Debut books from New Authors Debut books from New Authors

This Month's Featured Books

The Hippopandamouse
Jools Bentley
July 2016 Debut of the Month A brilliant, big-hearted story with an important message; our imperfections make us perfect. The ideal gift and a smart choice for little princesses everywhere! Lovereading Review to follow.... Featured in: 3+ readers | 5+ readers
Format: Paperback | Released 14/07/2016
Info Extract Wishlist Compare Price Buy

Reader ReviewedVoyage to Magical North
Claire Fayers
July 2016 Debut of the Month A heart-warming pirate adventure fuelled by friendship, magic and the power of stories.Lovereading review to follow... Featured in: 9+ readers | 11+ readers
Format: Paperback | Released 14/07/2016
Info Extract Wishlist Compare Price Buy

Reader ReviewedThe Witch's Kiss
Kate Corr, Elizabeth Corr
July 2016 Debut of the Month | In a Nutshell: Witchcraft * Vengeance * Dream Boy Melding ancient witchery with modern-day dilemmas of the heart, this deliciously dark tale is a feast that will be devoured by fans of both fairy-tale... Featured in: 13+ readers
Format: Paperback | Released 30/06/2016
Info Extract Wishlist Compare Price Buy

The Apprentice Witch
James Nicol
July 2016 Debut of the Month From debut author James Nicol comes an enchanting tale of friendship, bravery – and hexes! Perfect for fans of The Worst Witch or Diana Wynne Jones, The Apprentice Witch is a spellbinding read packed with... Featured in: 9+ readers | 7+ readers
Format: Paperback | Released 07/07/2016
Info Extract Wishlist Compare Price Buy

Hiding Heidi
Fiona Woodcock
July 2016 Debut of the Month Meet Heidi - if she stops hiding for long enough that is! A mesmerising, beautiful debut picture book. Lovereading Review to follow... Featured in: 3+ readers
Format: Hardback | Released 14/07/2016
Info Extract Wishlist Compare Price Buy

Reader ReviewedThe Hawkweed Prophecy
Irena Brignull
July 2016 Debut of the Month | In a Nutshell: Old world witches * Potent prophecy * Firm friendship Fairytale witch-magic melds with the modern world in this captivating debut. A spell is cast when two babies are born as... Featured in: 13+ readers
Format: Paperback | Released 16/06/2016
Info Extract Wishlist Compare Price Buy

Reader ReviewedColin and Lee, Carrot and Pea
Morag Hood
July 2016 Debut of the Month Simplicity is the charm of this picture book story of the unlikely friendship between very different vegetables. Lee is a very green pea and so are all of his friends except for Colin who... Featured in: 3+ readers | 5+ readers
Format: Hardback | Released 16/06/2016
Info Extract Wishlist Compare Price Buy

Reader ReviewedThe Wildings
Nilanjana Roy
July 2016 Debut of the Month Lovereading Review to follow... A small band of cats lives in the labyrinthine alleys and ruins of the Nizamuddin quarter in Delhi. Unfettered and wild, the tribe fear no one, go where they will, and... Featured in: 9+ readers | 7+ readers
Format: Paperback | Released 07/07/2016
Info Extract Wishlist Compare Price Buy

Reader ReviewedNed's Circus of Marvels
Justin Fisher
July 2016 Debut of the Month | In three words: monsters – robot mice – hidden talents Adventures don't come more action-packed than Ned's Circus of Marvels and anyone who enjoys Harry Potter will find that it hits the... Featured in: 9+ readers | 11+ readers
Format: Paperback | Released 30/06/2016
Info Extract Wishlist Compare Price Buy

The Loose Ends List
Carrie Firestone
July 2016 Debut of the Month | In a Nutshell: Trip of a lifetime • Seize the day • Perfect endings Always heartwarming, often laugh-out-loud hilarious, this is a sublime novel about living, loving and savouring every precious moment. As... Featured in: YA readers | 13+ readers
Format: Paperback | Released 16/06/2016
Info Extract Wishlist Compare Price Buy

Reader ReviewedThe Otherlife
Julia Gray
July 2016 Debut of the Month Absolutely compelling. I have to admit to being rather surprised by ‘The Otherlife', I think I was expecting a rollicking fantasy adventure, instead a startling, yet subtle and thought provoking read awaited. Either told... Featured in: 13+ readers | YA readers
Format: Paperback | Released 07/07/2016
Info Extract Wishlist Compare Price Buy

Last Month's Featured Books

Reader Reviewed The Crystal Run
Sheila O'Flanagan
June 2016 Debut of the Month High-octane, high-stakes fantasy quest in which a teenage boy finds himself embroiled a world of warring lands and self-sacrificing teenagers. At first, “gangly” Joe might...
Extract Wishlist Compare price Buy

Reader Reviewed Little Bits of Sky
S. E. Durrant
May 2016 Debut of the Month This moving story of looked-after children describes the difficulties they face, but is nonetheless uplifting. Ira and her little brother Zac live in Skilly...
Extract Wishlist Compare price Buy

Reader Reviewed Eddy Stone and the Epic Holiday Mash-Up
Simon Cherry
June 2016 Debut of the Month In a Nutshell: pirates – penguins – enchantments Eddy Stone and the Epic Holiday Mash-Up is an epic story indeed, and possibly the most...
Extract Wishlist Compare price Buy

Reader Reviewed If I Was Your Girl
Meredith Russo
June 2016 Debut of the Month Amanda Hardy is the new girl at school. Like everyone else, all she wants is to make friends and fit in. But Amanda is...
Extract Wishlist Compare price Buy

The Deepest Cut
Natalie Flynn
June 2016 Debut of the Month In a Nutshell: Boundless friendship • Real-life rawness •Surviving loss A gripping, emotionally authentic debut about grief, guilt and the tragic reality of knife...
Extract Wishlist Compare price Buy

Orangeboy
Patrice Lawrence
A young man has an impossible choice to make, in this powerful coming of age urban thriller. The action is uncompromising and powerful, yet punctuated by moments of extraordinary tenderness...
Extract Wishlist Compare price Buy

The Crooked Sixpence
Jennifer Bell
June 2016 Debut of the Month Welcome to a world where nothing is quite as it seems. If you enjoy adventure, mystery and an avalanche of magic, then you've come...
Extract Wishlist Compare price Buy

More Featured Books

The Bear and the Piano
David Litchfield
Shortlisted for the English Picture Book Award 2016 - Longlisted for the inaugural Klaus Flugge Prize, an important new illustration prize for children's books. Winner of the Illustrated category of...
Extract Wishlist Compare price Buy

Eliza Rose
Lucy Worsley
Julia Eccleshare's Debut of the Month, April 2016 TV historian Lucy Worsley is gifted at bringing the past to life and shows it to great effect here. Her detailed knowledge...
Extract Wishlist Compare price Buy

Reader Reviewed Underwater
Marisa Reichardt
May 2016 Debut of the Month This extraordinary, powerful book has life lessons for everyone, though its central character has lived through experiences that, fortunately, will be unknown to...
Extract Wishlist Compare price Buy

Some Birds
Matt Spink
April 2016 Debut of the Month A parade of brightly coloured birds strut, fly and peck their way across the pages. Some are familiar, some fantastical, but they all look...
Extract Wishlist Compare price Buy

Reader Reviewed Not If I See You First
Eric Lindstrom
May 2016 Debut of the Month An incredibly uplifting, thought provoking and sharply beautiful debut. Once I started reading I couldn't stop and when I turned the last page I...
Extract Wishlist Compare price Buy

Doodle Girl and the Monkey Mystery
Suzanne Smith, Lindsay Taylor
May 2016 Debut of the Month The creators of this stylish Picturebook take a simple idea and turn it into an appealing adventure, and one that should also encourage children...
Extract Wishlist Compare price Buy

Reader Reviewed The Outliers
Kimberly McCreight
May 2016 Debut of the Month The Outliers is one of those twisty thrillers that run on paranoia. It will send readers' heartbeats soaring as their fears for the safety...
Extract Wishlist Compare price Buy

In the Dark, in the Woods
Eliza Wass
May 2016 Debut of the Month Haunting coming-of-age page-turner about 16 year-old Castley's battle to break free from her father's repressive religious mania. The five Cresswell siblings and their broken, doll-like...
Extract Wishlist Compare price Buy

Reader Reviewed Lucy Locket: Online Disaster
Emma Moss
May 2016 Debut of the Month A brand new, innovative and fun series that's pitch-perfect fiction for aspirational vloggers, digital devotees and readers with a passion for all things online! ...
Extract Wishlist Compare price Buy

Monster Hunter
Curtis Jobling
May 2016 Debut of the Month Max Helsing is seriously cool – a dab hand with a yo-yo, with a great line in banter, and he rides a Chopper. Oh...
Extract Wishlist Compare price Buy

Reader Reviewed The Girl of Ink & Stars
Kiran Millwood-Hargrave
‘Here be dragons' it says on old maps, but Isabella finds creatures even more terrifying in the unchartered lands of Joya, the island that is her home. Joya is a...
Extract Wishlist Compare price Buy

Share this page

It’s a community united by a passion for books and promoting the best there is in children’s literature.

Sam Bateman and family

We love Lovereading4kids because they put books in front of us we wouldn’t otherwise have read. They make us more adventurous readers!

Emily Jacques

It is THE website to use for narrowing down your search for any book. Definitely knocks the socks off any other book review website.

Nickey and Tomasz Hawryszczuk

I love all the books they recommend & put up for me to review. I also love the fact that they give new authors the chance to share their boo

Daisy Pennock – age 15

This company is amazing; not only is it is a great opportunity to get books and review them but everyone is so friendly and supportive!

Jemma Rubens, age 10

It gives me a chance to read types of books that I would not normally try, and it motivates me to read every night to finish it!

Alice Horncastle, age 14

I love lovereading4kids because I’ve read amazing books I would never have picked up, and its opened doors to new genre’s I now love.

Harriet Cunningham

It is fantastic, you get to read lots of books and you always find something new and amazing in them.

Erica Motoc, age 7

The best from first time authors.

Lovereading's debuts are titles that have struck a real chord with us here by a debut author who we believe has a real future as a children's writer.

We can't guarantee to find authors of this calibre every month but our scouts are out sourcing the best as often as we can.


Lovereading

Lovereading 4 schools