Reader Reviewed The Deadly Seven by Garth Jennings

The Deadly Seven

Written by Garth Jennings

9+ readers   Debuts of the Month   11+ readers   
Download an extract Add to wishlist Share this book

The Lovereading4Kids comment

January 2015 Debut of the Month An incredibly funny adventure story for the Pixar generation, perfect for fans of Frank Cottrell Boyce and Cressida Cowell. When eleven year-old Nelson’s beloved big sister goes missing on a school trip, he is devastated – he’s not that good at making friends and his sister is the only person he can talk to. In the dark catacombs of St Paul's cathedral Nelson stumbles across a strange and ancient machine, designed to extract the seven deadly sins and Nelson accidentally extracts seven deadly monsters from his own little soul. Nelson and the Deadly 7 set out on a quest across the globe to find and rescue his big sister and on the way they have an adventure beyond Nelson’s wildest dreams, and he learns that good friends come in all shapes and sizes…

The Good Book Guide logo The Good Book Guide Review. When Nelson’s sister goes missing, he is left with his Uncle Pogo. Whilst helping his uncle in St Paul’s, Nelson accidentally extracts his own seven deadly sins. These exuberant little monsters follow him home, and together they embark on a journey to find his sister. This hilarious and gripping adventure story is a real pleasure to read. (Ages 9–11)
~ Andrea Rayner

Reader Reviews

Kids love to read and so in addition to our Lovereading expert opinion some of our Lovereading4kids Reader Review Panel were also lucky enough to read and review the The Deadly Seven. You can read their full reviews by clicking here.

  • Daniel Mann, age 11 - 'This book is an amazing read. It has many twists and turns that will keep you intrigued...If I had to pick one book in the world to read it would be this one.'
  • Tomasz Hawryszczuk, age 9 - 'A bit scary, a bit sad, but a fantastic read. Loved it!...If you love monsters and weird and wonderful creatures then this is the book for you.'
  • Brodie Greenslade, age 8 - 'I thought The Deadly Seven was a very funny story...The story was exciting and different to anything I have read before – I will certainly read it again.'
  • Rohan Delamere, age 9 - 'This is a hilarious book about a boy called Nelson who creates his own monsters and adventures around the globe to find something that he terribly needs to find…'
  • Charlotte Cassidy, age 9 - 'A real page-turner of an adventure book. Very exciting and enjoyable. Loved every second of it. Great for boys and girls aged 8+.'
  • Sam Harper, age 11 - 'I laughed myself hoarse at this book. It’s a really unique comedy adventure which I would recommend to anyone. Fantastic!' 
  • Rosie Watch - 'The chapter headings in themselves encouraged even my most reluctant readers to read on, especially the chapter my name is Jesus and choose your cow.'
  • Gabriel Phelan, age 11 - 'This book is a gripping, adventurous novel that I could not put down.'
  • Callum Broomfield, age 10 - 'This is is a great imaginative book that makes you laugh out loud...Mad relatives, mysteries monsters, great adventures a great book to buy for your own little monster!'


The Deadly Seven by Garth Jennings

Who needs friends when you've got MONSTERS? Everything was happening so fast and it was all so ...mad. It was as if someone had taken reality, made it into a jigsaw, thrown the jigsaw on to the floor and then said, Now, hurry up and put it all together! as they danced all over the jigsaw pieces in a clown suit, blowing a trumpet.

When Nelson's beloved big sister goes missing on a school trip, Nelson is devastated - he's not that good at making friends and his sister is the only person he can talk to. His parents join the search party and leave Nelson in the care of his mad uncle Pogo. Uncle Pogo is the caretaker of St Paul's Cathedral and it is here that Nelson stumbles across a machine, invented by Christopher Wren and buried for hundreds of years. Designed to extract the 7 deadly sins, the machine had a fault - once extracted, the sins became living, breathing monsters who would then follow the sinner around for eternity (unless they ate him first, in the case of the particularly sinful). Nelson accidentally extracts 7 deadly monsters from his own little soul.

Ugly, cantankerous, smelly and often the cause of much embarrassment, Nelson's monsters are the last thing he needed in his life, but at least they're fairly harmless (he's a pretty good kid, on the whole). When he learns of their individual powers he realises the monsters can be put to good use, and together Nelson and the Deadly 7 set out on a quest across the globe to find and rescue his big sister. Somewhere along the way, Nelson realises that he finally has friends, even if they are smelly, lazy friends who like smashing stuff up.

About the Author

Garth Jennings

Garth Jennings has directed many music videos and commercials as one third of the production company Hammer and Tongs. His work includes videos for Blur, Radiohead, Beck, Fatboy Slim and Vampire Weekend. He is the director of two feature films - The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy (2005) and Son of Rambow (2007) for which he also wrote the screenplay. He is currently directing an animated feature for the studio that created Despicable Me.

More books by this author

Loading similar books...

Other Formats

Book Info


352 pages
Interest Age: From 9


Garth Jennings
More books by Garth Jennings

Author's Website


Macmillan Children's Books an imprint of Pan Macmillan

Publication date

15th January 2015




Writing reviews help the children with their literacy skills and we always read the books together which gives us good quality family time!

Cat Bisland (on behalf of the Bi

LoveReading4Kids is a modern and creative way of emphasising the value and importance of books in this digital age #booksforlife

Amrit Bunet – Teen

A great way to introduce kids to great books, authors & genres. Parents can find age-appropriate books to share with their children.

Judi Davies – Aberdare Girls Sch

It gives me a chance to read types of books that I would not normally try, and it motivates me to read every night to finish it!

Alice Horncastle, age 14

Love “Lovereading4kids” as my son gets to hear about & read new books before his mates which keeps him interested in reading=a very happy Mum

Liz Evans

This company is amazing; not only is it is a great opportunity to get books and review them but everyone is so friendly and supportive!

Jemma Rubens, age 10

At @HHSHaringey we love @lovereading4kids because our pupils can practice reviewing & get free upcoming books before anyone else!

Helen Swinyard – Heartlands High

It’s really exciting to read and review new books, thrilling to see my reviews online and I love finding the final published copies on sale.

Sam Harper – age 10

Lovereading 4 schools