Commentarii De Inepto Puero by Jeff Kinney


Commentarii De Inepto Puero by Jeff Kinney

'Let me get something straight: This is a JOURNAL, not a diary. This was Mom's idea, not mine. But if she thinks I'm going to write down my feelings in here or whatever, she's crazy. The only reason I agreed to do this at all is because I figure later on when I'm rich and famous, this book is gonna come in handy. But for now I'm stuck in middle school with a bunch of morons.' In the tradition of Harrius Potter and Hobbitus Ille, here is a global first: Jeff Kinney's mega-selling Diary of a Wimpy Kid newly translated into Latin. Learning Latin has never been so much fun!

About the Author

Jeff Kinney

Francesca Dow, m.d. of Penguin Children’s, said: “Millions of kids in the UK are readers because of Diary of a Wimpy Kid. And Jeff’s new book, Diary of a Wimpy Kid: The Long Haul, is the funniest yet. Alongside Jeff’s funniest tour ever, this is set to be another great milestone for this incredibly popular and original superbrand.”

Jeff Kinney is the second biggest selling writer of children’s fiction in the UK this year (behind David Walliams), and sales of his books totalled £2.9m from the beginning of 2014 until the end of August, according to Nielsen BookScan.
The eighth book in the series, Hard Luck, had a UK first printing of 800,000 copies, making it Penguin's biggest-ever first printing of a children's book.


Jeff Kinney was born in 1971 in Maryland, USA, and attended the University of Maryland in the early 1990s. It was there that Jeff ran a comic strip called ''Igdoof'' in the campus newspaper, and he knew he wanted to be a cartoonist.

However, Jeff was not successful in getting his comic strip syndicated after college, and in 1998 he started writing down ideas for Diary of a Wimpy Kid, which when released as a print series in April 2007, became a New York Times bestseller, eventually reaching the #1 spot. Diary of a Wimpy Kid: Rodrick Rules was released in January 2008 and also became a #1 bestseller.

The Diary of A Wimpy Kid series is now an international bestseller and has now been made into two blockbuster films. As well as being a bestselling author, Jeff is also an online developer and designer. Jeff lives with his wife and two sons in Massachusetts, where they own a bookstore, An Unlikely Story.

Here's Jeff talking about Diary of a Wimpy Kid: Cabin Fever in this video:

More books by this author

Other Formats

Book Info


224 pages
Interest Age: From 9


Jeff Kinney
More books by Jeff Kinney

Author's Website


Publication date

1st September 2016



I love Lovereading4kids because I get an opportunity to put my opinion forward and to try new books

Elosie Clarkson – age 11

Writing reviews help the children with their literacy skills and we always read the books together which gives us good quality family time!

Cat Bisland (on behalf of the Bi

I love lovereading4kids because I’ve read amazing books I would never have picked up, and its opened doors to new genre’s I now love.

Harriet Cunningham

Love “Lovereading4kids” as my son gets to hear about & read new books before his mates which keeps him interested in reading=a very happy Mum

Liz Evans

LoveReading4Kids is a modern and creative way of emphasising the value and importance of books in this digital age #booksforlife

Amrit Bunet – Teen

A great way to introduce kids to great books, authors & genres. Parents can find age-appropriate books to share with their children.

Judi Davies – Aberdare Girls Sch

I think Lovereading4kids is an amazing company because of the friendly staff and the fabulous chance to read great books before publication.

Adam Graham

This company is amazing; not only is it is a great opportunity to get books and review them but everyone is so friendly and supportive!

Jemma Rubens, age 10

Lovereading 4 schools