Baby's First Bank Heist

Written by Jim Whalley

Illustrated by Stephen Collins

Featured Books for 3+ readers Featured Books for 5+ readers Humorous

LoveReading View on Baby's First Bank Heist

Baby Frank, immediately distinctive in a stripy black and white Babygro, wants a pet. In fact he really, really wants a pet. But his parents won’t allow it, pets are too expensive to keep they say. It leaves Frank with just one option and he becomes a bank robber! Soon he has all the pets he ever wanted, from a meerkat to a rhino, and his parents finally notice. Children will love Frank’s logic and naughtiness and it’s hard to say which illustrations are more fun: the bank heists or the hidden menagerie. Jim Whalley narrates it all in suitably deadpan rhyme while Steve Collins’s witty, expressive illustrations will delight young and old. Great fun! 

Andrea Reece

Baby's First Bank Heist Synopsis

Baby Frank's parents say that he can't have a pet - `Pets are for older kids', `Be happy with your teddy', `They cost too much to keep' - which leaves Baby Frank with a BIG problem because he REALLY wants a pet. What's a baby to do ... ? Rob a bank, of course! But will money buy Baby Frank the fluffy pet he so desperately wants?

This is a major new partnership - Stephen Collins, cartoonist in Guardian Weekend magazine, and Jim Whalley, an exciting debut author. It's Burglar Bill for a whole new generation and is perfect for fans of Chris Haughton, Rob Biddulph and Jon Klassen.

If you loved this, you might like these...

Hungry Babies
I Am Bat
Santa Claus vs The Easter Bunny
Anna and Otis

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9781408891193
Publication date: 14/06/2018
Publisher: Bloomsbury Childrens Books an imprint of Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
Format: Paperback

Book Information

ISBN: 9781408891193
Publication date: 14th June 2018
Author: Jim Whalley
Illustrator: Stephen Collins
Publisher: Bloomsbury Childrens Books an imprint of Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 32 pages
Suitable for: 3+ readers, 5+ readers
Genres: Humorous
Other Categories: If They Like...They'll Love, Summer Reading

About Jim Whalley

Jim Whalley went to UEA with the intention of writing daft stories but got sidetracked into student journalism and academia. He ended up with PhD in Film Studies and got back to writing stories in his spare time. He eventually quit academia because the stories were more fun, a move he justified by also renovating a house. He now lives in that house in Yorkshire with his wife and two children, Fletch and Charlie. Stephen Collins is an illustrator and cartoonist who lives in Hertfordshire with his wife and two children, Frank and George. His work has appeared in many ...

More About Jim Whalley

Share this book

LoveReading4Kids Kids Zone

Check out the latest activities in our KidsZone.