lee Dodd
Shortlisted for the Branford Boase Award 2017 For fans of Jacqueline Wilson and Wonder, this is a novel about a girl whose mum has dwarfism. But it's not just about that. It's about love, family, friendship, and how to be...
Lovereading Price: £5.59 - Saving £1.40 (20%) Featured in: 7+ readers | 9+ readers
Format: Paperback | Released 07/04/2016
Info Extract Buy

Loading other books by Amber Lee Dodd...


Author Info

Did you know

At Lovereading4kids you can download and read an Opening Extract and an online review of books by Amber Lee Dodd and hundreds of other authors.


I love all the books they recommend & put up for me to review. I also love the fact that they give new authors the chance to share their boo

Daisy Pennock – age 15

It’s so easy to find the right book for your child. Such an easy-to-use, yet in-depth website. 100% reliable.

Pippa, Jack, Liam & Matthew Wils

We love Lovereading4kids because they put books in front of us we wouldn’t otherwise have read. They make us more adventurous readers!

Emily Jacques

A great way to introduce kids to great books, authors & genres. Parents can find age-appropriate books to share with their children.

Judi Davies – Aberdare Girls Sch

I love lovereading4kids because I’ve read amazing books I would never have picked up, and its opened doors to new genre’s I now love.

Harriet Cunningham

I am so pleased to have signed my kids up as they are reading a much wider range of books and even choosing books out of their comfort zone.

Angela East

I love Lovereading4kids because I get an opportunity to put my opinion forward and to try new books

Elosie Clarkson – age 11

I love ‘LoveReading 4 kids’ because they let you read and learn things you’d never dreamed of learning before.

Emily Horncastle – age 11
Lovereading

Lovereading 4 schools
****