Reader Reviewed The Apple Tart of Hope by Sarah Moore Fitzgerald

The Apple Tart of Hope

Written by Sarah Moore Fitzgerald

13+ readers   11+ readers   YA readers   eBooks   
Download an extract Add to wishlist Share this book

The Lovereading4Kids comment

A touching and funny story about being an outsider which is illuminated by touches of magic. Oscar and Meg are next-door-neighbours and best friends. But, when Meg moves away everything changes. Now Paloma Killealy lives next door and Oscar gets advice of a very different kind. When things begin to spiral out of control – partly because of the apple tarts - Oscar takes drastic action. Can Meg find out what has gone wrong and begin to put it right?

Reader Reviews

Kids love to read and so in addition to our Lovereading expert opinion some of our Lovereading4kids Reader Review Panel were also lucky enough to read and review this title.

  • Lux Mackay, age 12 - 'This is a fantastic book with love and heartbreaks, it is exciting and I would recommend it to kids age 10+.' Read full review >
  • Sam Harper, age 10 - 'The Apple Tart of Hope is a book about friendship and how good friends never give up on each other. A really well written, heart-warming tale. I loved it! Read full review >
  • Jasmine Harris-Hart, age 12  - 'An emotional teenage story about love,friendship and hope. A real tear-jerker.' Read full review >
  • Jodi Coffman, age 12 - 'This is a real page turner.  I couldn't wait to get to the end of the book to discover Oscar's fate.  It is exciting and  captivating.  A must read!' Read full review >
  • Alice East, age 9 - 'This book is about a boy called Oscar who has an unusual hobby of making apple tarts to cheer people up when they are feeling sad.' Read full review >
  • Emma Baird, age 11 - 'I really like this book because The Apple Tart Of Hope is really about hope, trust, and not giving up on people.' Read full review >
  • Isabel Kardos-Stowe, age 10 - 'I love this book!  Each chapter is written from either Meg's point of view or Oscar's. Truly a great read. Some adults might like to read it as well.' Read full review >
  • Eva Majury, age 10 - 'This is a story about the strength of friendship and family. It shows how bullies can twist the truth but end up being found out.' Read full review >
  • Jade Craddock, adult - 'A truly special and captivating story, the author has created one of the most beautiful characters in Oscar, one of the saddest portraits of hope lost and one of the most redeeming endings of hope regained.' Read full review >
  • Charlotte Rosevear, age 10 - 'Brilliant! I found this book hard to put down.' Read full review >
  • Eloise Mae Clarkson, age 11 - 'I'm sure other people will like this book but it didn't really interest me. I'm just not a fan.' Read full review >
  • Ella Grabsky, age 14 - 'I felt this was a good read that I was able to read in one sitting.' Read full review >


The Apple Tart of Hope by Sarah Moore Fitzgerald

Oscar Dunleavy, who used to make the world's most perfect apple tarts, is missing, presumed dead. No-one seems too surprised, except for Meg, his best friend, and his little brother Stevie. Surrounded by grief and confusion, Meg and Stevie are determined to find out what happened to Oscar, and together they learn about loyalty and friendship and the power of never giving up hope. The second sensational novel from Irish author, Sarah Moore Fitzgerald, following her debut, Back to Blackbrick, perfect for fans of Annabel Pitcher and Siobhan Dowd.


"This novel is gentle and mild but it has hidden powers, too." -- Martin Chilton, The Telegraph

"This suspenseful story is vivid with characters" The Sunday Times

"A big-hearted novel about love, loyalty and friendship from a rising star" The Bookseller

" ...a wonderful book that will leave you with a giant smile on your face, and a longing for the taste homemade apple tart. " The Book Bag

"I was so absorbed in the moving storyline that I read it in one sitting." Book Babblers

"A beautiful book about being different, about good and bad friendships, and how salvation can come from an unlikely place." Scribbles Book Reviews

"I felt this story had real depth, and dealt honestly and compassionately with strong emotions and serious decisions." The Little Reader Library

"Both adults and children alike would thoroughly enjoy" Chrissi Reads

"A poignant, unusual contemporary novel" Imogen Russell Williams, Metro

"A moving and poignant tale about the redemptive power of friendship" Louise O'Neill, Irish Times

"A layered, morally complex and captivating read" Joseph O'Connor, Irish Times

About the Author

Sarah Moore Fitzgerald

Sarah Moore Fitzgerald was born in New York in 1965 but grew up in Co. Dublin. She's a professor and associate vice president at the University of Limerick in Ireland, specialising in psychology and effective pedagogy in higher education, and has published several non-fiction books on teaching, learning and academic writing. She runs regular writers' retreats for academics and students in Ireland and internationally.

More books by this author

Loading similar books...

Other Formats

Book Info


272 pages
Interest Age: From 12


Sarah Moore Fitzgerald
More books by Sarah Moore Fitzgerald

Author's Website


Orion Children's Books (an Imprint of The Orion Publishing Group Ltd ) an imprint of Orion Publishing Co

Publication date

5th June 2014




I have told all my friends, family & teachers to see for themselves just how great the site is. Without fail, they are hugely impressed.

Alexander Boxall – age 11

I think Lovereading4kids is an amazing company because of the friendly staff and the fabulous chance to read great books before publication.

Adam Graham

I love ‘LoveReading 4 kids’ because they let you read and learn things you’d never dreamed of learning before.

Emily Horncastle – age 11

A great way to introduce kids to great books, authors & genres. Parents can find age-appropriate books to share with their children.

Judi Davies – Aberdare Girls Sch

At @HHSHaringey we love @lovereading4kids because our pupils can practice reviewing & get free upcoming books before anyone else!

Helen Swinyard – Heartlands High

It’s really exciting to read and review new books, thrilling to see my reviews online and I love finding the final published copies on sale.

Sam Harper – age 10

We love Lovereading4kids because they put books in front of us we wouldn’t otherwise have read. They make us more adventurous readers!

Emily Jacques

I love Lovereading because I often never know what to read and this helps you find a good book. I have recommended this to many people.

Shannon-Louise Masters – age 15

Lovereading 4 schools