The Great Escape by Megan Rix

The Great Escape

Written by Megan Rix

9+ readers   7+ readers   eBooks   
Download an extract Add to wishlist Share this book

The Lovereading4Kids comment

A gripping World War Two story with a remarkable difference. What happened to all the pets left behind when the children of London were evacuated to keep them safe from the bombs? Robert and Lucy’s beloved Buster, Tiger and Rosie are left behind and although their mum tries to find a good home for them, things don’t go according to plan. As the air-raid sirens sound over city, the animals have to come up with their own survival plan. Bravely, they take off on an epic adventure. Based on true facts about the plight of animals in London during the war, this is a deeply moving story which will strike a chord especially with animal lovers.

reader reviews

In addition to our Lovereading expert opinion for The Great Escape we asked a small number of children to read and review this title. Here's a taster....'This book is great for kids aged 9+. It is an adventure story. It is really good. You should try it.'

And scroll down to


The Great Escape by Megan Rix

Buster is a lively Jack Russell. Tiger is a feisty white and ginger tom. Rose is a faithful Collie. Robert and Lucy Edwards love their pets more than anything, but the threat of the Second World War forces them to flee to Devon - leaving their animals behind. And as the air raid sirens sound over London, the frightened animals are sent to be put down. Buster, Tiger and Rose make a daring escape but with danger at every turn, can the trio make it across the country as it prepares for battle - and cheat death for the second time?

A classic story for 9+ emerges in the vein of Michael Morpurgo and The Incredible Journey. Written by the author of The Puppy That Came for Christmas and Stayed Forever.


Ella Howard-Robinson, age 10 - 'This book is great for kids aged 9+. It is an adventure story. It is really good. You should try it.' Click here to read the full review

About the Author

Megan Rix

Megan Rix was born in London and lived in America, Singapore and New Zealand before marrying and moving to the East of England. When not writing she can be found walking by the river with her dogs, Traffy and Bella, who are usually in the river.

More books by this author

Loading similar books...

Other Formats

Book Info


224 pages
Interest Age: From 8


Megan Rix
More books by Megan Rix

Author's Website

Author's Facebook Latest


Puffin Books an imprint of Penguin Books Ltd

Publication date

3rd May 2012




LoveReading4Kids is a modern and creative way of emphasising the value and importance of books in this digital age #booksforlife

Amrit Bunet – Teen

I am so pleased to have signed my kids up as they are reading a much wider range of books and even choosing books out of their comfort zone.

Angela East

Lovereading is just a convenient way to find new books and hear others opinions on them.

Sarah Murray – age 15

I love all the books they recommend & put up for me to review. I also love the fact that they give new authors the chance to share their boo

Daisy Pennock – age 15

Lovereading4kids is great, we get books really early never late. We love to read and review, and think you would like it too. The excitement

Jasmine Harris-Hart, age 12

Writing reviews help the children with their literacy skills and we always read the books together which gives us good quality family time!

Cat Bisland (on behalf of the Bi

We love Lovereading4kids because it promotes reading choices, new authors and a sense of community for children of all ages!

Rachel Bridgeman

I have told all my friends, family & teachers to see for themselves just how great the site is. Without fail, they are hugely impressed.

Alexander Boxall – age 11

Lovereading 4 schools