LoveReading4Kids

Becoming a member of the LoveReading4Kids community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unconditional book loving for your children with their favourites saved to their own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop plus lots lots more...

Find out more

Megan McDonald - Author

About the Author

As a child: “Sometimes I think I am Judy Moody,” says Megan McDonald, author of the award-winning Judy Moody books. “I’m certainly moody, like she is. Judy has a strong voice and always speaks up for herself. I like that.” Being able to speak up for herself wasn’t always easy. Megan grew up as the youngest of five sisters, in a house full of books in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania. Her father, an ironworker, built bridges across the city and was known to his co-workers as ‘Little Johnny the Storyteller.’ Every evening at dinnertime, the McDonald family would gather around the kitchen table, talking and telling stories. But with four older sisters, Megan remembers barely being able to get a word in edgeways. “I’m told I began to stutter with the effort of trying to keep up,” she says. “That’s when my mother gave me a notebook, so that I could write down everything I wanted to say instead!”

Things you didn't know about Megan McDonald
   1. She begins writing each book on a napkin.
   2. Her favourite book as a child was Harriet the Spy by Louise Fitzhugh.
   3. She is a lifetime member of the real Toad Pee Club!
   4. When she was born the fifth girl in her family, the doctor yelled, “It’s a boy!” for a joke.
   5. She loves ice cream so much (especially Screamin’ Mimi’s) that she once fell over chasing the ice cream van and had to have stitches!
   6. She has two dogs, two horses, and fifteen wild turkeys that land on her roof to wake her up every morning.
   7. The Rubber Hand Trick is the best joke she ever played on her sisters. Read the first book, Judy Moody, to find out just what it involves!
   8. Her middle name is Jo… She once wanted to change her name to Megan Jo Amy-Beth McDonald so it would contain the names of all four Little Women in the book by Louisa May Alcott.
   9. As a girl, she collected bugs, fancy toothpicks, scabs and Barbie doll heads!
  10. When she worked at a bookstore, she once chased (and caught!) a burglar who stole two bags full of books and tried to get away on his bicycle!

Featured books by Megan McDonald

Other books by Megan McDonald

Judy Moody: Twice as Moody

Judy Moody: Twice as Moody

Author: Megan McDonald Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 07/11/2019

Jump-start a Judy Moody collection with this uber-cool compilation of the first two adventures in the series. As more and more kids are feeling the Moody mania, it's time to offer a head start on the adventures that earned the feisty third-grader a place in readers' hearts. In Judy Moody, Mr Todd assigns his class a special Me Project and Judy really gets a chance to express herself! In Judy Moody Gets Famous! a determined Judy is out to find fame and happiness, but will she become more infamous than ever?

Judy Moody, Super Book Whiz

Judy Moody, Super Book Whiz

Author: Megan McDonald Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 01/10/2019

Judy Moody is in it to win it. The Virginia Dare Bookworms are reading up a storm to prepare for the book quiz. Judy's trying out all kinds of tricks: from hanging upside down like Pippi Longstocking to teaching herself to speed read The Princess in Black; even Stink has covered a cape in sticky notes to help him remember all the answers! They may have super reading skills, but who knows when a serious case of brain freeze will strike! Will the Bookworms be as cool as cucumbers or freeze up on the big day?

Judy Moody and the Right Royal Tea Party

Judy Moody and the Right Royal Tea Party

Author: Megan McDonald Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 05/09/2019

Another day. Another mood. Meet Judy Moody at her moodiest-best, in this laugh-a-minute fourteenth adventure in the international bestselling series. Bad moods, good moods, even right-royal-tea moods - Judy has them all in this brand new adventure, perfect for fans of Jacqueline Wilson and Lauren Child. With Grandma Lou's help, Judy has dug up proof that some old-timey Moodys lived in merry olde England. In fact, if her grandpa's notes are right, Judy might even be related to - royal fanfare, please - the Queen herself! But then Judy's family tree gets a few more shakes and some more surprises come tumbling out. Now Judy has some right royal family secrets she'd like to keep hidden away, especially from Jessica, the princess in pink!

Judy Moody, Mood Martian

Judy Moody, Mood Martian

Author: Megan McDonald Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 06/09/2018

Another day. Another mood. Meet Judy Moody at her moodiest-best, in this laugh-a-minute twelfth adventure in the international bestselling series. On Backwards Day Judy Moody double-dares herself to become Queen of the Good Mood. Soon she's turning her frown upside down, making lemonade out of lemons and even being nice to her little brother. In fact, Judy becomes a NOT moody, cool-as-a-cucumber neat freak for one whole entire day. But when her combed hair, matching outfits and good moods hang around for days after, her friends begin to worry. Could this smiley Judy be an imposter?

Judy Moody and the Bucket List

Judy Moody and the Bucket List

Author: Megan McDonald Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 06/09/2018

Another day. Another mood. Meet Judy Moody at her moodiest-best, in this laugh-a-minute thirteenth adventure in the international bestselling series. When Judy discovers Grandma Lou's Bucket List , she comes up with her own list of things to accomplish before the Fourth Grade. That list leads Judy into an array of outlandish situations, and Judy can't help but wonder what it means that her grandmother's list is nearly complete.

Judy Moody and the NOT Bummer Summer

Judy Moody and the NOT Bummer Summer

Author: Megan McDonald Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 06/09/2018

Prepare for the Judy Moodiest summer ever in in this laugh-a-minute tenth adventure in the international bestselling series. Roar! It's bad enough that Mum and Dad are heading to California, leaving Judy and Stink with Aunt Awful (er, Opal), but now Judy's two best friends are going splitsville on her too. Just when it looks like her summer is going to be boring-with-a-capital B, eureka! Judy (with some help from Aunt Opal) comes up with the most thrill-a-delic plan ever. Get ready for tightrope walking, roller coaster riding, a treasure hunt to find Judy's teacher, a midnight stakeout, a runaway ice-cream truck and a hunt for Bigfoot.

Judy Moody, Girl Detective

Judy Moody, Girl Detective

Author: Megan McDonald Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 06/09/2018

Meet Judy Moody at her moodiest-best, in this laugh-a-minute ninth adventure in the international bestselling series. Judy is in a sleuthing, Nancy Drew kind of mood. So what's a WBMS (world's best mystery solver) to do? Go find a mystery, that's what! And she doesn't have to snoop for long: when Mr Chips, a beloved crime-dog-in-training, goes missing, Judy Drewdy and her chums, Agents Dills Pickle (Frank), Spuds Houdini (Rocky) and James Madagascar (Stink) find themselves in a real, honest-to-jeepers mystery. Watch out for red herrings - and clever references to classic Nancy Drew mysteries - as Eagle Eye Moody and company are hot on the case!

Judy Moody Goes to College

Judy Moody Goes to College

Author: Megan McDonald Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 06/09/2018

Another day. Another mood. Meet Judy Moody at her moodiest-best, in this laugh-a-minute eighth adventure in the international bestselling series. Judy Moody's maths skills need improving (not to mention her attitude!) in the eighth book in the internationally bestselling series, perfect for fans of Jacqueline Wilson, Judy Blume and Lauren Child. Judy doesn't want to see a private maths tutor. But when Judy meets her tutor - a crucial college student with an uber-funky sense of style - and gets a glimpse of college life, her attitude soon changes. Before long she's acing her maths tests. Say goodbye to Judy Moody, and hello to Ms College.

Author Info

Author's Website

https://www.meganmcdonald.net/

Twitter Updates

If this is your author page then you can share your Twitter updates with your readers right here on LoveReading

Find out more

Facebook Updates

If this is your author page then you can share your Facebook updates with your readers right here on LoveReading

Find out more
LoveReading
LoveWriting
LoveReading4Schools
NEW INDIE AND SELF PUBLISHED BOOK REVIEW AND PROMOTION SERVICE LAUNCHED!    Read More
×