This content is provided by Lovereading4kids.co.uk
Reader Reviewed
I'll Give You the Sun by Jandy Nelson
  

I'll Give You the Sun

Jandy Nelson

YA readers   Books of the Month   eBooks   eBooks   
Download an extract Share this book

The Lovereading4Kids comment

April 2015 Book of the Month A rollercoaster story that will pick all readers up and sweep them along in a story that is romantic, tragic, funny and profound. Twins Noah and Jude live their lives in the shadow of each other. They are very different and yet the details of their lives are so very close. But then suddenly they are not close at all. Noah and Jude are swept apart by love and by a tragedy that changes both of them. Jandy Nelson captures the confusion of adolescence, the power of love and the force of art in a refreshingly original and exciting way.

A message from the author...

Dear Reader,

I’m so excited for you to meet twins Noah and Jude. Noah is this flood in a paper cup. He has a mad desire to draw, to kiss the boy next door, to peel the blue off the sky, to be the blue in the sky. And Jude. She used to surf and cliff-dive and do the talking for
both twins, but something’s happened, and now she’s gone quiet and is living with ghosts and following her grandmother’s “bible" of superstitions. These twins became so real to me that one time while in the middle of writing the novel, I went to an art exhibit and my first thought was, “It’s such a shame Noah and Jude couldn’t come with me today.”

This is a story about love, crazy complicated love of all kinds: between guys and girls, guys and guys, mothers and daughters, fathers and sons, artists and their art, the living and the dead, but mostly it’s about the fierce, roller-coaster love between the twins themselves. Writing Noah and Jude’s story took three and a half years. It was the most exciting, exuberant and challenging creative experience of my life. These characters shook the ground beneath my feet. There’s a moment in the novel when Jude’s watching her stone-carving mentor Guillermo sculpt and she wonders if he’s
making the sculpture or if the sculpture is making him. That’s what writing this novel felt like.

I so hope you enjoy!

Jandy

Reader Reviews

In addition to our Lovereading expert opinion some of our Lovereading Reader Review Panel were also lucky enough to read and review this title.  You can read their full reviews by clicking here.

  • Chloe Shortall - 'I would recommend this fantastic book to lovers of John Green and Rainbow Rowell... I really enjoyed this book. It was one that I couldn’t put down.'
  • Izzy Read -'A poetic, tragic story about loss, grief, art, mistakes, families, sexuality, and all-consuming love.'
  • Stacie Ball - 'A brilliant book about grief, love and family. Set in the past and present with relatable characters and heartbreaking chapters. Jandy Nelson does it again.'
  • Edel Waugh - 'I can't recommend this authors books highly enough as it feels like the author is talking directly to you and you become immersed in her fictional world.'
  • Delilah Acworth - 'an unexpected ray in the usual grey matter which surrounds tales of depression and finding yourself...One of the best YA books this year.'
  • Lauren Coffman - 'the story is beautifully written. I felt completely a part of this book and felt a mixture of wanting to know what was going to happen next while never wanting the book to end, constantly.'
  • Amanda Gray, age 20 - 'It's a book that left me quite confused about how I felt about it. I found it very tough to get into, struggled with it at times and couldn't really connect to the characters, but did enjoy it.' 

Win a Family Break to Salisbury!

Don’t miss out! Enter to win a family break to Salisbury!

Here at Lovereading.co.uk and Lovereading4kids.co.uk we are delighted to be giving you a chance to win a wonderful family break. You could see yourself indulging in the finest food and slumbering comfortably into one of the grand rooms at The Red Lion Salisbury for two nights. The Red Lion Hotel is located in medieval city of Salisbury, which is home to all your favourite stores as well as independent shops, restaurants, cafes and parks and green spaces. Nearby is Stonehenge, Salisbury Plain and numerous sites of historic and archaeological interest.

There are many seasonal events in Salisbury, and you can find out what’s on here. You will also receive a family ticket to Sir Harold Hillier Gardens, the gardens are especially beautiful in the winter, with bold coloured stems, scents, and fabulous foliage, you can be sure to be impressed. For the children there is also a play park, and you can stop off in the Victorian tea room to warm up and treat yourself to a traditional cream tea.

To have a chance of winning this fantastic prize, click the button below. Please note that this draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once. Entries close 31st January 2018.

Good luck!

Terms and Conditions

Red Lion: Two night stay includes breakfast for two adults and up to two children sharing a family room. Subject to availability and cannot be exchanged or redeemed for cash value. Not to be used in combination with any other offer. Valid until 1st Dec 2018 and excludes bank holidays.

Sir Harold Hillier Gardens: Valid for day entry, Not to be used for special events or group entry. Voucher is not transferable or refundable, no Cash Value. Ticket must be redeemed on entry. Valid until 31 Dec 2018. Gardens open daily from 10am – closed Christmas Day and Boxing Day. Prize admits 2 adults and accompanying children Under 17 FREE to Sir Harold Hillier Gardens.


Enter prize draw Draw closes: 31/01/2018

Synopsis

I'll Give You the Sun by Jandy Nelson

From the author of The Sky Is Everywhere, a radiant novel that will leave you laughing and crying - all at once - perfect for fans of John Green, Gayle Forman and Lauren Oliver.

Jude and her twin Noah were incredibly close - until a tragedy drove them apart, and now they are barely speaking. Then Jude meets a cocky, broken, beautiful boy as well as a captivating new mentor, both of whom may just need her as much as she needs them. What the twins don't realize is that each of them has only half the story and if they can just find their way back to one another, they have a chance to remake their world.

Reviews

“Breathtaking. . . The book celebrates art’s capacity to heal, but it also shows us how we excavate meaning from the art we cherish, and how we find reflections of ourselves within it.” The New York Times

“A blazing, prismatic explosion of color… Nelson’s gifts in tackling huge subjects – death, grief, all-consuming love – with humor and gravitas will draw comparisons to the two reigning superstars of non-apocalyptic YA, John Green and Rainbow Rowell. But the intensity of her writing stands alone.” Entertainment Weekly

“You’d think that we were plugging The Fault in Our Stars, but even that comparison might sell short I’ll Give You the Sun…A gravity-defying, life-affirming experience.” San Francisco Magazine

About the Author

Jandy Nelson

Jandy Nelson received a BA from Cornell University, an MFA from Brown University in poetry and another MFA from Vermont College in writing for children and young adults. A literary agent for many years, she is also a published poet. I'll give you the Sun is her second novel, following the award winning The Sky is Everywhere, her first novel.

Jandy lives in San Francisco.

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...

Other Formats

Book Info

Format

Paperback
432 pages
Interest Age: From 14 years

Author

Jandy Nelson
More books by Jandy Nelson

Author's Website

jandynelson.com/

Author's Facebook Latest

Publisher

Walker Books Ltd

Publication date

2nd April 2015

ISBN

9781406326499

Categories


I love Lovereading as it provides an honest opinion and showcases a range of fiction. Suited to both parents & kids alike, it’s a must-use.

Georgie Rowe – age 16

I am so pleased to have signed my kids up as they are reading a much wider range of books and even choosing books out of their comfort zone.

Angela East

This company is amazing; not only is it is a great opportunity to get books and review them but everyone is so friendly and supportive!

Jemma Rubens, age 10

It has introduced my children to books we hadn’t come across before. Real children’s reviews gives a great insight into what others think to

Lorraine Woods

I think Lovereading4kids is an amazing company because of the friendly staff and the fabulous chance to read great books before publication.

Adam Graham

At @HHSHaringey we love @lovereading4kids because our pupils can practice reviewing & get free upcoming books before anyone else!

Helen Swinyard – Heartlands High

It’s really exciting to read and review new books, thrilling to see my reviews online and I love finding the final published copies on sale.

Sam Harper – age 10

I love finding new books to read. My mummy and me look at the new ones coming out. I have written reviews of some of them!

Jessica Cobbin – age 7
Lovereading

Lovereading 4 schools
****