The Improbable Theory of Ana and Zak by Brian Katcher
  

Synopsis

The Improbable Theory of Ana and Zak by Brian Katcher

Perfect for fans of Nick and Norah's Infinite Playlist and The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight, The Improbable Theory of Ana and Zak is Stonewall Award-winning author Brian Katcher's hilarious he said/she said romance about two teens discovering themselves on an out-of-this-world accidental first date at a sci-fi convention. When Ana Watson's brother ditches a high school trip to run wild at Washingcon, type-A Ana knows that she must find him or risk her last shot at freedom from her extra-controlling parents. In her desperation, she's forced to enlist the last person she'd ever want to spend time with-slacker Zak Duquette-to help find her brother before morning comes. But over the course of the night, while being chased by hordes of costumed Vikings and zombies, Ana and Zak begin to open up to each other. Soon, what starts as the most insane nerdfighter manhunt transforms into so much more...

Reviews

With perfect comic timing and outrageous twists, The Improbable Theory of Ana and Zak will have you cheering for the underdog. -- Robin Constantine, author of The Promise of Amazing A love letter to fanboys and fangirls everywhere. On the surface, the story is a lighthearted and entertaining romance, but serious undertones explore the fractured side of parent-child relationships and misfit characters desperate to find a tribe. A delightful romp for anyone still figuring out where they belong. -- Publishers Weekly This well-paced novel is an excellent combination of self-discovery and adventure. Give this to fans of Eleanor and Park or Nick and Norah. -- Booklist There is something very sweet and nerdy about the entire premise of the story, where the upside-down rules of cosplay and gaming conventions like Washingcon allow the outsiders to be heroes. -- Voice of Youth Advocates (VOYA) Fans of Nick and Norah's Infinite Playlist will find con-tentment here. -- Kirkus A zany romantic comedy for pop culture geeks and 'Con

-- School Library Journal A nerd-friendly adventure story with a gooey, sweet romance center. -- Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books

About the Author

Brian Katcher is the author of the Stonewall Book Award-winning novel Almost Perfect, Playing with Matches, and Everyone Dies in the End. He lives in central Missouri with his wife, Sandra, and his daughter, Sophie. When he's not writing, he's working as a school librarian and a member of the Forever Young Adult blogging group.

More books by this author

Other Formats

Book Info

Format

Paperback
352 pages
Interest Age: From 13

Author

Brian Katcher
More books by Brian Katcher

Publisher

HarperCollins an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers Inc

Publication date

3rd November 2016

ISBN

9780062272782


It’s a community united by a passion for books and promoting the best there is in children’s literature.

Sam Bateman and family

Lovereading4kids is great, we get books really early never late. We love to read and review, and think you would like it too. The excitement

Jasmine Harris-Hart, age 12

I am so pleased to have signed my kids up as they are reading a much wider range of books and even choosing books out of their comfort zone.

Angela East

I love all the books they recommend & put up for me to review. I also love the fact that they give new authors the chance to share their boo

Daisy Pennock – age 15

It’s really exciting to read and review new books, thrilling to see my reviews online and I love finding the final published copies on sale.

Sam Harper – age 10

We love Lovereading4kids because it promotes reading choices, new authors and a sense of community for children of all ages!

Rachel Bridgeman

It is THE website to use for narrowing down your search for any book. Definitely knocks the socks off any other book review website.

Nickey and Tomasz Hawryszczuk

Lovereading is just a convenient way to find new books and hear others opinions on them.

Sarah Murray – age 15
Lovereading

Lovereading 4 schools