Reader Reviewed The Fish Detective by Chris O'Dowd, Nick Vincent Murphy
  

The Fish Detective

Written by Chris O'Dowd, Nick Vincent Murphy
Part of the Moone Boy Series

9+ readers   11+ readers   eBooks   eBooks   eBooks   
Download an extract Share this book

The Lovereading4Kids comment

One of our Books of the Year 2015 - November 2015 Book of the Month Here we have another episode in the life of hapless eleven-year-old Martin Moone, related by his imaginary best-friend and sidekick Sean Murphy in as fine a free-fall stream-of-consciousness narrative as you could hope for, full of asides, tangents and footnotes! Christmas is coming but money in the Moone household is tight, and Martin realises he’s going to have to buy his own Gameboy (it’s the 1980s). This means getting a job and he’s taken on in her butcher’s shop by his friend’s aunty. Something fishy is going on in Francie ‘Touchy’ Feeley’s Fishatorium over the road, and it’s not just the themed ‘diorama’ window displays. Martin goes undercover to investigate. This is totally nutty, and very, very funny. I love Sean’s helpful explanations of Moone/Irish life: ‘WHISHT – the Irish equivalent of ‘Shush’, but a bit wetter, like most things Irish.’ ~ Andrea Reece

And you can catch Moone Boy in his own tv series on Sky 1 starring co-writer and Hollywood actor Chris O'Dowd - watch a trailer here!

Reader Reviews

Kids love to read and so in addition to our Lovereading expert opinion some of our Lovereading4kids Reader Review Panel were also lucky enough to read and review the first title in the Moone Boy series, The Blunder Years. You can read their full reviews by clicking here.

  • Sidney Greenslade, age 11 - 'A brilliant tale of a hapless boy, his imaginary friend and how they deal with the problems of everyday life in a unique and hilarious way.'
  • Sam Harper, age 11 - 'A brilliantly funny read full of crazy characters, hilarious definitions and cool cartoons. I loved it!'
  • Tomasz Hawryszczuk, age 10 - 'Really funny book and just like the TV series. If you like Wimpy Kid and Tom Gates, you will surely like this too!'
  • Cameron Lobban, age 10 - 'What a funny book! I laughed and laughed but also found the ending sad. I hope this is not the last I have heard of Martin Moone and Sean Murphy.'
  • Sam, age 10 - 'I laughed until I cried - a brilliant book, perfect for reading to cheer yourself up.'
  • Edward, age 10 - 'A total ball! A laugh every page!'
  • William Longlands, age 11 - '7/10 I liked the plot but would not read it again.'
  • Lola Thurston-Mathews, age 8 - 'Martin is tired of living in a family full of girls and really wants a wingman.  When his best friend Padraic tells him about imaginary friends he becomes desperate to find one.'

Win a Family Break to Salisbury!

Don’t miss out! Enter to win a family break to Salisbury!

Here at Lovereading.co.uk and Lovereading4kids.co.uk we are delighted to be giving you a chance to win a wonderful family break. You could see yourself indulging in the finest food and slumbering comfortably into one of the grand rooms at The Red Lion Salisbury for two nights. The Red Lion Hotel is located in medieval city of Salisbury, which is home to all your favourite stores as well as independent shops, restaurants, cafes and parks and green spaces. Nearby is Stonehenge, Salisbury Plain and numerous sites of historic and archaeological interest.

There are many seasonal events in Salisbury, and you can find out what’s on here. You will also receive a family ticket to Sir Harold Hillier Gardens, the gardens are especially beautiful in the winter, with bold coloured stems, scents, and fabulous foliage, you can be sure to be impressed. For the children there is also a play park, and you can stop off in the Victorian tea room to warm up and treat yourself to a traditional cream tea.

To have a chance of winning this fantastic prize, click the button below. Please note that this draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once. Entries close 31st January 2018.

Good luck!

Terms and Conditions

Red Lion: Two night stay includes breakfast for two adults and up to two children sharing a family room. Subject to availability and cannot be exchanged or redeemed for cash value. Not to be used in combination with any other offer. Valid until 1st Dec 2018 and excludes bank holidays.

Sir Harold Hillier Gardens: Valid for day entry, Not to be used for special events or group entry. Voucher is not transferable or refundable, no Cash Value. Ticket must be redeemed on entry. Valid until 31 Dec 2018. Gardens open daily from 10am – closed Christmas Day and Boxing Day. Prize admits 2 adults and accompanying children Under 17 FREE to Sir Harold Hillier Gardens.


Enter prize draw Draw closes: 31/01/2018

Synopsis

The Fish Detective by Chris O'Dowd, Nick Vincent Murphy

The second book in a very funny new illustrated-fiction series from the award-winning Bridesmaids and The IT Crowd actor Chris O'Dowd and his long-term friend and Moone Boy TV-scriptwriting collaborator Nick Vincent Murphy. For fans of Wimpy Kid and David Walliams.

Martin's parents are strapped for cash: it's going to be a budget Christmas this year. So Martin plans to buy his own presents - and attempts, unsuccessfully, to get a job. Padraic puts in a word for him with his Auntie Bridget, who runs the local butcher's shop. But her shop is struggling as the fish shop across the road undercuts her and Bridget just can't compete. No one knows how the owner, Francie Feeley, does it - especially since he doesn't seem to employ anyone at his fish factory. No one goes in; no one goes out - it's a mystery.

Intrigued, Martin decides to go undercover and find out the truth, like a fish-mole - or fish detective. Martin infiltrates the factory and discovers that Francie is illegally employing a gang of Brazilian fish-gutters. They're a lot of fun and one of them, Fabio, becomes Martin's good friend. But when Martin is exposed as a spy, he has to choose which side he's on. Will Christmas be ruined for the whole of Boyle?

Reviews

A rollicking good yarn, well written and amusingly illustrated, and will be enjoyed immensely by all who read it. The School Librarian

About the Author

Chris O'Dowd, Nick Vincent Murphy

Chris O'Dowd is an award-winning actor, writer and director. He has appeared in many films, including Bridesmaids, The Sapphires and This Is 40. He has also starred in cult TV series The IT Crowd, Family Tree and Girls, as well as Moone Boy for Sky, which he wrote and directed with his friend Nick Vincent Murphy. Currently rehearsing for the Broadway production of Of Mice and Men with James Franco, he is due to work on Stephen Frears's forthcoming film about Irish journalist David Walsh and cyclist Lance Armstrong, playing the lead role of David Walsh. Chris is from Roscommon, Ireland, but is currently based in LA. He studied politics at Dublin University before training at LAMDA.

Nick Vincent Murphy is an Irish screenwriter from Kilkenny, now based in London. He studied English and History at Trinity College, Dublin, and did a Masters in Film Production at the Dublin Institute of Technology. In 2007 he was a writer on the acclaimed television comedy-drama series The Running Mate, and in 2010 his first feature film, Hideaways, premiered at the Tribeca Film Festival before going on to win the Melies d'Argent Award for Best European Film at the Strasbourg Film Festival. In 2010 he co-wrote a short film, Capturing Santa, with Chris O'Dowd, as part of the Little Crackers series for Sky, which they then developed into comedy series Moone Boy, which recently won an International Emmy for Best Comedy.

More books by this author

Loading similar books...

Other Formats

Book Info

Format

Hardback
336 pages

Author

Chris O'Dowd, Nick Vincent Murphy
More books by Chris O'Dowd, Nick Vincent Murphy

Publisher

Macmillan Children's Books an imprint of Pan Macmillan

Publication date

22nd October 2015

ISBN

9781447270973

Categories


I love ‘LoveReading 4 kids’ because they let you read and learn things you’d never dreamed of learning before.

Emily Horncastle – age 11

I love Lovereading as it provides an honest opinion and showcases a range of fiction. Suited to both parents & kids alike, it’s a must-use.

Georgie Rowe – age 16

We love Lovereading as my 5 year old loves to read new books before anyone else has a chance, she says it makes reading exciting!

Tracey Chorley

I love Lovereading because I often never know what to read and this helps you find a good book. I have recommended this to many people.

Shannon-Louise Masters – age 15

It’s so easy to find the right book for your child. Such an easy-to-use, yet in-depth website. 100% reliable.

Pippa, Jack, Liam & Matthew Wils

Lovereading is just a convenient way to find new books and hear others opinions on them.

Sarah Murray – age 15

I am so pleased to have signed my kids up as they are reading a much wider range of books and even choosing books out of their comfort zone.

Angela East

Lovereading4kids is great, we get books really early never late. We love to read and review, and think you would like it too. The excitement

Jasmine Harris-Hart, age 12
Lovereading

Lovereading 4 schools
****