Butterfly Summer by Anne-Marie Conway
  

Butterfly Summer

Written by Anne-Marie Conway

9+ readers   
Download an extract Add to wishlist Share this book

The Lovereading4Kids comment

A gripping story which catches the importance of friendship – even when there are dark, dark secrets. When Becky and her mum return to where her mum grew up she uncovers an old photo which reveals something about her family she has never known before. Mum’s too busy with her new job to ask but Becky finds a very special friend in the beautiful Butterfly Garden. There are secrets everywhere in this atmospheric story which is beautifully resolved.

Click here for more by Anne-Marie Conway.

Win a SIGNED hardback copy of Ottoline and the Purple Fox!

We are giving away 3 signed hardback copies of the fourth Ottoline adventure written and illustrated by Chris Riddell, Ottoline and the Purple Fox.

To have a chance of winning one of these great prizes, click the button below. Please note that this draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once.

Draw closes on 5 December 2016. The winners will be notified by 16 December 2016 and you should have your prize in time for Christmas!

Good luck!


Enter prize draw Draw closes: 05/12/2016

Synopsis

Butterfly Summer by Anne-Marie Conway

Some secrets last a lifetime. When Becky and her mum move to the tiny village of Oakbridge, Mum is hoping for a new beginning. But when Becky discovers an old photo of her mum in hospital clutching a baby, twelve years before Becky was born, Becky becomes haunted by the thought that her mum is keeping something from her. Stifled by her mum's over-protectiveness and depressive moods, Becky feels more alone than ever. The only place she finds comfort is at the beautiful local Butterfly Garden with her new friend, the wild-spirited and impulsive Rosa May. But Becky can't shake off the unanswered questions. Why can't she swim? Where is her dad? Who is the baby in the photo? And why is her mum lying to her? As the two girls spend more time together however, Rosa May's unpredictable temper and possessive streak suggests that she is hiding something as well...and in the heat of the sun-drenched summer, it seems that Becky is the only one in the dark.

Combining a stunning, summery backdrop with a chilling mystery and an unforgettable twist, this it a modern-day Tulip Touch for the next generation. It's perfect for fans of Eva Ibbotson and Anne Fine.

Reviews

'Suspenseful and intriguing' - Sophie McKenzie

'Secrets and mysteries abound in Anne-Marie conway's haunting novel, Butterfly Summer. Becky and her mother have moved to a small village for a fresh start but when Becky finds an old photo of her mother with a baby, taken 12 years before Becky herself was born, questions need to be answered. Like just why is her mother so afraid of water? Perhaps Becky's new friend Rosa May holds the answer' - The Sunday Express

'Conway drops clues deftly into the water with hardly a ripple - reread this gently nostalgic mystery and you will be astonished at what you missed the first time' - The Jewish Chronicle

'Like the sun glinting on a butterfly's wing, there's both light and darkness in Anne-Marie Conway's outstanding novel...[Butterfly Summer] gets to the heart of childhood dilemmas whilst unravelling mysteries from the past. A terrific read for youngsters aged nine and over' - Lancashire Evening Post

'This gentle but gripping book is a tale of friendship and the paranormal and is perfect for fans of Cathy Cassidy and Karen McCombie' - Booktrust

'What makes this one special is the brooding atmosphere of secrets waiting to be discovered, which builds like a gathering summer storm' - Books for Keeps

'This book does not try to lessen the impact of depression and loss, and weaves them into an incredibly moving and thrilling tale. The ending is both shocking and sad, and thoroughly satisfying. Highly recommended' - Carousel

'A gripping story for young teens' - Friends of the Earth

About the Author

Anne-Marie Conway

Anne-Marie Conway is a primary school teacher specialising in drama, but also runs her own children’s theatre company, Full Circle. She lives in London with her husband, two young sons and two eccentric cats, Betty and Boo. Her books have been selected for the Summer Reading Challenge twice (Phoebe Finds Her Voice in 2011 and Butterfly Summer in 2012) and – with Butterfly Summer also selected for Bookbuzz 2013 and shortlisted for the Oxfordshire Book Awards – Anne-Marie has become renowned for her sizzling summer mysteries. Tangled Secrets is her third such novel.

More books by this author

Loading similar books...

Other Formats

Book Info

Format

Paperback
336 pages
Interest Age: 9 years+

Author

Anne-Marie Conway
More books by Anne-Marie Conway

Author's Website

www.annemarieconway.com/

Publisher

Usborne Publishing Ltd

Publication date

1st May 2012

ISBN

9781409538592

Categories


I am so pleased to have signed my kids up as they are reading a much wider range of books and even choosing books out of their comfort zone.

Angela East

Lovereading4kids is great, we get books really early never late. We love to read and review, and think you would like it too. The excitement

Jasmine Harris-Hart, age 12

Love “Lovereading4kids” as my son gets to hear about & read new books before his mates which keeps him interested in reading=a very happy Mum

Liz Evans

It gives me a chance to read types of books that I would not normally try, and it motivates me to read every night to finish it!

Alice Horncastle, age 14

I think Lovereading4kids is an amazing company because of the friendly staff and the fabulous chance to read great books before publication.

Adam Graham

It’s really exciting to read and review new books, thrilling to see my reviews online and I love finding the final published copies on sale.

Sam Harper – age 10

LoveReading4Kids is a modern and creative way of emphasising the value and importance of books in this digital age #booksforlife

Amrit Bunet – Teen

I love all the books they recommend & put up for me to review. I also love the fact that they give new authors the chance to share their boo

Daisy Pennock – age 15
Lovereading

Lovereading 4 schools