Jim Field - Author Picture

Jim Field - Illustrator

Jim Field is a lead-driven, pencil-pushing, 25-frames-per-second, Led Zeppelin fan. He is also a hugely talented illustrator and animation director whose previous clients have included Waterstones, Sainsbury's, Oxfam, The Independent, The Guardian, The FT, Channel 4, Virgin Mobile, Nokia, GQ, Haymarket and BAC. Cats Ahoy! is Jim's first picture book, and his vibrant, energetic style and witty detail is sure to delight children and adults alike.

Featured Books, with extracts, illustrated by Jim Field

Birthday Boy
David Baddiel - illustrated by Jim Field
A Julia Eccleshare Pick of the Month September 2017 A hilarious rollercoaster ride of pure entertainment for 9+ readers everywhere, Birthday Boy is the new Baddiel Blockbuster: featuring David's inimitable and award-winning combination of wish-fulfilment, heart and hilarity, all brought...
Lovereading Price: £10.39 - Saving £2.60 (20%) Featured in: 11+ readers | 9+ readers
Format: Hardback | Released 07/09/2017
Info Extract Buy

Oi Cat!
Kes Gray - illustrated by Jim Field
From the team behind the hugely popular Oi Frog! and Oi Dog! comes another daft and utterly wonderful new rhyming spectacular. Frog is in charge and has decided that cats must sit on gnats, much to Cat's irritation. Dog tries...
Lovereading Price: £10.39 - Saving £2.60 (20%) Featured in: 3+ readers | 5+ readers
Format: Hardback | Released 07/09/2017
Info Extract Buy

The Pest in the Nest Book 2
Julian Gough - illustrated by Jim Field
Longlisted for the UKLA 2018 Book Award Gorgeously illustrated and with a classic feel, this is a brilliantly funny story of a rabbit and a bear who discover that things are always better when they're shared with a friend. Ideal...
Lovereading Price: £4.79 - Saving £1.20 (20%) Featured in: 7+ readers
Format: Paperback | Released 27/07/2017
Info Extract Buy

Animalcolm
David Baddiel - illustrated by Jim Field
In a nutshell: four-legged comedy capers | The starting point for David Baddiel's new children's book is a zany ‘what if' scenario that sets up a very funny story of self-discovery. Malcolm is the only member of his family not to...
Lovereading Price: £5.59 - Saving £1.40 (20%) Featured in: 9+ readers | 11+ readers
Format: Paperback | Released 25/05/2017
Info Extract Buy

The Koala Who Could
Rachel Bright - illustrated by Jim Field
Kevin the cuddly koala is king of the staying-still kings. He feels secure high up in his tree so turns down all the invitations from his friends to come down and play, until one terrible day his tree crashes to...
Lovereading Price: £5.59 - Saving £1.40 (20%) Featured in: 3+ readers | 5+ readers
Format: Paperback | Released 09/02/2017
Info Extract Buy

Oi Dog!
Kes Gray, Claire Gray - illustrated by Jim Field
Longlisted for the UKLA 2018 Book Award Winner of the Children's Book Award 2017 - Books for Younger Children Category All fans of rhymes will love the witty and simple words in Oi Dog!. The rule says Dogs sit...
Lovereading Price: £5.59 - Saving £1.40 (20%) Featured in: 3+ readers | 5+ readers
Format: Paperback | Released 06/10/2016
Info Extract Buy

Animalcolm
David Baddiel - illustrated by Jim Field
In a nutshell: four-legged comedy capers | The starting point for David Baddiel's new children's book is a zany ‘what if' scenario that sets up a very funny story of self-discovery. Malcolm is the only member of his family not to...
Lovereading Price: £10.39 - Saving £2.60 (20%) Featured in: 9+ readers | 11+ readers
Format: Hardback | Released 29/09/2016
Info Extract Buy

Rabbit's Bad Habits
Julian Gough - illustrated by Jim Field
In a nutshell: laugh out loud story of bear and rabbit in the woods | There are lots of unusual friendships in children's books, very few quite like the one described in this story, and virtually none so comic. Rabbit...
Lovereading Price: £4.79 - Saving £1.20 (20%) Featured in: 5+ readers | 7+ readers
Format: Paperback | Released 08/09/2016
Info Extract Buy

Oi Dog!
Kes Gray, Claire Gray - illustrated by Jim Field
Julia Eccleshare's Pick of the Month August 2016 All fans of rhymes will love the witty and simple words in Oi Dog!. The rule says Dogs sit on Frogs but Frog is determined to challenge that. According to Frog, Dogs...
Lovereading Price: £9.59 - Saving £2.40 (20%) Featured in: 5+ readers | 3+ readers
Format: Hardback | Released 28/07/2016
Info Extract Buy

Invisible Inc.
Steve Cole - illustrated by Jim Field
In 3 : invisible goodies – dastardly baddies – killer chickens (poultry-geists!) Steve Cole is a national treasure: creator of series such as Astrosaurs and Magic Ink, and now writing the Young Bond books, he's delighted huge numbers of young...
Lovereading Price: £5.59 - Saving £1.40 (20%) Featured in: 7+ readers | 9+ readers
Format: Paperback | Released 14/07/2016
Info Extract Buy

The Lion Inside
Rachel Bright - illustrated by Jim Field
Shortlisted for the UKLA 2017 Book Award Fans of The Gruffalo and Giraffes Can't Dance will love this feelgood rhyming story portraying a positive message about overcoming your fears.
Lovereading Price: £5.59 - Saving £1.40 (20%) Featured in: 3+ readers | 5+ readers
Format: Paperback | Released 10/03/2016
Info Extract Buy

Reader ReviewedThe Person Controller
David Baddiel - illustrated by Jim Field
David Baddiel allows his imagination free-rein in his new novel for children, with hilarious results. Ellie is – understandably – upset when her video game controller gets stuck in the cheeks of her father's Y-front-panted bottom. It no longer works...
Lovereading Price: £5.59 - Saving £1.40 (20%) Featured in: 9+ readers | 11+ readers
Format: Paperback | Released 25/02/2016
Info Extract Buy

Quick Quack Quentin
Kes Gray - illustrated by Jim Field
Quentin has a problem with his QUACK in this hilarious new title from the award-winning Kes Gray and the winner of the Roald Dahl Funny Prize, Jim Field. Brilliant for reading out loud and teaching children about vowels and animals.
Lovereading Price: £9.59 - Saving £2.40 (20%) Featured in: 3+ readers
Format: Hardback | Released 11/02/2016
Info Extract Buy

Reader ReviewedThe Person Controller
David Baddiel - illustrated by Jim Field
A Reader Review Panel Pick of the Year 2015 - chosen by Alexander Bisland, aged 10 David Baddiel allows his imagination free-rein in his new novel for children, with hilarious results. Ellie is – understandably – upset when her video...
Lovereading Price: £10.39 - Saving £2.60 (20%) Featured in: 9+ readers | 11+ readers
Format: Hardback | Released 08/10/2015
Info Extract Buy

Reader ReviewedStop Those Monsters!
Steve Cole - illustrated by Jim Field
Bob has always loved the idea of monsters so when his house is picked up by a giant whirlwind and, Wizard-of-Oz like, thrown into an underground world populated by the bizarrest creatures, he's 36% excited, 32% full of wonder, and...
Lovereading Price: £5.59 - Saving £1.40 (20%) Featured in: 9+ readers | 7+ readers
Format: Paperback | Released 04/06/2015
Info Extract Buy

How Many Legs?
Kes Gray - illustrated by Jim Field
Award-winning team Kes Gray and Jim Field do a lot of counting is this entertaining and rhyming picture book. Things start off being quite easy – there's just one boy with two legs. And then a polar bear arrives who...
Lovereading Price: £9.59 - Saving £2.40 (20%) Featured in: 3+ readers | 5+ readers
Format: Hardback | Released 05/02/2015
Info Extract Buy

Aliens Stink!
Stephen Cole - illustrated by Jim Field
How would you feel if you suddenly came face to face with an alien? Tim is used to being bullied at school for all kinds of reasons but can he stand up to aliens? When Tim is kidnapped and taken...
Lovereading Price: £5.59 - Saving £1.40 (20%) Featured in: 7+ readers | 9+ readers
Format: Paperback | Released 08/05/2014
Info Extract Buy

Magic Ink
Steve Cole - illustrated by Jim Field
One of our Books of the Year 2013 & May 2013 Book of the Month A comic strip comes to life with the help of some magic ink... a hilarious adventure that could only have come from the madcap mind...
Lovereading Price: £5.59 - Saving £1.40 (20%) Featured in: 7+ readers | 11+ readers | 9+ readers
Format: Paperback | Released 23/05/2013
Info Extract Buy

Cats Ahoy!
Peter Bently - illustrated by Jim Field
Winner of the 6 and under category, Roald Dahl Funny Prize 2011. A swashbuckling tale of pirate plunder, derring do and a huge haul of haddock! "These two books are master classes in how to write and how to draw...
Lovereading Price: £4.79 - Saving £1.20 (20%) Featured in: 5+ readers
Format: Paperback | Released 05/08/2011
Info Extract Buy

Loading other books illustrated by Jim Field...


Illustrator Info

Illustrator's Website

www.jimfield.co.uk/

Did you know

At Lovereading4kids you can download and read an opening extract and an online review of books by Jim Field and hundreds of other illustrators.

****