The Great Escape by Megan Rix
  

The Great Escape

Written by Megan Rix

9+ readers   7+ readers   eBooks   
Download an extract Add to wishlist Share this book

The Lovereading4Kids comment

A gripping World War Two story with a remarkable difference. What happened to all the pets left behind when the children of London were evacuated to keep them safe from the bombs? Robert and Lucy’s beloved Buster, Tiger and Rosie are left behind and although their mum tries to find a good home for them, things don’t go according to plan. As the air-raid sirens sound over city, the animals have to come up with their own survival plan. Bravely, they take off on an epic adventure. Based on true facts about the plight of animals in London during the war, this is a deeply moving story which will strike a chord especially with animal lovers.

reader reviews

In addition to our Lovereading expert opinion for The Great Escape we asked a small number of children to read and review this title. Here's a taster....'This book is great for kids aged 9+. It is an adventure story. It is really good. You should try it.'

And scroll down to read more...

Win four tickets worth £200 to see Running Wild by Michael Morpu

One lucky person has the chance to four win tickets, worth a stuning £200, to see Running Wild at the Regent's Park Open Air Theatre @OpenAirTheatre #OATrunningwild. This season, from the writer of the international phenomenon War Horse, experience the wonder of the Indonesian rainforest in Michael Morpurgo’s Running Wild (13 May – 12 Jun). Find out more / book tickets by clicking here.

For your chance to win the four tickets ticket just click the button below. Please note that this draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once. Draw closes on 3 May 2016. The winners will be notified by 6 May 2016. Good luck!

Terms and Conditions: One winner will receive 4 tickets, (max. 2 adults), subject to availability. No cash alternative. Travel not included. Also the Theatre’s terms and conditions apply, including the weather policy, available at openairtheatre.com/terms, including the weather policy.

running wild


Enter prize draw Draw closes: 03/05/2016

Synopsis

The Great Escape by Megan Rix

Buster is a lively Jack Russell. Tiger is a feisty white and ginger tom. Rose is a faithful Collie. Robert and Lucy Edwards love their pets more than anything, but the threat of the Second World War forces them to flee to Devon - leaving their animals behind. And as the air raid sirens sound over London, the frightened animals are sent to be put down. Buster, Tiger and Rose make a daring escape but with danger at every turn, can the trio make it across the country as it prepares for battle - and cheat death for the second time?

A classic story for 9+ emerges in the vein of Michael Morpurgo and The Incredible Journey. Written by the author of The Puppy That Came for Christmas and Stayed Forever.

Reviews

Ella Howard-Robinson, age 10 - 'This book is great for kids aged 9+. It is an adventure story. It is really good. You should try it.' Click here to read the full review

About the Author

Megan Rix

Megan Rix was born in London and lived in America, Singapore and New Zealand before marrying and moving to the East of England. When not writing she can be found walking by the river with her dogs, Traffy and Bella, who are usually in the river.

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...

Other Formats

Book Info

Format

Paperback
224 pages
Interest Age: From 8

Author

Megan Rix
More books by Megan Rix

Author's Website

www.meganrix.com/

Author's Facebook Latest

Publisher

Puffin Books an imprint of Penguin Books Ltd

Publication date

03/05/2012

ISBN

9780141342719

Categories


We love Lovereading4kids because they put books in front of us we wouldn’t otherwise have read. They make us more adventurous readers!

Emily Jacques

I love Lovereading4kids because I get an opportunity to put my opinion forward and to try new books

Elosie Clarkson – age 11

I have told all my friends, family & teachers to see for themselves just how great the site is. Without fail, they are hugely impressed.

Alexander Boxall – age 11

LoveReading4Kids is a modern and creative way of emphasising the value and importance of books in this digital age #booksforlife

Amrit Bunet – Teen

We love Lovereading4kids because it promotes reading choices, new authors and a sense of community for children of all ages!

Rachel Bridgeman

It’s really exciting to read and review new books, thrilling to see my reviews online and I love finding the final published copies on sale.

Sam Harper – age 10

I think Lovereading4kids is an amazing company because of the friendly staff and the fabulous chance to read great books before publication.

Adam Graham

We love Lovereading as my 5 year old loves to read new books before anyone else has a chance, she says it makes reading exciting!

Tracey Chorley
Lovereading

Lovereading 4 schools