LoveReading4Kids

Becoming a member of the LoveReading4Kids community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unconditional book loving for your children with their favourites saved to their own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop plus lots lots more...

Find out more

Megan McDonald - Author

About the Author

As a child: “Sometimes I think I am Judy Moody,” says Megan McDonald, author of the award-winning Judy Moody books. “I’m certainly moody, like she is. Judy has a strong voice and always speaks up for herself. I like that.” Being able to speak up for herself wasn’t always easy. Megan grew up as the youngest of five sisters, in a house full of books in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania. Her father, an ironworker, built bridges across the city and was known to his co-workers as ‘Little Johnny the Storyteller.’ Every evening at dinnertime, the McDonald family would gather around the kitchen table, talking and telling stories. But with four older sisters, Megan remembers barely being able to get a word in edgeways. “I’m told I began to stutter with the effort of trying to keep up,” she says. “That’s when my mother gave me a notebook, so that I could write down everything I wanted to say instead!”

Things you didn't know about Megan McDonald
   1. She begins writing each book on a napkin.
   2. Her favourite book as a child was Harriet the Spy by Louise Fitzhugh.
   3. She is a lifetime member of the real Toad Pee Club!
   4. When she was born the fifth girl in her family, the doctor yelled, “It’s a boy!” for a joke.
   5. She loves ice cream so much (especially Screamin’ Mimi’s) that she once fell over chasing the ice cream van and had to have stitches!
   6. She has two dogs, two horses, and fifteen wild turkeys that land on her roof to wake her up every morning.
   7. The Rubber Hand Trick is the best joke she ever played on her sisters. Read the first book, Judy Moody, to find out just what it involves!
   8. Her middle name is Jo… She once wanted to change her name to Megan Jo Amy-Beth McDonald so it would contain the names of all four Little Women in the book by Louisa May Alcott.
   9. As a girl, she collected bugs, fancy toothpicks, scabs and Barbie doll heads!
  10. When she worked at a bookstore, she once chased (and caught!) a burglar who stole two bags full of books and tried to get away on his bicycle!

Featured books by Megan McDonald

Other books by Megan McDonald

Stink and the Hairy Scary Spider

Stink and the Hairy Scary Spider

Author: Megan McDonald Illustrator: Peter H. Reynolds Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 02/09/2021

Everyone knows that Stink is bonkers about most scientific things. But there's one exception: dangle a spider in front of him and he goes berserk! Stink is so freaked out by spiders that he can't read about them. He can't look at them. He can't think about them. But when a hairy backyard emergency arises, Stink is forced to face his fear - and eight beady eyes - head-on.

Judy Moody Saves the World!

Judy Moody Saves the World!

Author: Megan McDonald Illustrator: Peter H. Reynolds Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 03/06/2021

Judy Moody is in the mood to save the world in the third book from the internationally popular and bestselling series, perfect for fans of Jacqueline Wilson and Lauren Child. Judy's learning about the environment at school. When she hears about the threats to the rainforest and endangered species - not to mention her own family's poor recycling habits - Judy's determined to whip the planet into shape!

Judy Moody Gets Famous!

Judy Moody Gets Famous!

Author: Megan McDonald Illustrator: Peter H. Reynolds Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 03/06/2021

Good moods, bad moods, can't-stand-Jessica-Finch moods - humour fans will love Judy's latest mood in her second book in the internationally bestselling series. Judy's in a jealous mood - jealous of Jessica Finch, who has got her picture on the front page of the newspaper. So Judy sets off in pursuit of her own fame and fortune, or at the very least, something to add to the Moody Hall of Fame. But she'd better watch out - all her efforts could just end up making her more infamous than ever!

Judy Moody: Around the World in 8 1/2 Days

Judy Moody: Around the World in 8 1/2 Days

Author: Megan McDonald Illustrator: Peter H. Reynolds Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 03/06/2021

Judy Moody is about to go around the world from the comfort of her classroom in the seventh book in the internationally popular and bestselling series. The new girl at school is so similar to Judy they are practically clones! Amy Namey is a member of the way-cool My-Name-Is-A-Poem Club, and what's more, she sounds just like Judy and likes the same things as her, too. Judy is meant to be doing an Around-the-World class project on Italy with her best-ever friends Rocky and Frank Pearl. But with so much time spent thinking about Amy, Judy's old friends start to feel left out...

Judy Moody, Super Book Whiz

Judy Moody, Super Book Whiz

Author: Megan McDonald Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 05/03/2020

Judy Moody is in it to win it. The Virginia Dare Bookworms are reading up a storm to prepare for the book quiz. Judy's trying out all kinds of tricks: from hanging upside down like Pippi Longstocking to teaching herself to speed read The Princess in Black; even Stink has covered a cape in sticky notes to help him remember all the answers! They may have super reading skills, but who knows when a serious case of brain freeze will strike! Will the Bookworms be as cool as cucumbers or freeze up on the big day?

Judy Moody

Judy Moody

Author: Megan McDonald Illustrator: Peter H. Reynolds Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 05/03/2020

Another day. Another mood. Meet Judy Moody at her moodiest-best, in this laugh-a-minute first adventure in the international bestselling series. Perfect for fans of Jacqueline Wilson's younger fiction and Clarice Bean, this hilarious book is the first installment in the internationally popular and bestselling series by Megan McDonald, illustrated by Peter H. Reynolds. Bad moods, good moods, even back-to-school moods - Judy has them all! Meet Judy Moody, her little bother Stink, her best friend Rocky and her pest friend Frank Pearl. Judy has a mood for every occasion, but when a new teacher gives the class a Me collage project, Judy has so much fun that she nearly forgets to be moody at all!

Judy Moody: Twice as Moody

Judy Moody: Twice as Moody

Author: Megan McDonald Illustrator: Peter H. Reynolds Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 07/11/2019

Jump-start a Judy Moody collection with this uber-cool compilation of the first two adventures in the series. As more and more kids are feeling the Moody mania, it's time to offer a head start on the adventures that earned the feisty third-grader a place in readers' hearts. In Judy Moody, Mr Todd assigns his class a special Me Project and Judy really gets a chance to express herself! In Judy Moody Gets Famous! a determined Judy is out to find fame and happiness, but will she become more infamous than ever?

Judy Moody and the Right Royal Tea Party

Judy Moody and the Right Royal Tea Party

Author: Megan McDonald Illustrator: Peter H. Reynolds Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 05/09/2019

Another day. Another mood. Meet Judy Moody at her moodiest-best, in this laugh-a-minute fourteenth adventure in the international bestselling series. Bad moods, good moods, even right-royal-tea moods - Judy has them all in this brand new adventure, perfect for fans of Jacqueline Wilson and Lauren Child. With Grandma Lou's help, Judy has dug up proof that some old-timey Moodys lived in merry olde England. In fact, if her grandpa's notes are right, Judy might even be related to - royal fanfare, please - the Queen herself! But then Judy's family tree gets a few more shakes and some more surprises come tumbling out. Now Judy has some right royal family secrets she'd like to keep hidden away, especially from Jessica, the princess in pink!

Author Info

Author's Website

https://www.meganmcdonald.net/

Twitter Updates

If this is your author page then you can share your Twitter updates with your readers right here on LoveReading

Find out more

Facebook Updates

If this is your author page then you can share your Facebook updates with your readers right here on LoveReading

Find out more
LoveReading
LoveWriting
LoveReading4Schools
CHECK OUT OUR INDIE AND SELF PUBLISHED BOOK REVIEW AND PROMOTION SERVICE    Read More
×