Reborn by Alex Scarrow
  

Reborn

Written by Alex Scarrow
Part of the REMADE Series

13+ readers   eBooks   Summer Reading   

RRP £6.99

Download an extract Share this book

The Lovereading4Kids comment

This feverishly fast-paced apocalyptic thriller, sequel to Remade, packs a seriously strong pathological punch. It’s eighteen months on from the horrific events recounted in Remade (“People dying in the goddamm street”, flesh coming away from their bones “like casserole beef from a T-bone”) and it looks like the devastating virus has been killed off. A further lifeline is thrown when Leon and Freya, “a pair of lonely scavengers”, see a message bearing news that civilian and naval vessels are waiting for survivors in Southampton, with medical and emergency supplies aboard. While “glass-half-empty type” Leon reckons that this rescue ship news might be old, “always upbeat, always optimistic” Freya thinks it’s worth investigating. But it’s not long before their worst nightmare re-rears its unimaginably ugly head…The virus is back, reborn in an evolved state with even greater powers of intelligence. The fight is on, and the stakes could not be higher.

Ideal for fans of Darren Shan’s Zom-B books, and shows like The Walking Dead, this pithy page-turner is sure to set readers’ heart a-pounding and brains a-boggling. It’s tense, taut and tantalisingly twisty throughout, and the action couldn’t be more in-your-face-thrilling. ~ Joanne Owen

Reader Reviews

Some of our Lovereading4kids Reader Review Panel were lucky enough to read and review the first in this series, Remade. You can read their full reviews by clicking here.

  • Edel Waugh - 'Terrifying and thought provoking and guaranteed to keep you up at night reading to the very last page!'
  • Humaira Kauser, age 18 - 'Remade reminded me a little bit of The Maze Runner and CW's Containment but had an extra edge and thrill...gripping, hard to put down and gave me a thrill that isn't easy to forget.'
  • Phoebe Allen - 'A book that gets your heart racing, your brain working overtime and your heart hoping that our world never experiences the horror of Scarrow's imagination!'
  • Izzy Read, age 15 - 'Remade is suspenseful, heart wrenching and screaming for a sequel.      
  • Reuben Cobb, age 13 - 'This book is very tense and always made me want to read more...what a wonderful thriller.'
  • Eloise Mae Clarkson, age 14 - 'This book is full of plot twists which were a shock. I hope there will more books to follow the story.'
  • Jess Anderson, age 13 - 'A high paced, very topical book which was impossible to put down...absolutely fantastic.'
  • Sophia Ufton - 'What a fantastic story, the plot was amazing! I loved reading this book and hope the author does more.'
  • Mariam Ahmed, age 18 - 'so creepy and convincing that I awoke in the dark of the night with images of those scuttling crustaceans at the forefront of my mind.'
  • Khadijah Ahmed - 'This book has filled the gap other apocalyptic treats, such as The Last of Us and I Am Legend, left in my life.'
  • Phoebe Doherty-Ozobiane, age 14 - 'By far one of my favourite apocalyptic novels with plot twists and unholy cliffhangers at every turn...5 out of 5.'
  • Lauren Coffman, age 16 - 'I loved this book, and couldn’t put it down. The characters were interesting, the story was thrilling and Scarrow’s writing, as well as the science behind it made it feel extremely real.' 

Synopsis

Reborn by Alex Scarrow

Eighteen months have passed since the events of REMADE. Leon and Freya have seen no sign of the virus, clinging on to the hope that two hard winters may have just killed it off. When news of a rescue ship arriving off the coast comes in, the pair are on the move once again. But all is not as safe as it seems. The virus has been busy. It has learned and evolved. And now it is reborn...

Reviews

Praise for Remade:

A superb doomsday thriller for children - this is Stephen King suitably toned down for younger readers - edge of your seat stuff, brilliantly written... -- Books Monthly

Tingling with tension, super-charged and fast-paced, there won't be a second to lose until the last page has turned... -- Pam Norfolk Lancashire Evening Post

Crisply and confidently written and never less than compelling even in its ickier sequences, Remade is unreservedly recommended - but for youngsters and adults with strong stomachs and sturdy constitutions only Starburst Magazine

Remade was an addictive, intense book that I just could not put down. A great start to the series, and you can bet I'll be looking for a copy of book 2 when it comes out! -- Geeky Zoo Girl Blog

The theme of survival in a post-apocalyptic world is a familiar one but the twists in this story, which is packed with contemporary detail and just enough real science to validate it, make it so close to convincing that even cynical readers may be unnerved. -- BookTrust

About the Author

Alex Scarrow

Alex Scarrow used to be a rock guitarist. After ten years in various unsuccessful bands, he ended up working in the computer games industry as a lead games designer. He is now a full-time writer. Alex is the author of the bestselling TimeRiders series, published by Puffin, which has been sold into over thirty foreign territories. TimeRiders won a Red House Children's Book Award, the Catalyst Award and the Hampshire Book Award, and was a finalist for the Galaxy Children's Book of the Year.

He lives in Norwich with his son, Jacob and his wife, Frances. In his spare time he snowboards, sails, writes music and walks his yappy Jack Russell, Max. He is also very active on Twitter and Facebook.

More books by this author

Loading similar books...

Other Formats

Book Info

Format

Paperback
416 pages

Author

Alex Scarrow
More books by Alex Scarrow

Author's Website

www.scarrow.co.uk/

Author's Facebook Latest

Publisher

Macmillan Children's Books an imprint of Pan Macmillan

Publication date

29th June 2017

ISBN

9781509811229

Categories


I love Lovereading as it provides an honest opinion and showcases a range of fiction. Suited to both parents & kids alike, it’s a must-use.

Georgie Rowe – age 16

It gives me a chance to read types of books that I would not normally try, and it motivates me to read every night to finish it!

Alice Horncastle, age 14

I think Lovereading4kids is an amazing company because of the friendly staff and the fabulous chance to read great books before publication.

Adam Graham

It has introduced my children to books we hadn’t come across before. Real children’s reviews gives a great insight into what others think to

Lorraine Woods

I love lovereading4kids because I’ve read amazing books I would never have picked up, and its opened doors to new genre’s I now love.

Harriet Cunningham

It’s a community united by a passion for books and promoting the best there is in children’s literature.

Sam Bateman and family

It is THE website to use for narrowing down your search for any book. Definitely knocks the socks off any other book review website.

Nickey and Tomasz Hawryszczuk

At @HHSHaringey we love @lovereading4kids because our pupils can practice reviewing & get free upcoming books before anyone else!

Helen Swinyard – Heartlands High
Lovereading

Lovereading 4 schools
****