The Story of the Blue Planet by Andri Snaer Magnason
  

The Story of the Blue Planet

Written by Andri Snaer Magnason
Illustrated by Aslaug Jonsdottir

7+ readers   All Shortlists and Winners   9+ readers   eBooks   
Download an extract Add to wishlist Share this book

The Lovereading4Kids comment

Winner of the UKLA Book Awards 7-11 category 2014 A whimsical fairy tale that will appeal to fans of Maurice Sendak, Dr Seuss and Hans Christian Andersen, The Story of the Blue Planet is a critically acclaimed global hit being published in the UK for the first time. It's the story of two children who live on a planet inhabited only by children who never grow old but in other ways it's a world not unlike our own. There's a powerful underlying message about caring for our environment whilst at the same time telling a wonderfully entertaining story that is combined with bright, magical illustrations.

Andri Snær Magnason’s enthralling eco-story is one of the launch titles from Pushkin Children’s Books, a new imprint of leading literary publisher, Pushkin Press.

A Piece of Passion from Pushkin Children’s Books Publisher Adam Freudenheim “We were immediately attracted to The Story of the Blue Planet, as it's that rare thing: a children's book which has a powerful message (in this case about the need to care for our environment) which at the same time tells a wonderful, fantastically entertaining story. I loved the idea of a planet without grownups – as I'm sure all children will! – brought to life through the sheer exuberance of Magnason’s storytelling. Combined with bright, magical illustrations and the gravitas of international critical acclaim, we had to have it as one of our launch titles for Pushkin Children's Books.”

The first children’s book to win the prestigious Icelandic Literary Prize, it has already published in 26 countries and been made into a play.

Win a Beast Quest Goodie Bag!

To mark the 10th Birthday of The Beast Quest series we are giving away THREE goodie bags filled with Beast Quest treats including temporary tattoos, pens, a printed bag and books from the series!

To have a chance of winning one of these super prizes, click the button below. Please note that this draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once.

The draw closes on 29 May 2017. The winners will be notified by 5 June 2017.

Good luck!


Enter prize draw Draw closes: 29/05/2017

Synopsis

The Story of the Blue Planet by Andri Snaer Magnason

The Story of the Blue Planet follows the adventures of best friends Brimir and Hulda, on their small planet inhabited by children who never grow old. The story starts with anticipation of ‘the flight of the butterflies’ described as ‘the greatest wonder of the blue planet and a day of true happiness’. That is, until Mr Goodday, a stardust-vacuum-cleaner travelling salesman, arrives in his rocket. Full of promises – from teaching the children to fly, to stopping the sun from setting – Mr Goodday sets about changing the children’s lives and landscape. But his help comes with a heavy price: he hoovers up a piece of the children’s youth with every fulfilled promise…

Reviews

A Seussian mix of wonder, wit and gravitas The New York Times

About the Author

Andri Snaer Magnason

Andri Snaer Magnason is one of Iceland's most celebrated young writers. In 2002 Love Star was named Novel of the Year by Icelandic booksellers and received the DV Literary Award and a nomination to the Icelandic Literary Prize.

The Story of the Blue Planet - now published or performed in 22 countries - was the first children's book to receive the Icelandic Literary Prize and was also the recipient of the Janusz Korczak Honorary Award and the West Nordic Children's Book Prize. Andri is the winner of the 2010 Kairos Award.

More books by this author

Loading similar books...

Other Formats

Book Info

Format

Hardback
140 pages

Author

Andri Snaer Magnason
More books by Andri Snaer Magnason

Author's Website

www.andrimagnason.com/

Author's Facebook Latest

Publisher

Pushkin Children's Books

Publication date

2nd May 2013

ISBN

9781782690061

Categories

Publisher Profile

Pushkin Children's Books is an imprint of Pushkin Children's Books

logo

Pushkin Children's Books was launched in 2013 to share tales from different languages and cultures with younger readers, and to open the door to the wide, colourful worlds these stories offer. From picture books and adventure stories to fairy tales and classics, and from fifty-year-old bestsellers to current huge successes abroad, the books on the Pushkin Childrens list reflect the very best stories from around the world, for our most discerning readers of all: children. Twitter @PushkinPress www.facebook.com/PushkinPress

Publisher's Website

pushkinchildrens.com


I love all the books they recommend & put up for me to review. I also love the fact that they give new authors the chance to share their boo

Daisy Pennock – age 15

It gives me a chance to read types of books that I would not normally try, and it motivates me to read every night to finish it!

Alice Horncastle, age 14

We love Lovereading4kids because they put books in front of us we wouldn’t otherwise have read. They make us more adventurous readers!

Emily Jacques

It’s a community united by a passion for books and promoting the best there is in children’s literature.

Sam Bateman and family

We love Lovereading4kids because they put books in front of us we wouldn’t otherwise have read. They make us more adventurous readers!

Emily Jacques

I have told all my friends, family & teachers to see for themselves just how great the site is. Without fail, they are hugely impressed.

Alexander Boxall – age 11

A great way to introduce kids to great books, authors & genres. Parents can find age-appropriate books to share with their children.

Judi Davies – Aberdare Girls Sch

I love Lovereading as it provides an honest opinion and showcases a range of fiction. Suited to both parents & kids alike, it’s a must-use.

Georgie Rowe – age 16
Lovereading

Lovereading 4 schools