Reader Reviewed Judy Moody: Around the World in 8 1/2 Days by Megan McDonald
  

Judy Moody: Around the World in 8 1/2 Days

Written by Megan McDonald
Illustrated by Peter H. Reynolds
Part of the Judy Moody Series

9+ readers   7+ readers   
Download an extract Share this book

The Lovereading4Kids comment

Another day. Another mood. Meet Judy Moody at her moodiest best, in this laugh-a-minute seventh adventure in the international bestselling series.

Reader Reviews

In addition to our Lovereading expert opinion some of our Lovereading Kids Reader Review Panel members were also lucky enough to read and review the first title in the series, Judy Moody. You can read their full reviews by clicking here.

  • Lucy Collings, age 7 - 'Be introduced to Judy Moody and find out all the funny things she gets up to!'
  • Lucy's mum - 'The book is split into short chapters which makes it easy to follow and there are lots of drawings as well.'
  • Amatullah Khatun, age 7 - 'We will definitely be looking out for more Judy Moody titles. A sassy girl who isn't afraid to speak her mind...easy to read and hilarious.'
  • Rob, age 8 - 'An easy to read book which is quite funny.'
  • Prisha Yadav, age 8 - 'Interesting book with lots of moods. I think that all children would love this book as it has a different storyline.'
  • Christy Olowookere, age 9, Baring Primary School - 'The illustrations are amazing and I’m pretty sure this book will put you in a good mood.  I loved it all.'
  • Imogen Beverley, age 8 - 'Judy Moody gets into a terrible state about lots of things with hilarious results. Read all about it in Megan McDonald’s hilarious story...a funny and entertaining story.'
  • Sam Radford, age 7 - 'It made me laugh, and I love Judy’s pranks! She is really cheeky.'
  • Connie, age 8 - 'Judy Moody is a fun book. It's good because it's like a diary of her life. Judy is a funny fun girl. The pictures also make the book fun to read.'
  • Sarah, Y8, Thorp Academy - 'It is the first Judy Moody book I have read but I would really like to read others from the series. I would recommend this to readers 10-13 years old.'

Synopsis

Judy Moody: Around the World in 8 1/2 Days by Megan McDonald

Judy Moody is about to go around the world from the comfort of her classroom in the seventh book in the internationally popular and bestselling series, perfect for fans of Clarice Bean, Penny Dreadful and Agatha Parrot. The new girl at school is so similar to Judy they are practically clones! Amy Namey is a member of the "way-cool" My-Name-Is-A-Poem Club, and what's more, she sounds just like Judy and likes the same things as her, too. Judy is meant to be doing an Around-the-World class project on Italy with her best-ever friends Rocky and Frank Pearl. But with so much time spent thinking about Amy, Judy's old friends start to feel left out...

About the Author

Megan McDonald

As a child: “Sometimes I think I am Judy Moody,” says Megan McDonald, author of the award-winning Judy Moody books. “I’m certainly moody, like she is. Judy has a strong voice and always speaks up for herself. I like that.” Being able to speak up for herself wasn’t always easy. Megan grew up as the youngest of five sisters, in a house full of books in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania. Her father, an ironworker, built bridges across the city and was known to his co-workers as ‘Little Johnny the Storyteller.’ Every evening at dinnertime, the McDonald family would gather around the kitchen table, talking and telling stories. But with four older sisters, Megan remembers barely being able to get a word in edgeways. “I’m told I began to stutter with the effort of trying to keep up,” she says. “That’s when my mother gave me a notebook, so that I could write down everything I wanted to say instead!”

Things you didn't know about Megan McDonald
1. She begins writing each book on a napkin.
2. Her favourite book as a child was Harriet the Spy by Louise Fitzhugh.
3. She is a lifetime member of the real Toad Pee Club!
4. When she was born the fifth girl in her family, the doctor yelled, “It’s a boy!” for a joke.
5. She loves ice cream so much (especially Screamin’ Mimi’s) that she once fell over chasing the ice cream van and had to have stitches!
6. She has two dogs, two horses, and fifteen wild turkeys that land on her roof to wake her up every morning.
7. The Rubber Hand Trick is the best joke she ever played on her sisters. Read the first book, Judy Moody, to find out just what it involves!
8. Her middle name is Jo… She once wanted to change her name to Megan Jo Amy-Beth McDonald so it would contain the names of all four Little Women in the book by Louisa May Alcott.
9. As a girl, she collected bugs, fancy toothpicks, scabs and Barbie doll heads!
10. When she worked at a bookstore, she once chased (and caught!) a burglar who stole two bags full of books and tried to get away on his bicycle!

More books by this author

Loading similar books...

Other Formats

Book Info

Format

Paperback
176 pages
Interest Age: From 7 to 9 years

Author

Megan McDonald
More books by Megan McDonald

Author's Website

www.meganmcdonald.net/

Publisher

Walker Books Ltd

Publication date

5th April 2018

ISBN

9781406380743

Categories


I have told all my friends, family & teachers to see for themselves just how great the site is. Without fail, they are hugely impressed.

Alexander Boxall – age 11

It’s really exciting to read and review new books, thrilling to see my reviews online and I love finding the final published copies on sale.

Sam Harper – age 10

It is THE website to use for narrowing down your search for any book. Definitely knocks the socks off any other book review website.

Nickey and Tomasz Hawryszczuk

Writing reviews help the children with their literacy skills and we always read the books together which gives us good quality family time!

Cat Bisland (on behalf of the Bi

We love Lovereading4kids because they put books in front of us we wouldn’t otherwise have read. They make us more adventurous readers!

Emily Jacques

I love Lovereading4kids because I get an opportunity to put my opinion forward and to try new books

Elosie Clarkson – age 11

It is fantastic, you get to read lots of books and you always find something new and amazing in them.

Erica Motoc, age 7

We love Lovereading4kids because they put books in front of us we wouldn’t otherwise have read. They make us more adventurous readers!

Emily Jacques
Lovereading

Lovereading 4 schools
****