LoveReading4Kids

Becoming a member of the LoveReading4Kids community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unconditional book loving for your children with their favourites saved to their own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop plus lots lots more...

Find out more

LoveReading4Kids - Editorial Expert

Latest Reviews By LoveReading4Kids

Notes from The Klaus Flugge Judges; Asta the ginger cat reengineers the family washing machine into a racing car and signs on for the big cat auto race. She’s determined to show the other racers she’s no slow-poke but winning, well, that would be a dream come true. The judges loved the fizz and fun of Asta’s world and the clever details. Ricky Trickartt controls the pace of the story superbly and children will relish it. View Full Review
Notes from the Klaus Flugge judges;   This book is all about choices: little ones (like which ice cream to have), big ones (such as whether to go on the super-duper giant slide), and whether to dive into the swimming pool, even though you are afraid. The judges describe this book as freewheeling and full of energy, with an unruly chaos that feels completely genuine. The message about the importance of making choices is subtly delivered, and Roozeboos is clearly a great observer of humanity. View Full Review
Notes from the Klaus Flugge judges; A small child begins a magical journey on the back of a huge and beautiful baleen whale. Together they sail the oceans, dancing with dolphins, diving through the blue seas and exploring the ocean beds. The judges admired the way the illustrations carry the story “so that you are swimming with the whale”. Padmacandra’s images are full of atmosphere and beautiful to look at. View Full Review
Notes from the Klaus Flugge judges; Pierre is a bear who loves hair and roller-skating. But can his moves and his quiff impress his favourite roller disco team, the Poodle Squad? The judges loved the anarchy and edge Joseph Hollis brings to his story, and his clever use of the pages and layout. Despite the absurdity, he builds a believable world, the details adding up into something real. View Full Review
The story of the life of Queen Elizabeth II, told through her clothes and jewellery - with stunningly detailed illustrations, this is a gorgeous gift to treasure and perfect to celebrate the Jubilee! Includes a foreword by Michele Clapton, costume designer for series one of Netflix's The Crown, giving a peek behind the scenes at the recreation some of the Queen's most famous outfits.  View Full Review
From one of the nation's favourite storytellers comes this beautifully presented and poetic celebration of our Queen. Inspired by our longest serving monarch, Morpurgo shares how he wanted to celebrate her "constant and reassuring presence in a rapidly changing and unsettling world". Created to tie in with the Queen's Platinum Jubilee in June 2022 and accompanied by Michael Foreman's beautiful watercolour illustrations, this book follows Elizabeth's story and brings her incredible reign to life for readers big and small. A perfect gift book and commemoration of the Jubilee, this will be a treasured keepsake for years to come and a great ... View Full Review
A marvellous must-have book for STEM fans. Containing 100 words from science, technology, engineering and maths, this illustrated A-Z of STEM takes you on a journey from adaptation, to zoology through fibonacci, metamorphic and olfactory. If you don't know your algorithm from your ytterbium, and you love science, then this is the book for you! With a contents list at the front and a full index at the back kids can research to their heart's delight. Beautifully produced by STEM expert Jenny Jacoby and illustrated by Blue Peter Book Award winning Vicky Barker, this book is a non-fiction delight for kids ... View Full Review
This gorgeous picture book from the award-winning Sophie Henn is about finding the music in you. With music for every mood it's the perfect way to get to know all kinds of emotions. The rousing rhythmic text that gets you singing along is complemented by Henn's stunning bold, bright, fun and funky illustrative style. Love is all around us and we understand that all kinds of different rhythms make up me and you. It's a beautifully executed, important and reassuring guide about emotion that will really help open up conversations about our own emotions and recognising feelings in others. If ... View Full Review
A special 10th anniversary edition of The Journey Home, the debut book by the first-ever UK recipient of the amazing 'Sendak Fellowship' and created with input from the great Maurice Sendak himself. It's the story of a polar bear who heads off in a boat looking for somewhere new to live and on the way he picks up other endangered friends including an orangutan, an elephant and a panda to name just three. It's a beautiful book, full of things for parents to talk about with their children as they read it. View Full Review
An intriguing, thoughtful and poignant exploration of what makes us ‘us’ that explores grief with a deft and gentle touch. A coming-of-age story with an incidental LGBTQ relationship and a technological twist. Exploring social media, memory and identity, there are lots of discussion points for readers. Perfect for fans of Show Us Who You Are, A Pocketful of Stars and Troofriend. View Full Review
Brazilian author Lucas Rocha unveils the common misconceptions and prejudices that still surround HIV in the twenty-first century, showing how far we've come while shining a light on just how far we have yet to go. View Full Review
This warm-hearted story explores the importance of family, love, friendship and finding ways to communicate emotions and fears. 11-year-old James has a lot to deal with; his parents have split up and both have new partners, his Uncle Bobby has died of cancer, and he is starting a new school. The constant in James’ life is his beloved dog Digger, his support through challenging times, so how will he cope when Digger falls ill? The judges for The Branford Boase Award commented: ‘has a very strong emotional punch’; ‘full of tiny observations which are super-effective’; &... View Full Review
LoveReading
LoveWriting
LoveReading4Schools
CHECK OUT OUR INDIE AND SELF PUBLISHED BOOK REVIEW AND PROMOTION SERVICE    Read More
×