Reader Reviewed The Fish Detective by Chris O'Dowd, Nick Vincent Murphy

The Fish Detective

Written by Chris O'Dowd, Nick Vincent Murphy
Part of the Moone Boy Series

9+ readers   11+ readers   
Download an extract Add to wishlist Share this book

The Lovereading4Kids comment

One of our Books of the Year 2015 - November 2015 Book of the Month Here we have another episode in the life of hapless eleven-year-old Martin Moone, related by his imaginary best-friend and sidekick Sean Murphy in as fine a free-fall stream-of-consciousness narrative as you could hope for, full of asides, tangents and footnotes! Christmas is coming but money in the Moone household is tight, and Martin realises he’s going to have to buy his own Gameboy (it’s the 1980s). This means getting a job and he’s taken on in her butcher’s shop by his friend’s aunty. Something fishy is going on in Francie ‘Touchy’ Feeley’s Fishatorium over the road, and it’s not just the themed ‘diorama’ window displays. Martin goes undercover to investigate. This is totally nutty, and very, very funny. I love Sean’s helpful explanations of Moone/Irish life: ‘WHISHT – the Irish equivalent of ‘Shush’, but a bit wetter, like most things Irish.’ ~ Andrea Reece

And you can catch Moone Boy in his own tv series on Sky 1 starring co-writer and Hollywood actor Chris O'Dowd - watch a trailer here!

Reader Reviews

Kids love to read and so in addition to our Lovereading expert opinion some of our Lovereading4kids Reader Review Panel were also lucky enough to read and review the first title in the Moone Boy series, The Blunder Years. You can read their full reviews by clicking here.

  • Sidney Greenslade, age 11 - 'A brilliant tale of a hapless boy, his imaginary friend and how they deal with the problems of everyday life in a unique and hilarious way.'
  • Sam Harper, age 11 - 'A brilliantly funny read full of crazy characters, hilarious definitions and cool cartoons. I loved it!'
  • Tomasz Hawryszczuk, age 10 - 'Really funny book and just like the TV series. If you like Wimpy Kid and Tom Gates, you will surely like this too!'
  • Cameron Lobban, age 10 - 'What a funny book! I laughed and laughed but also found the ending sad. I hope this is not the last I have heard of Martin Moone and Sean Murphy.'
  • Sam, age 10 - 'I laughed until I cried - a brilliant book, perfect for reading to cheer yourself up.'
  • Edward, age 10 - 'A total ball! A laugh every page!'
  • William Longlands, age 11 - '7/10 I liked the plot but would not read it again.'
  • Lola Thurston-Mathews, age 8 - 'Martin is tired of living in a family full of girls and really wants a wingman.  When his best friend Padraic tells him about imaginary friends he becomes desperate to find one.'


The Fish Detective by Chris O'Dowd, Nick Vincent Murphy

The second book in a very funny new illustrated-fiction series from the award-winning Bridesmaids and The IT Crowd actor Chris O'Dowd and his long-term friend and Moone Boy TV-scriptwriting collaborator Nick Vincent Murphy. For fans of Wimpy Kid and David Walliams.

Martin's parents are strapped for cash: it's going to be a budget Christmas this year. So Martin plans to buy his own presents - and attempts, unsuccessfully, to get a job. Padraic puts in a word for him with his Auntie Bridget, who runs the local butcher's shop. But her shop is struggling as the fish shop across the road undercuts her and Bridget just can't compete. No one knows how the owner, Francie Feeley, does it - especially since he doesn't seem to employ anyone at his fish factory. No one goes in; no one goes out - it's a mystery.

Intrigued, Martin decides to go undercover and find out the truth, like a fish-mole - or fish detective. Martin infiltrates the factory and discovers that Francie is illegally employing a gang of Brazilian fish-gutters. They're a lot of fun and one of them, Fabio, becomes Martin's good friend. But when Martin is exposed as a spy, he has to choose which side he's on. Will Christmas be ruined for the whole of Boyle?

About the Author

Chris O'Dowd, Nick Vincent Murphy

Chris O'Dowd is an award-winning actor, writer and director. He has appeared in many films, including Bridesmaids, The Sapphires and This Is 40. He has also starred in cult TV series The IT Crowd, Family Tree and Girls, as well as Moone Boy for Sky, which he wrote and directed with his friend Nick Vincent Murphy. Currently rehearsing for the Broadway production of Of Mice and Men with James Franco, he is due to work on Stephen Frears's forthcoming film about Irish journalist David Walsh and cyclist Lance Armstrong, playing the lead role of David Walsh. Chris is from Roscommon, Ireland, but is currently based in LA. He studied politics at Dublin University before training at LAMDA.

Nick Vincent Murphy is an Irish screenwriter from Kilkenny, now based in London. He studied English and History at Trinity College, Dublin, and did a Masters in Film Production at the Dublin Institute of Technology. In 2007 he was a writer on the acclaimed television comedy-drama series The Running Mate, and in 2010 his first feature film, Hideaways, premiered at the Tribeca Film Festival before going on to win the Melies d'Argent Award for Best European Film at the Strasbourg Film Festival. In 2010 he co-wrote a short film, Capturing Santa, with Chris O'Dowd, as part of the Little Crackers series for Sky, which they then developed into comedy series Moone Boy, which recently won an International Emmy for Best Comedy.

More books by this author

Loading similar books...

Other Formats

Book Info


336 pages
Interest Age: From 8


Chris O'Dowd, Nick Vincent Murphy
More books by Chris O'Dowd, Nick Vincent Murphy


Macmillan Children's Books an imprint of Pan Macmillan

Publication date

22nd October 2015




Writing reviews help the children with their literacy skills and we always read the books together which gives us good quality family time!

Cat Bisland (on behalf of the Bi

I love Lovereading as it provides an honest opinion and showcases a range of fiction. Suited to both parents & kids alike, it’s a must-use.

Georgie Rowe – age 16

It’s a community united by a passion for books and promoting the best there is in children’s literature.

Sam Bateman and family

I love lovereading4kids because I’ve read amazing books I would never have picked up, and its opened doors to new genre’s I now love.

Harriet Cunningham

It gives me a chance to read types of books that I would not normally try, and it motivates me to read every night to finish it!

Alice Horncastle, age 14

I love Lovereading4kids because I get an opportunity to put my opinion forward and to try new books

Elosie Clarkson – age 11

It’s really exciting to read and review new books, thrilling to see my reviews online and I love finding the final published copies on sale.

Sam Harper – age 10

We love Lovereading4kids because it promotes reading choices, new authors and a sense of community for children of all ages!

Rachel Bridgeman

Lovereading 4 schools