The Incorrigible Children of Ashton Place: Book IV The Interrupted Tale by Maryrose Wood


The Incorrigible Children of Ashton Place: Book IV The Interrupted Tale by Maryrose Wood

The fourth book in the Incorrigible Children of Ashton Place-the acclaimed and hilarious Victorian mystery series by Maryrose Wood, perfect for fans of Lemony Snicket and Trenton Lee Stewart-has a brand-new look. Turning sixteen is a bittersweet occasion for Miss Penelope Lumley. Luckily, an invitation to speak at the annual Celebrate Alumnae Knowledge Exposition (or CAKE) at the Swanburne Academy for Poor Bright Females provides just the diversion Penelope needs. Optoomuchstic as ever, Penelope hopes to give her CAKE talk, see some old friends, and show off the Incorrigible children to Miss Mortimer, but instead she finds her beloved school in an uproar. And when Penelope is asked by the Swanburne Academy board of trustees to demonstrate the academic progress of her three wolfish students so they can judge the true worth of a Swanburne education, the future of her alma mater-and of her job as governess to the Incorrigibles-hangs in the balance.


Happily, the mysteries deepen at Ashton Place in this fourth volume in the Incorrigible Children series. Once again delightful wordplay and a plot that snakes itself around a suspicious family tree add to the deliciousness. -- Booklist (starred review), about The Interrupted Tale (Book 4)

About the Author

Maryrose Wood

"I grew up in the wild suburbs of Long Island, moved to New York City at age 17 to study acting at New York University, and dropped out to be in the chorus of a Broadway musical — which flopped. The show was "Merrily We Roll Along," with a glorious score by Stephen Sondheim. Go listen to the album, you will love.

"I started out writing for the theater and film, as a lyricist, librettist, playwright and screenwriter. I am proud to be the first recipient of the Georgia Bogardus Holof Lyricist Award, and a three-time recipient of the Richard Rodgers Award for New Musicals, which is administered by the American Academy of Arts and Letters. Yes, you may call me Miss Fancy Pants.

"By 2004 or so I finally was able to woman up and write my first novel for teens ..

"2010 saw the launch of my first middle-grade series, The Incorrigible Children of Ashton Place (starred reviews in Booklist, Kirkus, SLJ and Publishers Weekly, Junior Library Guild selection, yesss!), and a new gothic YA trilogy called The Poison Diaries.

Biography and author photo taken from Maryrose Wood's website (

More books by this author

Other Formats

Book Info


400 pages
Interest Age: From 8


Maryrose Wood
More books by Maryrose Wood

Author's Website


Publication date

2nd July 2015



Lovereading4kids is great, we get books really early never late. We love to read and review, and think you would like it too. The excitement

Jasmine Harris-Hart, age 12

It’s really exciting to read and review new books, thrilling to see my reviews online and I love finding the final published copies on sale.

Sam Harper – age 10

It’s a community united by a passion for books and promoting the best there is in children’s literature.

Sam Bateman and family

It is fantastic, you get to read lots of books and you always find something new and amazing in them.

Erica Motoc, age 7

I love lovereading4kids because I’ve read amazing books I would never have picked up, and its opened doors to new genre’s I now love.

Harriet Cunningham

It gives me a chance to read types of books that I would not normally try, and it motivates me to read every night to finish it!

Alice Horncastle, age 14

I love all the books they recommend & put up for me to review. I also love the fact that they give new authors the chance to share their boo

Daisy Pennock – age 15

I love Lovereading because I often never know what to read and this helps you find a good book. I have recommended this to many people.

Shannon-Louise Masters – age 15

Lovereading 4 schools