Hannah in the Spotlight by Natasha Mac a'Bhaird
  

Hannah in the Spotlight

Written by Natasha Mac a'Bhaird
Part of the Star Club Series

9+ readers   11+ readers   eBooks   
Download an extract Add to wishlist Share this book

The Lovereading4Kids comment

In a nutshell: drama | family dramas | friendship | Natasha Mac a'Bháird cleverly mixes the classic theatre story with family drama and a touch of mystery to create an original, exciting contemporary girls’ story. Hannah has four little brothers and sisters, the youngest just a baby, and is kept busy helping her mum. But it’s the summer holidays and she longs to be doing something exciting. With her two best friends and new next-door neighbour Meg, she decides to put on a theatrical performance – an adaptation of Ballet Shoes. The drama is heightened by a mystery surrounding Meg and her mum, and then the show is thrown into jeopardy when Hannah’s mother breaks her ankle. As good on the fun and frustrations of family life as it is on the thrill of acting, with a great central character, and scattered with references to Little Women as well as Ballet Shoes, this will have readers shouting for an encore.

This will appeal to readers of Cathy Cassidy and Sarah Webb, as well as to fans of Noel Streatfeild. ~ Andrea Reece

A Piece of Passion from Senior Editor, Helen Carr - There's nothing nicer, as a children's editor, than reading exactly the kind of book you know you'd have LOVED as a kid; well, that's exactly what I got when I read Hannah in the Spotlight by Natasha Mac a'Bháird. Hannah and her friends are the 2016 equivalents of Noel Streatfeild's heroines in Ballet Shoes and The Circus is Coming; passionate about acting, dancing and writing, they set up their own theatre group, Star Club, and vow to work at their skills and put on great shows. When things get tough, the girls work together and decide the show must go on! This is the first book in the Star Club series and I can't wait to read what the girls get up to in the rest of the books.

Synopsis

Hannah in the Spotlight by Natasha Mac a'Bhaird

The summer holidays are here, and Hannah is wishing she could have gone to drama camp. Instead it looks like she’s going to end up being an unpaid babysitter to her younger brothers and sisters. Then she meets Meg, who has just moved in next door, and together with her friends Ruby and Laura they decide to form Star Club – a drama club of their own, where they’ll all get a chance to practise their acting skills.

The girls work hard to get their first show ready for Maisie’s birthday party. Then disaster strikes, and Hannah finds herself torn between Star Club and big sister duty. Meanwhile, something very strange is going on with Meg, who seems to have a lot of secrets she’s not sharing. But whatever happens, the show must go on!

Reviews

'9/10 … makes you keep reading' TheGuardian.com on Missing Ellen

About the Author

Natasha Mac a'Bhaird

Natasha Mac a'Bhaird is a freelance writer and editor. She is the author of the bestselling wedding planning book, The Irish Bride's Survival Guide, a new edition of which was published in 2011. Her first children's book, Olanna's Big Day, was published in 2009. Olanna's Big Day was included in the White Ravens Collection 2010 and was shortlisted for the Reading Association of Ireland Award 2011. Natasha has written articles for the Evening Herald, Irish Examiner and Image magazine and is a regular book reviewer with Inis - Children's Books Ireland magazine and Book Fest.

Missing Ellen is her first book for older readers.

Q&A with Natasha Mac a’Bháird

Q. Did you ever go to a Drama Club?
A. I did speech and drama lessons which I loved. I was never in a club like Star Club, but I did have great fun putting on shows with my sister and brothers.

Q. Singing, dancing, acting – if you could only do one, which would it be?
A. Definitely acting! If I wasn’t a writer I would have loved to be an actress.

Q. What’s your favourite movie?
A. I think it would have to be The Sound of Music, it’s got so many of the things I love – the pre-war setting, family relationships, songs and dancing, and of course romance.

Q. Favourite song?
A. Anything by ABBA!

Q. Favourite book?
A. It’s incredibly difficult to pick one, but since you’re making me, I’ll go for Tom’s Midnight Garden by Phillippa Pearce. I’ve read it dozens of times and it still makes me cry.

Q. If you could meet any famous ‘star’, who would it be and what would you say to him or her?
A. I would love to meet J.K. Rowling. I would probably be too starstruck to say anything at all, but if I was able to speak, I’d just tell her how much I love her books.

Q. When did you start writing?
A. The first story I remember writing was when I was eight. I always loved writing stories as a child and wrote my first full-length book when I was twelve. Of course it was never published, but I think I still have it in a drawer somewhere!

Q. Do you have any advice for young writers?
A. Read as much as you can, and as many different types of books as you can! And write as much as you can too, whether that’s writing fiction, factual pieces or just writing in your diary – it all helps you develop those writing muscles!
Q. And finally, any advice for those who are too shy to step into the spotlight?
A. First of all remember that there’s nothing wrong with being shy. I was a very shy child and I found drama was a great way to come out of my shell a bit. It helps you develop confidence. So don’t be scared, don’t let your shyness stop you from making the most of opportunities – grab your courage with both hands and enjoy the moment!

More books by this author

Loading similar books...

Other Formats

Book Info

Format

Paperback
192 pages
Interest Age: From 9

Author

Natasha Mac a'Bhaird
More books by Natasha Mac a'Bhaird

Author's Facebook Latest

Publisher

O'Brien Press Ltd

Publication date

5th September 2016

ISBN

9781847178459

Categories

Publisher Profile

O'Brien Press Ltd is an imprint of O'Brien

logo

The O'Brien Press is Ireland's leading general publisher of both adult and children's books. Our list covers a huge range, including biography, humour, photography, history, art, fiction, politics, cookery, sport, music, memoir, true crime and travel and we are constantly expanding into new and exciting areas.

Publisher's Website

www.obrien.ie


This company is amazing; not only is it is a great opportunity to get books and review them but everyone is so friendly and supportive!

Jemma Rubens, age 10

It is THE website to use for narrowing down your search for any book. Definitely knocks the socks off any other book review website.

Nickey and Tomasz Hawryszczuk

I have told all my friends, family & teachers to see for themselves just how great the site is. Without fail, they are hugely impressed.

Alexander Boxall – age 11

It is fantastic, you get to read lots of books and you always find something new and amazing in them.

Erica Motoc, age 7

Lovereading is just a convenient way to find new books and hear others opinions on them.

Sarah Murray – age 15

We love Lovereading as my 5 year old loves to read new books before anyone else has a chance, she says it makes reading exciting!

Tracey Chorley

At @HHSHaringey we love @lovereading4kids because our pupils can practice reviewing & get free upcoming books before anyone else!

Helen Swinyard – Heartlands High

I love ‘LoveReading 4 kids’ because they let you read and learn things you’d never dreamed of learning before.

Emily Horncastle – age 11
Lovereading

Lovereading 4 schools