The Story of the Blue Planet by Andri Snaer Magnason
  

The Story of the Blue Planet

Written by Andri Snaer Magnason
Illustrated by Aslaug Jonsdottir

7+ readers   All Shortlists and Winners   9+ readers   
Download an extract Add to wishlist Share this book

The Lovereading4Kids comment

Winner of the UKLA Book Awards 7-11 category 2014 A whimsical fairy tale that will appeal to fans of Maurice Sendak, Dr Seuss and Hans Christian Andersen, The Story of the Blue Planet is a critically acclaimed global hit being published in the UK for the first time. It's the story of two children who live on a planet inhabited only by children who never grow old but in other ways it's a world not unlike our own. There's a powerful underlying message about caring for our environment whilst at the same time telling a wonderfully entertaining story that is combined with bright, magical illustrations.

Andri Snær Magnason’s enthralling eco-story is one of the launch titles from Pushkin Children’s Books, a new imprint of leading literary publisher, Pushkin Press.

A Piece of Passion from Pushkin Children’s Books Publisher Adam Freudenheim “We were immediately attracted to The Story of the Blue Planet, as it's that rare thing: a children's book which has a powerful message (in this case about the need to care for our environment) which at the same time tells a wonderful, fantastically entertaining story. I loved the idea of a planet without grownups – as I'm sure all children will! – brought to life through the sheer exuberance of Magnason’s storytelling. Combined with bright, magical illustrations and the gravitas of international critical acclaim, we had to have it as one of our launch titles for Pushkin Children's Books.”

The first children’s book to win the prestigious Icelandic Literary Prize, it has already published in 26 countries and been made into a play.

Win a HARDBACK copy of Diary of a Wimpy Kid Double Down!

The Wimpy Kid is back! To celebrate the publication of the 11th book in this bestselling series from Jeff Kinney we are giving away FIVE HARDBACK copies of Double Down!

To have a chance of winning one of these great prizes, click the button below. Please note that this draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once.

Draw closes on 5 December 2016. The winners will be notified by 16 December 2016 and you should have your prize in time for Christmas!

Good luck!


Enter prize draw Draw closes: 05/12/2016

Synopsis

The Story of the Blue Planet by Andri Snaer Magnason

The Story of the Blue Planet follows the adventures of best friends Brimir and Hulda, on their small planet inhabited by children who never grow old. The story starts with anticipation of ‘the flight of the butterflies’ described as ‘the greatest wonder of the blue planet and a day of true happiness’. That is, until Mr Goodday, a stardust-vacuum-cleaner travelling salesman, arrives in his rocket. Full of promises – from teaching the children to fly, to stopping the sun from setting – Mr Goodday sets about changing the children’s lives and landscape. But his help comes with a heavy price: he hoovers up a piece of the children’s youth with every fulfilled promise…

Reviews

A Seussian mix of wonder, wit and gravitas The New York Times

About the Author

Andri Snaer Magnason

Andri Snaer Magnason is one of Iceland's most celebrated young writers. In 2002 Love Star was named Novel of the Year by Icelandic booksellers and received the DV Literary Award and a nomination to the Icelandic Literary Prize.

The Story of the Blue Planet - now published or performed in 22 countries - was the first children's book to receive the Icelandic Literary Prize and was also the recipient of the Janusz Korczak Honorary Award and the West Nordic Children's Book Prize. Andri is the winner of the 2010 Kairos Award.

More books by this author

Loading similar books...

Other Formats

Book Info

Format

Hardback
140 pages

Author

Andri Snaer Magnason
More books by Andri Snaer Magnason

Author's Website

www.andrimagnason.com/

Author's Facebook Latest

Publisher

Pushkin Children's Books

Publication date

2nd May 2013

ISBN

9781782690061

Categories

Publisher Profile

Pushkin Children's Books is an imprint of Pushkin Children's Books

logo

Pushkin Children's Books was launched in 2013 to share tales from different languages and cultures with younger readers, and to open the door to the wide, colourful worlds these stories offer. From picture books and adventure stories to fairy tales and classics, and from fifty-year-old bestsellers to current huge successes abroad, the books on the Pushkin Childrens list reflect the very best stories from around the world, for our most discerning readers of all: children. Twitter @PushkinPress www.facebook.com/PushkinPress

Publisher's Website

pushkinchildrens.com


Love “Lovereading4kids” as my son gets to hear about & read new books before his mates which keeps him interested in reading=a very happy Mum

Liz Evans

It’s a community united by a passion for books and promoting the best there is in children’s literature.

Sam Bateman and family

I am so pleased to have signed my kids up as they are reading a much wider range of books and even choosing books out of their comfort zone.

Angela East

I love ‘LoveReading 4 kids’ because they let you read and learn things you’d never dreamed of learning before.

Emily Horncastle – age 11

Lovereading is just a convenient way to find new books and hear others opinions on them.

Sarah Murray – age 15

I think Lovereading4kids is an amazing company because of the friendly staff and the fabulous chance to read great books before publication.

Adam Graham

I love Lovereading as it provides an honest opinion and showcases a range of fiction. Suited to both parents & kids alike, it’s a must-use.

Georgie Rowe – age 16

I have told all my friends, family & teachers to see for themselves just how great the site is. Without fail, they are hugely impressed.

Alexander Boxall – age 11
Lovereading

Lovereading 4 schools