The Improbable Theory of Ana and Zak by Brian Katcher
  

Synopsis

The Improbable Theory of Ana and Zak by Brian Katcher

Perfect for fans of Nick and Norah's Infinite Playlist and The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight, The Improbable Theory of Ana and Zak is Stonewall Award-winning author Brian Katcher's hilarious he said/she said romance about two teens discovering themselves on an out-of-this-world accidental first date at a sci-fi convention. When Ana Watson's brother ditches a high school trip to run wild at Washingcon, type-A Ana knows that she must find him or risk her last shot at freedom from her extra-controlling parents. In her desperation, she's forced to enlist the last person she'd ever want to spend time with-slacker Zak Duquette-to help find her brother before morning comes. But over the course of the night, while being chased by hordes of costumed Vikings and zombies, Ana and Zak begin to open up to each other. Soon, what starts as the most insane nerdfighter manhunt transforms into so much more...

Reviews

With perfect comic timing and outrageous twists, The Improbable Theory of Ana and Zak will have you cheering for the underdog. -- Robin Constantine, author of The Promise of Amazing A love letter to fanboys and fangirls everywhere. On the surface, the story is a lighthearted and entertaining romance, but serious undertones explore the fractured side of parent-child relationships and misfit characters desperate to find a tribe. A delightful romp for anyone still figuring out where they belong. -- Publishers Weekly This well-paced novel is an excellent combination of self-discovery and adventure. Give this to fans of Eleanor and Park or Nick and Norah. -- Booklist There is something very sweet and nerdy about the entire premise of the story, where the upside-down rules of cosplay and gaming conventions like Washingcon allow the outsiders to be heroes. -- Voice of Youth Advocates (VOYA) Fans of Nick and Norah's Infinite Playlist will find con-tentment here. -- Kirkus A zany romantic comedy for pop culture geeks and 'Con

-- School Library Journal A nerd-friendly adventure story with a gooey, sweet romance center. -- Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books

About the Author

Brian Katcher is the author of the Stonewall Book Award-winning novel Almost Perfect, Playing with Matches, and Everyone Dies in the End. He lives in central Missouri with his wife, Sandra, and his daughter, Sophie. When he's not writing, he's working as a school librarian and a member of the Forever Young Adult blogging group.

More books by this author

Other Formats

Book Info

Format

Paperback
352 pages
Interest Age: From 13

Author

Brian Katcher
More books by Brian Katcher

Publisher

Katherine Tegen Books an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers Inc

Publication date

3rd November 2016

ISBN

9780062272782


At @HHSHaringey we love @lovereading4kids because our pupils can practice reviewing & get free upcoming books before anyone else!

Helen Swinyard – Heartlands High

It is THE website to use for narrowing down your search for any book. Definitely knocks the socks off any other book review website.

Nickey and Tomasz Hawryszczuk

We love Lovereading as my 5 year old loves to read new books before anyone else has a chance, she says it makes reading exciting!

Tracey Chorley

You give me age appropriate ideas of books I can read and buy for the children and find out what other children their age think of them too.

Katie Lonsdale

It is fantastic, you get to read lots of books and you always find something new and amazing in them.

Erica Motoc, age 7

I love Lovereading4kids because I get an opportunity to put my opinion forward and to try new books

Elosie Clarkson – age 11

Lovereading is just a convenient way to find new books and hear others opinions on them.

Sarah Murray – age 15

LoveReading4Kids is a modern and creative way of emphasising the value and importance of books in this digital age #booksforlife

Amrit Bunet – Teen
Lovereading

Lovereading 4 schools