Baby's First Bank Heist by Jim (De Montfort University, UK) Whalley
  

Baby's First Bank Heist

Written by Jim (De Montfort University, UK) Whalley
Illustrated by Stephen Collins

3+ readers   5+ readers   Summer Reading   
Download an extract Share this book

The Lovereading4Kids comment

Baby Frank, immediately distinctive in a stripy black and white Babygro, wants a pet. In fact he really, really wants a pet. But his parents won’t allow it, pets are too expensive to keep they say. It leaves Frank with just one option and he becomes a bank robber! Soon he has all the pets he ever wanted, from a meerkat to a rhino, and his parents finally notice. Children will love Frank’s logic and naughtiness and it’s hard to say which illustrations are more fun: the bank heists or the hidden menagerie. Jim Whalley narrates it all in suitably deadpan rhyme while Steve Collins’s witty, expressive illustrations will delight young and old. Great fun! ~ Andrea Reece

Synopsis

Baby's First Bank Heist by Jim (De Montfort University, UK) Whalley

Baby Frank's parents say that he can't have a pet - `Pets are for older kids', `Be happy with your teddy', `They cost too much to keep' - which leaves Baby Frank with a BIG problem because he REALLY wants a pet. What's a baby to do ... ? Rob a bank, of course! But will money buy Baby Frank the fluffy pet he so desperately wants?

This is a major new partnership - Stephen Collins, cartoonist in Guardian Weekend magazine, and Jim Whalley, an exciting debut author. It's Burglar Bill for a whole new generation and is perfect for fans of Chris Haughton, Rob Biddulph and Jon Klassen.

About the Author

Jim Whalley went to UEA with the intention of writing daft stories but got sidetracked into student journalism and academia. He ended up with PhD in Film Studies and got back to writing stories in his spare time. He eventually quit academia because the stories were more fun, a move he justified by also renovating a house. He now lives in that house in Yorkshire with his wife and two children, Fletch and Charlie. Stephen Collins is an illustrator and cartoonist who lives in Hertfordshire with his wife and two children, Frank and George. His work has appeared in many publications worldwide, and he has a weekly comic in Guardian Weekend magazine. In 2013 Jonathan Cape published his debut graphic novel The Gigantic Beard That Was Evil, which was shortlisted for the Waterstones Book Of The Year award and an Eisner Award. His collection of strips Some Comics was published by Jonathan Cape in October 2014. He is currently working on his second graphic novel, which will be published by Jonathan Cape in 2018.

More books by this author

Loading similar books...

Other Formats

Book Info

Format

Paperback
32 pages

Author

Jim (De Montfort University, UK) Whalley
More books by Jim (De Montfort University, UK) Whalley

Publisher

Bloomsbury Childrens Books an imprint of Bloomsbury Publishing PLC

Publication date

14th June 2018

ISBN

9781408891193

Categories


This company is amazing; not only is it is a great opportunity to get books and review them but everyone is so friendly and supportive!

Jemma Rubens, age 10

We love Lovereading as my 5 year old loves to read new books before anyone else has a chance, she says it makes reading exciting!

Tracey Chorley

I love Lovereading because I often never know what to read and this helps you find a good book. I have recommended this to many people.

Shannon-Louise Masters – age 15

I love lovereading4kids because I’ve read amazing books I would never have picked up, and its opened doors to new genre’s I now love.

Harriet Cunningham

It is THE website to use for narrowing down your search for any book. Definitely knocks the socks off any other book review website.

Nickey and Tomasz Hawryszczuk

I love Lovereading as it provides an honest opinion and showcases a range of fiction. Suited to both parents & kids alike, it’s a must-use.

Georgie Rowe – age 16

It is fantastic, you get to read lots of books and you always find something new and amazing in them.

Erica Motoc, age 7

Lovereading4kids is great, we get books really early never late. We love to read and review, and think you would like it too. The excitement

Jasmine Harris-Hart, age 12
Lovereading

Lovereading 4 schools
****