Rachel Bright - Author Picture

Rachel Bright - Author

Rachel Bright is a writer, illustrator and printmaker; and the creator of the award-winning stationery and homeware range, The Bright Side. Rachel has written and illustrated several books for children, including Love Monster, and is the author of The Lion Inside, illustrated by Jim Field. She lives on a farm near the seaside with her partner, their daughter, a dog called Elvis and a cat called Superman.

You can read an extended biography of Rachel by clicking here.

10 Things you might not know about Rachel Bright:

She collects alphabets and hats and has a Nissan Figaro car which everyone says looks like a matchbox toy.

She used to be an air Hostess for Virgin Atlantic, when she got to visit Richard Branson's island of Necker.

She loves nothing more than getting all inky in the printmaking studio where she’ll often work super late, when there’s magic in the air.

She lives on a farm near the seaside, which she shares with her family, their dog Elvis and a cockerel called Herman.

She’s done zillions of different jobs before becoming an author and illustrator, including owning a landscape gardening business, being a life-guard and a TV extra (she was once taken hostage by Daleks in 'Dr.Who'). Her first proper boss was Samantha Cameron, now of No.10 Downing St.

She also runs an impressively global card and gift empire called ‘the brightside’ and occasionally practices her evil laugh.

She has hundreds of stories tucked away in her studio (an occasionally messy, converted caravan) which she can’t wait to turn into books.

She once won a week-long date in Tahiti, with ‘Man of the Millenium’ featured in Marie Claire magazine (and then spent a long time living it down).

She spent six years working as a copywriter in advertising, during which time she once had to dress up as a chicken.

She runs a really long way every day and has done loads of ultra-marathons all over the world, the most recent of which include the Atlantic Coast Challenge (3 marathons in 3 days) and the Midnight Sun marathon in the Arctic Circle.

Featured Books, with extracts, by Rachel Bright

Snowflake in My Pocket
Rachel Bright - illustrated by Yu Rong
Get into the Spirit of Christmas! This charming story of a little squirrel's first adventure in the snow is also a gentle reflection on the things we should really treasure. Little Squirrel lives in an oak tree with wise old...
Lovereading Price: £5.59 - Saving £1.40 (20%) Featured in: 3+ readers | 5+ readers
Format: Paperback | Released 03/11/2016
Info Extract Wishlist Compare price Buy

Amazing Daddy
Rachel Bright
An unashamed celebration of the hundreds of things that make dads amazing this is a funny, tender and even poignant picture book. Little Panda lists the ways he loves his daddy, and the whys. They're the things that all dads...
Lovereading Price: £5.59 - Saving £1.40 (20%) Featured in: Baby and Toddler | 3+ readers
Format: Paperback | Released 05/05/2016
Info Extract Wishlist Compare price Buy

The Lion Inside
Rachel Bright - illustrated by Jim Field
Longlisted for the UKLA 2017 Book Award Fans of The Gruffalo and Giraffes Can't Dance will love this feelgood rhyming story portraying a positive message about overcoming your fears.
Lovereading Price: £5.59 - Saving £1.40 (20%) Featured in: 3+ readers | 5+ readers
Format: Paperback | Released 10/03/2016
Info Extract Wishlist Compare price Buy

Love Monster
Rachel Bright
No one likes a funny-looking monster with sticking-out teeth and staring, googly eyes – especially if he lives in Cutesville, the home of cuddly bunnies and fluffy kitties. Poor Monster! Will he find happiness? He just needs one person to...
Lovereading Price: £5.59 - Saving £1.40 (20%) Featured in: Baby and Toddler | 3+ readers
Format: Board book | Released 01/01/2015
Info Extract Wishlist Compare price Buy

Walter and the No-Need-to-Worry Suit
Rachel Bright
Introducing the first fantastic tale from the Wonderful World of Walter and Winnie - an enchanting new picture book. We all worry. But nobody worries quite like Walter. Unique picture book talent Rachel Bright has created the wacky world of...
Lovereading Price: £5.59 - Saving £1.40 (20%) Featured in: 3+ readers
Format: Paperback | Released 30/08/2012
Info Extract Wishlist Compare price Buy

Love Monster
Rachel Bright
No one likes a funny-looking monster with sticking-out teeth and staring, googly eyes – especially if he lives in Cutesville, the home of cuddly bunnies and fluffy kitties. Poor Monster! Will he find happiness? He just needs one person to...
Lovereading Price: £5.59 - Saving £1.40 (20%) Featured in: 3+ readers | 5+ readers
Format: Paperback | Released 05/01/2012
Info Extract Wishlist Compare price Buy

Mine!
Rachel Bright
A light-hearted look at the thorny toddler issue of sharing from the award-winning illustrator Rachel Bright. How the twins Frankie and Fifi work out that sharing is much more fun than not is played out with wit and fun.
Lovereading Price: £5.59 - Saving £1.40 (20%) Featured in: 5+ readers
Format: Paperback | Released 05/05/2011
Info Extract Wishlist Compare price Buy

Loading other books by Rachel Bright...


Author Info

Author's Website

lookonthebrightside.co.uk/

Author's Facebook

Find Rachel Bright on Facebook

Author's Facebook Latest

Did you know

At Lovereading4kids you can download and read an Opening Extract and an online review of books by Rachel Bright and hundreds of other authors.


I have told all my friends, family & teachers to see for themselves just how great the site is. Without fail, they are hugely impressed.

Alexander Boxall – age 11

A great way to introduce kids to great books, authors & genres. Parents can find age-appropriate books to share with their children.

Judi Davies – Aberdare Girls Sch

It’s a community united by a passion for books and promoting the best there is in children’s literature.

Sam Bateman and family

I think Lovereading4kids is an amazing company because of the friendly staff and the fabulous chance to read great books before publication.

Adam Graham

We love Lovereading as my 5 year old loves to read new books before anyone else has a chance, she says it makes reading exciting!

Tracey Chorley

It is THE website to use for narrowing down your search for any book. Definitely knocks the socks off any other book review website.

Nickey and Tomasz Hawryszczuk

Lovereading4kids is great, we get books really early never late. We love to read and review, and think you would like it too. The excitement

Jasmine Harris-Hart, age 12

We love Lovereading4kids because it promotes reading choices, new authors and a sense of community for children of all ages!

Rachel Bridgeman
Lovereading

Lovereading 4 schools