The Improbable Theory of Ana and Zak by Brian Katcher

The Improbable Theory of Ana and Zak

Written by Brian Katcher
Illustrated by


The Improbable Theory of Ana and Zak by Brian Katcher

Perfect for fans of Nick and Norah's Infinite Playlist and The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight, The Improbable Theory of Ana and Zak is Stonewall Award-winning author Brian Katcher's hilarious he said/she said romance about two teens discovering themselves on an out-of-this-world accidental first date at a sci-fi convention. When Ana Watson's brother ditches a high school trip to run wild at Washingcon, type-A Ana knows that she must find him or risk her last shot at freedom from her extra-controlling parents. In her desperation, she's forced to enlist the last person she'd ever want to spend time with-slacker Zak Duquette-to help find her brother before morning comes. But over the course of the night, while being chased by hordes of costumed Vikings and zombies, Ana and Zak begin to open up to each other. Soon, what starts as the most insane nerdfighter manhunt transforms into so much more. . . .


With perfect comic timing and outrageous twists, The Improbable Theory of Ana and Zak will have you cheering for the underdog. -- Robin Constantine, author of The Promise of Amazing A love letter to fanboys and fangirls everywhere. On the surface, the story is a lighthearted and entertaining romance, but serious undertones explore the fractured side of parent-child relationships and misfit characters desperate to find a tribe. A delightful romp for anyone still figuring out where they belong. -- Publishers Weekly This well-paced novel is an excellent combination of self-discovery and adventure. Give this to fans of Eleanor and Park or Nick and Norah. -- Booklist There is something very sweet and nerdy about the entire premise of the story, where the upside-down rules of cosplay and gaming conventions like Washingcon allow the outsiders to be heroes. -- Voice of Youth Advocates (VOYA) Fans of Nick and Norah's Infinite Playlist will find con-tentment here. -- Kirkus A zany romantic comedy for pop culture geeks and `Con

-- School Library Journal A nerd-friendly adventure story with a gooey, sweet romance center. -- Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books

About the Author

Brian Katcher is the author of the Stonewall Book Award-winning novel Almost Perfect, Playing with Matches, and Everyone Dies in the End. He lives in central Missouri with his wife, Sandra, and his daughter, Sophie. When he's not writing, he's working as a school librarian and a member of the Forever Young Adult blogging group.

More books by this author

Other Formats

Book Info


352 pages


Brian Katcher
More books by Brian Katcher


Katherine Tegen Books an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers Inc

Publication date

3rd November 2016



A great way to introduce kids to great books, authors & genres. Parents can find age-appropriate books to share with their children.

Judi Davies – Aberdare Girls Sch

We love Lovereading4kids because they put books in front of us we wouldn’t otherwise have read. They make us more adventurous readers!

Emily Jacques

I love all the books they recommend & put up for me to review. I also love the fact that they give new authors the chance to share their boo

Daisy Pennock – age 15

We love Lovereading4kids because they put books in front of us we wouldn’t otherwise have read. They make us more adventurous readers!

Emily Jacques

It has introduced my children to books we hadn’t come across before. Real children’s reviews gives a great insight into what others think to

Lorraine Woods

I love ‘LoveReading 4 kids’ because they let you read and learn things you’d never dreamed of learning before.

Emily Horncastle – age 11

You give me age appropriate ideas of books I can read and buy for the children and find out what other children their age think of them too.

Katie Lonsdale

It gives me a chance to read types of books that I would not normally try, and it motivates me to read every night to finish it!

Alice Horncastle, age 14

Lovereading 4 schools