The Incorrigible Children of Ashton Place: Book IV The Interrupted Tale by Maryrose Wood
  

The Incorrigible Children of Ashton Place: Book IV The Interrupted Tale

Written by Maryrose Wood
Illustrated by Eliza Wheeler
Part of the Incorrigible Children of Ashton Place Series

RRP £6.99

Synopsis

The Incorrigible Children of Ashton Place: Book IV The Interrupted Tale by Maryrose Wood

The fourth book in the Incorrigible Children of Ashton Place-the acclaimed and hilarious Victorian mystery series by Maryrose Wood, perfect for fans of Lemony Snicket and Trenton Lee Stewart-has a brand-new look.Turning sixteen is a bittersweet occasion for Miss Penelope Lumley. Luckily, an invitation to speak at the annual Celebrate Alumnae Knowledge Exposition (or CAKE) at the Swanburne Academy for Poor Bright Females provides just the diversion Penelope needs.Optoomuchstic as ever, Penelope hopes to give her CAKE talk, see some old friends, and show off the Incorrigible children to Miss Mortimer, but instead she finds her beloved school in an uproar. And when Penelope is asked by the Swanburne Academy board of trustees to demonstrate the academic progress of her three wolfish students so they can judge the true worth of a Swanburne education, the future of her alma mater-and of her job as governess to the Incorrigibles-hangs in the balance.

Reviews

Happily, the mysteries deepen at Ashton Place in this fourth volume in the Incorrigible Children series. Once again delightful wordplay and a plot that snakes itself around a suspicious family tree add to the deliciousness. -- Booklist (starred review), about The Interrupted Tale (Book 4)

About the Author

Maryrose Wood

"I grew up in the wild suburbs of Long Island, moved to New York City at age 17 to study acting at New York University, and dropped out to be in the chorus of a Broadway musical — which flopped. The show was "Merrily We Roll Along," with a glorious score by Stephen Sondheim. Go listen to the album, you will love.

"I started out writing for the theater and film, as a lyricist, librettist, playwright and screenwriter. I am proud to be the first recipient of the Georgia Bogardus Holof Lyricist Award, and a three-time recipient of the Richard Rodgers Award for New Musicals, which is administered by the American Academy of Arts and Letters. Yes, you may call me Miss Fancy Pants.

"By 2004 or so I finally was able to woman up and write my first novel for teens ..

"2010 saw the launch of my first middle-grade series, The Incorrigible Children of Ashton Place (starred reviews in Booklist, Kirkus, SLJ and Publishers Weekly, Junior Library Guild selection, yesss!), and a new gothic YA trilogy called The Poison Diaries.

Biography and author photo taken from Maryrose Wood's website (www.maryrosewood.com).

More books by this author

Other Formats

Book Info

Format

Paperback
400 pages
Interest Age: From 8 to 12 years

Author

Maryrose Wood
More books by Maryrose Wood

Author's Website

www.maryrosewood.com/

Publisher

Balzer and Bray an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers Inc

Publication date

21st April 2015

ISBN

9780061791239


This company is amazing; not only is it is a great opportunity to get books and review them but everyone is so friendly and supportive!

Jemma Rubens, age 10

LoveReading4Kids is a modern and creative way of emphasising the value and importance of books in this digital age #booksforlife

Amrit Bunet – Teen

You give me age appropriate ideas of books I can read and buy for the children and find out what other children their age think of them too.

Katie Lonsdale

We love Lovereading4kids because they put books in front of us we wouldn’t otherwise have read. They make us more adventurous readers!

Emily Jacques

It’s a community united by a passion for books and promoting the best there is in children’s literature.

Sam Bateman and family

I love lovereading4kids because I’ve read amazing books I would never have picked up, and its opened doors to new genre’s I now love.

Harriet Cunningham

I have told all my friends, family & teachers to see for themselves just how great the site is. Without fail, they are hugely impressed.

Alexander Boxall – age 11

It is THE website to use for narrowing down your search for any book. Definitely knocks the socks off any other book review website.

Nickey and Tomasz Hawryszczuk
Lovereading

Lovereading 4 schools
****