The Great Escape by Megan Rix
  

The Great Escape

Written by Megan Rix

9+ readers   7+ readers   eBooks   
Download an extract Add to wishlist Share this book

The Lovereading4Kids comment

A gripping World War Two story with a remarkable difference. What happened to all the pets left behind when the children of London were evacuated to keep them safe from the bombs? Robert and Lucy’s beloved Buster, Tiger and Rosie are left behind and although their mum tries to find a good home for them, things don’t go according to plan. As the air-raid sirens sound over city, the animals have to come up with their own survival plan. Bravely, they take off on an epic adventure. Based on true facts about the plight of animals in London during the war, this is a deeply moving story which will strike a chord especially with animal lovers.

reader reviews

In addition to our Lovereading expert opinion for The Great Escape we asked a small number of children to read and review this title. Here's a taster....'This book is great for kids aged 9+. It is an adventure story. It is really good. You should try it.'

And scroll down to read more...

Win a SIGNED hardback copy of Ottoline and the Purple Fox!

We are giving away 3 signed hardback copies of the fourth Ottoline adventure written and illustrated by Chris Riddell, Ottoline and the Purple Fox.

To have a chance of winning one of these great prizes, click the button below. Please note that this draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once.

Draw closes on 5 December 2016. The winners will be notified by 16 December 2016 and you should have your prize in time for Christmas!

Good luck!


Enter prize draw Draw closes: 05/12/2016

Synopsis

The Great Escape by Megan Rix

Buster is a lively Jack Russell. Tiger is a feisty white and ginger tom. Rose is a faithful Collie. Robert and Lucy Edwards love their pets more than anything, but the threat of the Second World War forces them to flee to Devon - leaving their animals behind. And as the air raid sirens sound over London, the frightened animals are sent to be put down. Buster, Tiger and Rose make a daring escape but with danger at every turn, can the trio make it across the country as it prepares for battle - and cheat death for the second time?

A classic story for 9+ emerges in the vein of Michael Morpurgo and The Incredible Journey. Written by the author of The Puppy That Came for Christmas and Stayed Forever.

Reviews

Ella Howard-Robinson, age 10 - 'This book is great for kids aged 9+. It is an adventure story. It is really good. You should try it.' Click here to read the full review

About the Author

Megan Rix

Megan Rix was born in London and lived in America, Singapore and New Zealand before marrying and moving to the East of England. When not writing she can be found walking by the river with her dogs, Traffy and Bella, who are usually in the river.

More books by this author

Loading similar books...

Other Formats

Book Info

Format

Paperback
224 pages
Interest Age: From 8

Author

Megan Rix
More books by Megan Rix

Author's Website

www.meganrix.com/

Author's Facebook Latest

Publisher

Puffin Books an imprint of Penguin Books Ltd

Publication date

3rd May 2012

ISBN

9780141342719

Categories


It’s so easy to find the right book for your child. Such an easy-to-use, yet in-depth website. 100% reliable.

Pippa, Jack, Liam & Matthew Wils

It is THE website to use for narrowing down your search for any book. Definitely knocks the socks off any other book review website.

Nickey and Tomasz Hawryszczuk

Lovereading is just a convenient way to find new books and hear others opinions on them.

Sarah Murray – age 15

I love lovereading4kids because I’ve read amazing books I would never have picked up, and its opened doors to new genre’s I now love.

Harriet Cunningham

Love “Lovereading4kids” as my son gets to hear about & read new books before his mates which keeps him interested in reading=a very happy Mum

Liz Evans

We love Lovereading4kids because it promotes reading choices, new authors and a sense of community for children of all ages!

Rachel Bridgeman

This company is amazing; not only is it is a great opportunity to get books and review them but everyone is so friendly and supportive!

Jemma Rubens, age 10

You give me age appropriate ideas of books I can read and buy for the children and find out what other children their age think of them too.

Katie Lonsdale
Lovereading

Lovereading 4 schools