Alabaster Shadows by Matt Gardner, Rashad Doucet
  

Synopsis

Alabaster Shadows by Matt Gardner, Rashad Doucet

Carter Normandy knows there's something weird about the neighborhood he and his family move into. Maybe it's the physics-defying leak in the basement, or the way all the adults seem to look down on kids like they're scum. With the help of his new friends, Carter discovers a whole other world alongside his seemingly normal community-a world filled with terrifying monsters. A world the adults of the community already know all about. Now it's up to Carter and his friends to keep these monsters from crossing over into our world, or face the dire consequences! A gorgeously illustrated mystery perfect for fans of Gravity Falls with just a hint of Lovecraftian horror.

Reviews

BOOKLIST - Carter, his sister, Polly, and his mom and dad have just moved to a new neighborhood, called Alabaster Shadows. At first, the matching houses seem boring, but Carter soon discovers that they hide a mysterious secret world filled with monsters and overseen by the creepy adults who know more than they let on. Carter must work with new friends to keep these adults from doing harm to his family, his school, and the rest of the community. Doucet's bright art, in a rich, saturated palette, is a striking introduction to the tale and draws readers in even before the action kicks off. He illustrates a modern, multicultural world filled with young characters with whom kids will identify, especially as they chafe at hostile adults and revel in the strange new worlds they discover. There is plenty of action to keep the story moving in this genre mash-up of fantasy, mystery, sci-fi, and horror, with just a touch of humor added to keep things from becoming too dark. Readers will eagerly await volume 2. KIRKUS -- A brother and sister learn their idyllic new neighborhood holds some nightmarish secrets. At first glance, Carter and Polly's new home-the eerily named Alabaster Shadows subdivision-is another blandly charming suburb with rows of identical houses. However, as soon as they arrive, the siblings immediately sense that something isn't quite right. The town is governed by a community council led by a stony-faced, bespectacled woman named Miss Crowe, who obviously disdains all children. At school, things aren't much better; their teacher, Ms. Frump, shares Miss Crowe's menacing sentiments. Things soon go from bad to sinister: the kids discover a mysterious portal that's leaking liquid in their basement, stumble upon a bizarre dream world only accessible while sleeping, befriend other kids terrorized by monsters under their beds, and learn that adults who ask too many questions are becoming zombified. The children quickly band together and fight the influx of monsters that have seemingly overrun their town. Gardner and Doucet's crafty tale provides a blend of hearty exposition, intriguing worldbuilding, and lightning-fast action; in a nice touch, Carter and Polly are biracial-their mom is dark-skinned, and their dad is Caucasian. Bright, cartoon-style illustrations propel readers through this offering and will leave them wishing it were a series opener. Fans of Goosebumps will definitely appreciate the similarly atmospheric feel. Creepily imagined and entertaining. (Graphic horror. 7-12)

About the Author

Other Formats

Book Info

Format

Paperback
184 pages
Interest Age: From 9

Author

Matt Gardner, Rashad Doucet
More books by Matt Gardner, Rashad Doucet

Publisher

Oni Press,US

Publication date

9th December 2015

ISBN

9781620102640


I love finding new books to read. My mummy and me look at the new ones coming out. I have written reviews of some of them!

Jessica Cobbin – age 7

Lovereading is just a convenient way to find new books and hear others opinions on them.

Sarah Murray – age 15

It is fantastic, you get to read lots of books and you always find something new and amazing in them.

Erica Motoc, age 7

Writing reviews help the children with their literacy skills and we always read the books together which gives us good quality family time!

Cat Bisland (on behalf of the Bi

I love Lovereading4kids because I get an opportunity to put my opinion forward and to try new books

Elosie Clarkson – age 11

Lovereading4kids is great, we get books really early never late. We love to read and review, and think you would like it too. The excitement

Jasmine Harris-Hart, age 12

LoveReading4Kids is a modern and creative way of emphasising the value and importance of books in this digital age #booksforlife

Amrit Bunet – Teen

It is THE website to use for narrowing down your search for any book. Definitely knocks the socks off any other book review website.

Nickey and Tomasz Hawryszczuk
Lovereading

Lovereading 4 schools