Butterfly Summer by Anne-Marie Conway

Butterfly Summer

Written by Anne-Marie Conway

9+ readers   
Download an extract Add to wishlist Share this book

The Lovereading4Kids comment

A gripping story which catches the importance of friendship – even when there are dark, dark secrets. When Becky and her mum return to where her mum grew up she uncovers an old photo which reveals something about her family she has never known before. Mum’s too busy with her new job to ask but Becky finds a very special friend in the beautiful Butterfly Garden. There are secrets everywhere in this atmospheric story which is beautifully resolved.

Click here for more by Anne-Marie Conway.


Butterfly Summer by Anne-Marie Conway

Some secrets last a lifetime. When Becky and her mum move to the tiny village of Oakbridge, Mum is hoping for a new beginning. But when Becky discovers an old photo of her mum in hospital clutching a baby, twelve years before Becky was born, Becky becomes haunted by the thought that her mum is keeping something from her. Stifled by her mum's over-protectiveness and depressive moods, Becky feels more alone than ever. The only place she finds comfort is at the beautiful local Butterfly Garden with her new friend, the wild-spirited and impulsive Rosa May. But Becky can't shake off the unanswered questions. Why can't she swim? Where is her dad? Who is the baby in the photo? And why is her mum lying to her? As the two girls spend more time together however, Rosa May's unpredictable temper and possessive streak suggests that she is hiding something as well...and in the heat of the sun-drenched summer, it seems that Becky is the only one in the dark.

Combining a stunning, summery backdrop with a chilling mystery and an unforgettable twist, this it a modern-day Tulip Touch for the next generation. It's perfect for fans of Eva Ibbotson and Anne Fine.


'Suspenseful and intriguing' - Sophie McKenzie

'Secrets and mysteries abound in Anne-Marie conway's haunting novel, Butterfly Summer. Becky and her mother have moved to a small village for a fresh start but when Becky finds an old photo of her mother with a baby, taken 12 years before Becky herself was born, questions need to be answered. Like just why is her mother so afraid of water? Perhaps Becky's new friend Rosa May holds the answer' - The Sunday Express

'Conway drops clues deftly into the water with hardly a ripple - reread this gently nostalgic mystery and you will be astonished at what you missed the first time' - The Jewish Chronicle

'Like the sun glinting on a butterfly's wing, there's both light and darkness in Anne-Marie Conway's outstanding novel...[Butterfly Summer] gets to the heart of childhood dilemmas whilst unravelling mysteries from the past. A terrific read for youngsters aged nine and over' - Lancashire Evening Post

'This gentle but gripping book is a tale of friendship and the paranormal and is perfect for fans of Cathy Cassidy and Karen McCombie' - Booktrust

'What makes this one special is the brooding atmosphere of secrets waiting to be discovered, which builds like a gathering summer storm' - Books for Keeps

'This book does not try to lessen the impact of depression and loss, and weaves them into an incredibly moving and thrilling tale. The ending is both shocking and sad, and thoroughly satisfying. Highly recommended' - Carousel

'A gripping story for young teens' - Friends of the Earth

About the Author

Anne-Marie Conway

Anne-Marie Conway is a primary school teacher specialising in drama, but also runs her own children’s theatre company, Full Circle. She lives in London with her husband, two young sons and two eccentric cats, Betty and Boo. Her books have been selected for the Summer Reading Challenge twice (Phoebe Finds Her Voice in 2011 and Butterfly Summer in 2012) and – with Butterfly Summer also selected for Bookbuzz 2013 and shortlisted for the Oxfordshire Book Awards – Anne-Marie has become renowned for her sizzling summer mysteries. Tangled Secrets is her third such novel.

More books by this author

Loading similar books...

Other Formats

Book Info


336 pages
Interest Age: 9 years+


Anne-Marie Conway
More books by Anne-Marie Conway

Author's Website



Usborne Publishing Ltd

Publication date

1st May 2012




LoveReading4Kids is a modern and creative way of emphasising the value and importance of books in this digital age #booksforlife

Amrit Bunet – Teen

I love Lovereading as it provides an honest opinion and showcases a range of fiction. Suited to both parents & kids alike, it’s a must-use.

Georgie Rowe – age 16

I have told all my friends, family & teachers to see for themselves just how great the site is. Without fail, they are hugely impressed.

Alexander Boxall – age 11

It is THE website to use for narrowing down your search for any book. Definitely knocks the socks off any other book review website.

Nickey and Tomasz Hawryszczuk

It has introduced my children to books we hadn’t come across before. Real children’s reviews gives a great insight into what others think to

Lorraine Woods

It gives me a chance to read types of books that I would not normally try, and it motivates me to read every night to finish it!

Alice Horncastle, age 14

Lovereading4kids is great, we get books really early never late. We love to read and review, and think you would like it too. The excitement

Jasmine Harris-Hart, age 12

We love Lovereading4kids because they put books in front of us we wouldn’t otherwise have read. They make us more adventurous readers!

Emily Jacques

Lovereading 4 schools