Book Info

Loading other formats...

Format

Paperback
320 pages

Author

Siobhan Curham
More books by Siobhan Curham

Author's Website

www.siobhancurham.co.uk/

Publisher

Electric Monkey an imprint of Egmont Childrens Books

Publication date

2nd April 2012

ISBN

9781405260374

Recommend this website to a friend
Children's Author 'Like-for-Like' recommendations
Dear Dylan by Siobhan Curham



Dear Dylan

Siobhan Curham


Primary Category - 14+ readers   Category - Books of the Month   Category - Book Awards   Category - eBooks   

This title is in stock

Lovereading4kids Price: £5.24

RRP: £6.99 Saving £1.75 (25%)

The Lovereading comment:

April 2012 Book of the Month.

Winner of the YoungMinds Book Award 2010.

This was a self-publishing YA phenomenon in 2010 and winner of the above award beating the likes of Julia Donaldson and Bali Rai.  Then it was bought by Egmont in order to get this terrific debut to a wider audience.  Poignant, uplifting and funny, with a truly authentic young teen voice, this is an absorbing tale about never giving up on your dreams, no matter how tough life gets. It's the story of 14 year old Georgie, an outsider both at school and at home.  She's dreading the summer holidays until she takes the plunge and emails the one person she feels might understand her and he just happens to be a soap opera star...

And a message from the Commissioning Editor at Egmont, Ali Dougal, who acquired Dear Dylan:

Siobhan's voice is so warm and convincing that it took me straight back to being a teenager: the extremes of emotion, the rushes of humiliation, the desperate need to be accepted and understood, the huge crushes that feel like true love, the uncontrollable laughter.  The story deals with some really tough emotional issues, offering comfort, hope and joy.  It's such an uplifting read. I hope you love this book as much as I do.

 

Synopsis

Dear Dylan by Siobhan Curham

A first crush. An unexpected friendship. A dream come true.

Dear Dylan! Thanks so much for your email and I'm sorry about my last one when I said I love you. I hope you don't think I'm a weirdo mentalist?!!! It's just that I was watching Oprah yesterday and she said we should all say we love each other a whole lot more. Not to everyone of course. There's no way I'd tell my scummy step-dad that I love him because that would be lying. But the thing is, sometimes when I watch you on TV, I feel as if you're talking just to me and it makes me feel less alone. I know you probably get loads and loads of fan mail but I wanted to ask you - could we be e-mates? Yours hopefully, Georgie xxx.

Fourteen year old Georgie Harris feels as if the summer holidays are over before they have even begun.  Banned from going to the local drama workshop by her bully of a step-dad and her increasingly fragile mum, she is consigned to six long weeks of looking after her tooth fairy obsessed kid sister.  Sick of feeling like the outsider at home and at school, she starts emailing the one person she thinks might understand: Dylan Curtland, star of the popular soap opera Jessop Close.  And when Dylan starts emailing back, Georgie finally feels a tiny spark of hope.  At last she has someone who really gets her, someone who really wants to help.  But in the faceless world of email all is not as it seems...

Perfect for fans of Cathy Cassidy, Sarah Dessen and Karen McCombie.



Reviews

'Tender, quirky and cool. Siobhan Curham is a name to watch' - Cathy Cassidy

'An absorbing, moving novel... I'm still thinking about the characters so much I want check on them and see how things are going now!' - Chicklish

'To sum up – a fab little story with a plucky lovely main character who is a fab role model for the age range the book is aimed at.’ The Overflowing Library

‘This is a very beautiful story … and I enjoyed it utterly. I really recommend you read this book and I assure you that you’re going to love it.’ Darlyn and Books

 



About The Author


Siobhan Curham

Siobhan Curham has many strings to her bow. She is an editor for Hothouse fiction, a life-coach, the author of several adult novels and she runs writing workshops for young people. Her first YA novel, Dear Dylan, won the YoungMinds Award and her second, Finding Cherokee Brown, has received high praise. The Shipwrecked saga is a new, edgier strand to Siobhan’s writing, for slightly older YA readers.

Click here to read interviews with Siobhan and find out more about her writing.


More books by this author

Children's Author List LovereadingLovereading - Lovereading 4 Kids

close close
Share or Bookmark this book

Share this book on Facebook and Twitter.




Tell a friend about this book on Lovereading4Kids.co.uk.

We respect your privacy. The names and e-mail addresses you enter are used only for sending this message. Please read our Privacy Policy.
Your Friend's Name
Your Friend's Email
Your Name
Your E-mail
Your Message
(max. 1024 characters)
  Send Email