Dear Dylan by Siobhan Curham
  

Dear Dylan

Written by Siobhan Curham

13+ readers   Books of the Month   All Shortlists and Winners   eBooks   eBooks   eBooks   
Download an extract Share this book

The Lovereading4Kids comment

April 2012 Book of the Month.

Winner of the YoungMinds Book Award 2010.

This was a self-publishing YA phenomenon in 2010 and winner of the above award beating the likes of Julia Donaldson and Bali Rai. Then it was bought by Egmont in order to get this terrific debut to a wider audience. Poignant, uplifting and funny, with a truly authentic young teen voice, this is an absorbing tale about never giving up on your dreams, no matter how tough life gets. It's the story of 14 year old Georgie, an outsider both at school and at home. She's dreading the summer holidays until she takes the plunge and emails the one person she feels might understand her and he just happens to be a soap opera star...

And a message from the Commissioning Editor at Egmont, Ali Dougal, who acquired Dear Dylan:

Siobhan's voice is so warm and convincing that it took me straight back to being a teenager: the extremes of emotion, the rushes of humiliation, the desperate need to be accepted and understood, the huge crushes that feel like true love, the uncontrollable laughter. The story deals with some really tough emotional issues, offering comfort, hope and joy. It's such an uplifting read. I hope you love this book as much as I do.

Win a Family Break to Salisbury!

Don’t miss out! Enter to win a family break to Salisbury!

Here at Lovereading.co.uk and Lovereading4kids.co.uk we are delighted to be giving you a chance to win a wonderful family break. You could see yourself indulging in the finest food and slumbering comfortably into one of the grand rooms at The Red Lion Salisbury for two nights. The Red Lion Hotel is located in medieval city of Salisbury, which is home to all your favourite stores as well as independent shops, restaurants, cafes and parks and green spaces. Nearby is Stonehenge, Salisbury Plain and numerous sites of historic and archaeological interest.

There are many seasonal events in Salisbury, and you can find out what’s on here. You will also receive a family ticket to Sir Harold Hillier Gardens, the gardens are especially beautiful in the winter, with bold coloured stems, scents, and fabulous foliage, you can be sure to be impressed. For the children there is also a play park, and you can stop off in the Victorian tea room to warm up and treat yourself to a traditional cream tea.

To have a chance of winning this fantastic prize, click the button below. Please note that this draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once. Entries close 31st January 2018.

Good luck!

Terms and Conditions

Red Lion: Two night stay includes breakfast for two adults and up to two children sharing a family room. Subject to availability and cannot be exchanged or redeemed for cash value. Not to be used in combination with any other offer. Valid until 1st Dec 2018 and excludes bank holidays.

Sir Harold Hillier Gardens: Valid for day entry, Not to be used for special events or group entry. Voucher is not transferable or refundable, no Cash Value. Ticket must be redeemed on entry. Valid until 31 Dec 2018. Gardens open daily from 10am – closed Christmas Day and Boxing Day. Prize admits 2 adults and accompanying children Under 17 FREE to Sir Harold Hillier Gardens.


Enter prize draw Draw closes: 31/01/2018

Synopsis

Dear Dylan by Siobhan Curham

A first crush. An unexpected friendship. A dream come true.

Dear Dylan! Thanks so much for your email and I'm sorry about my last one when I said I love you. I hope you don't think I'm a weirdo mentalist?!!! It's just that I was watching Oprah yesterday and she said we should all say we love each other a whole lot more. Not to everyone of course. There's no way I'd tell my scummy step-dad that I love him because that would be lying. But the thing is, sometimes when I watch you on TV, I feel as if you're talking just to me and it makes me feel less alone. I know you probably get loads and loads of fan mail but I wanted to ask you - could we be e-mates? Yours hopefully, Georgie xxx.

Fourteen year old Georgie Harris feels as if the summer holidays are over before they have even begun. Banned from going to the local drama workshop by her bully of a step-dad and her increasingly fragile mum, she is consigned to six long weeks of looking after her tooth fairy obsessed kid sister. Sick of feeling like the outsider at home and at school, she starts emailing the one person she thinks might understand: Dylan Curtland, star of the popular soap opera Jessop Close. And when Dylan starts emailing back, Georgie finally feels a tiny spark of hope. At last she has someone who really gets her, someone who really wants to help. But in the faceless world of email all is not as it seems...

Perfect for fans of Cathy Cassidy, Sarah Dessen and Karen McCombie.

Reviews

'Tender, quirky and cool. Siobhan Curham is a name to watch' - Cathy Cassidy

'An absorbing, moving novel... I'm still thinking about the characters so much I want check on them and see how things are going now!' - Chicklish

'To sum up – a fab little story with a plucky lovely main character who is a fab role model for the age range the book is aimed at.’ The Overflowing Library

‘This is a very beautiful story … and I enjoyed it utterly. I really recommend you read this book and I assure you that you’re going to love it.’ Darlyn and Books

About the Author

Siobhan Curham

Siobhan Curham has many strings to her bow. She is an editor for Hothouse fiction, a life-coach, the author of several adult novels and she runs writing workshops for young people. Her first YA novel, Dear Dylan, won the YoungMinds Award and her second, Finding Cherokee Brown, has received high praise. The Shipwrecked saga is a new, edgier strand to Siobhan’s writing, for slightly older YA readers.

Click here to read interviews with Siobhan and find out more about her writing.

Click here to read her reaction regarding her working with Zoe Sugg and the book Girl Online.

More books by this author

Loading similar books...

Other Formats

Book Info

Format

Paperback

Author

Siobhan Curham
More books by Siobhan Curham

Author's Website

www.siobhancurham.co.uk/

Author's Facebook Latest

Publisher

Electric Monkey an imprint of Egmont Childrens Books

Publication date

2nd April 2012

ISBN

9781405260374

Categories


Lovereading is just a convenient way to find new books and hear others opinions on them.

Sarah Murray – age 15

It is fantastic, you get to read lots of books and you always find something new and amazing in them.

Erica Motoc, age 7

I am so pleased to have signed my kids up as they are reading a much wider range of books and even choosing books out of their comfort zone.

Angela East

It’s really exciting to read and review new books, thrilling to see my reviews online and I love finding the final published copies on sale.

Sam Harper – age 10

I love Lovereading4kids because I get an opportunity to put my opinion forward and to try new books

Elosie Clarkson – age 11

We love Lovereading as my 5 year old loves to read new books before anyone else has a chance, she says it makes reading exciting!

Tracey Chorley

I think Lovereading4kids is an amazing company because of the friendly staff and the fabulous chance to read great books before publication.

Adam Graham

A great way to introduce kids to great books, authors & genres. Parents can find age-appropriate books to share with their children.

Judi Davies – Aberdare Girls Sch
Lovereading

Lovereading 4 schools
****