Slated by Teri Terry
  

Slated

Written by Teri Terry
Part of the Slated Trilogy Series

13+ readers   All Shortlists and Winners   
Download an extract Add to wishlist Share this book

Selected by our Editorial Experts

Winner of the 2013 Leeds Book Awards 14-16 age category

May 2012 Debut of the Month.

This is a debut novel not to miss. It's an original and haunting psychological thriller that's packed with intense mystery and secrets that will have you gripped from the very first page. It's the story of Kyla whose mind has been erased; every single memory gone, living with a new name with a new family to get a second chance. But is this a second chance or is everyone around her lying ? She thinks so and is determined to prove it. Fans of Sophie McKenzie and Suzanne Collins will love it.

A Review by Katy Poulter, age 12

Slated is a very well thought out book which really makes you think because it depicts a world where if you are young and make a bad decision, they wipe everything you’ve ever known, your family, your friends, everything, rendering you almost a baby. It is a very harsh, paranoid world that is very scared of terrorists and goes to great lengths to prevent terrorism. I really liked how Kyla was so obviously different to other Slateds but she tries, often without success, to suppress this for fear of getting unwanted attention. I also enjoyed the bond between Kyla and Ben and how this is highly discouraged because of what it could do to their ‘levels’. I love the way they try to break free of all the segregation and how they are treated because of something they did but have no chance of remembering which I think is very unfair. I thought the ending was somewhat lacking as it ended unexpectedly, I understand that this could have been to set it up for a sequel, but I think there should have been some closure or something more to the ending as well as it keeping someone interested in a sequel.

Katy Poulter is a member of the Lovereading4kids Reader Review Panel but she has reviewed this novel in the first instance for the Leeds Book Award as it is one of the 2013 shortlisted titles. The organisers have kindly agreed to let us also make use of Katy's review

----------------------------------

For further information on the 2013 Leeds Book Award click here.

Synopsis

Slated by Teri Terry

Kyla's memory has been erased, her personality wiped blank, her memories lost for ever. She's been Slated. The government claims she was a terrorist, and that they are giving her a second chance - as long as she plays by their rules. But echoes of the past whisper in Kyla's mind. Someone is lying to her, and nothing is as it seems. Who can she trust in her search for the truth?

Reviews

'A gripping dystopian debut.' - The Bookseller

'You want to read this book. I'll say it again. YOU WANT TO READ THIS BOOK' Lindsay Writes

'Sophisticated, intelligent, thought-provoking' Tall Tales and Short Stories

'Original and haunting. I was gripped from the first page' Julie Bertagna, author of Exodus and Zenith

'Gripping, chilling and all too real. An unputdownable thriller' lee Weatherly, author of Angel

'A beautiful, intriguing puzzle revealed piece by dark sinister piece' Sara Grant, author of Dark Parties

About the Author

Teri Terry

Teri Terry lives in Buckinghamshire. Teri recently left her job with Bucks libraries to write full-time and complete her research MA on young adult literature.

More books by this author

Loading similar books...

Other Formats

Book Info

Format

Paperback
448 pages
Interest Age: From 12

Author

Teri Terry
More books by Teri Terry

Publisher

Orchard Books an imprint of Hachette Children's Books

Publication date

3rd May 2012

ISBN

9781408319468

Categories


We love Lovereading4kids because it promotes reading choices, new authors and a sense of community for children of all ages!

Rachel Bridgeman

I love Lovereading as it provides an honest opinion and showcases a range of fiction. Suited to both parents & kids alike, it’s a must-use.

Georgie Rowe – age 16

It’s really exciting to read and review new books, thrilling to see my reviews online and I love finding the final published copies on sale.

Sam Harper – age 10

Lovereading4kids is great, we get books really early never late. We love to read and review, and think you would like it too. The excitement

Jasmine Harris-Hart, age 12

I am so pleased to have signed my kids up as they are reading a much wider range of books and even choosing books out of their comfort zone.

Angela East

We love Lovereading as my 5 year old loves to read new books before anyone else has a chance, she says it makes reading exciting!

Tracey Chorley

I love lovereading4kids because I’ve read amazing books I would never have picked up, and its opened doors to new genre’s I now love.

Harriet Cunningham

At @HHSHaringey we love @lovereading4kids because our pupils can practice reviewing & get free upcoming books before anyone else!

Helen Swinyard – Heartlands High
Lovereading

Lovereading 4 schools