The Koala Who Could by Rachel Bright
  

The Koala Who Could

Written by Rachel Bright
Illustrated by Jim Field

3+ readers   5+ readers   
Download an extract Add to wishlist Share this book

The Lovereading4Kids comment

Kevin the cuddly koala is king of the staying-still kings. He feels secure high up in his tree so turns down all the invitations from his friends to come down and play, until one terrible day his tree crashes to the ground. But even as his worst fears are realised Kevin notices he feels fine, that life can be great when you try something new. Rachel Bright’s joyous, funny rhyming text and Jim Field’s vibrant illustrations will encourage even the most cautious of readers to embrace life and there should be a place for this on bookshelves high and low! ~ Andrea Reece

Synopsis

The Koala Who Could by Rachel Bright

Fans of The Gruffalo and Giraffes Can't Dance will love this feelgood rhyming story portraying a positive message about facing up to change, something that young children can sometimes struggle with.

Sometimes change comes along whether we like it or not ...but if you let it, change can be the making of you. Kevin the Koala discovers this and more in this delightful picture book from the bestselling creators of The Lion Inside! Stylish art with Jon Klassen appeal and vibrant storytelling from two contemporary stars make this a story to shout about - it will make you laugh, cry and read it every bedtime.

Reviews

A feel-good rhyming tale ...Field's Australian animals are a treat Bookseller

A stylish book with a reassuring message about accepting change. Parents In Touch

A charming rhyming tale about a koala averse to change who discovers that taking small risks can lead to big adventures Huffington Post

A perfect tale for cautious children Inis Fans of The Gruffalo and Giraffes Can't Dance will love this feelgood rhyming story portraying a positive message about facing up to change ...Stylish art with Jon Klassen appeal and vibrant storytelling from two contemporary stars make this a story to shout about - it will make you laugh, cry and read it every bedtime. Booktopia

What delectable scenes Jim Field has created to accompany Rachel Bright's catchy, fun to read aloud, rhyming narrative Red Reading Hub

Rachel's rhymes are sublime ... Jim Field's humorous animal illustrations are fab, fab, FAB ... a sunshiney book full of fun ReaditDaddy

About the Author

Rachel Bright

Rachel Bright is a writer, illustrator and printmaker; and the creator of the award-winning stationery and homeware range, The Bright Side. Rachel has written and illustrated several books for children, including Love Monster, and is the author of The Lion Inside, illustrated by Jim Field. She lives on a farm near the seaside with her partner, their daughter, a dog called Elvis and a cat called Superman.

You can read an extended biography of Rachel by clicking here.

10 Things you might not know about Rachel Bright:

She collects alphabets and hats and has a Nissan Figaro car which everyone says looks like a matchbox toy.

She used to be an air Hostess for Virgin Atlantic, when she got to visit Richard Branson's island of Necker.

She loves nothing more than getting all inky in the printmaking studio where she’ll often work super late, when there’s magic in the air.

She lives on a farm near the seaside, which she shares with her family, their dog Elvis and a cockerel called Herman.

She’s done zillions of different jobs before becoming an author and illustrator, including owning a landscape gardening business, being a life-guard and a TV extra (she was once taken hostage by Daleks in 'Dr.Who'). Her first proper boss was Samantha Cameron, now of No.10 Downing St.

She also runs an impressively global card and gift empire called ‘the brightside’ and occasionally practices her evil laugh.

She has hundreds of stories tucked away in her studio (an occasionally messy, converted caravan) which she can’t wait to turn into books.

She once won a week-long date in Tahiti, with ‘Man of the Millenium’ featured in Marie Claire magazine (and then spent a long time living it down).

She spent six years working as a copywriter in advertising, during which time she once had to dress up as a chicken.

She runs a really long way every day and has done loads of ultra-marathons all over the world, the most recent of which include the Atlantic Coast Challenge (3 marathons in 3 days) and the Midnight Sun marathon in the Arctic Circle.

More books by this author

Loading similar books...

Other Formats

Book Info

Format

Paperback
32 pages
Interest Age: From 3

Author

Rachel Bright
More books by Rachel Bright

Author's Website

lookonthebrightside.co.uk/

Author's Facebook Latest

Publisher

Orchard Books an imprint of Hachette Children's Group

Publication date

9th February 2017

ISBN

9781408331644

Categories


I love finding new books to read. My mummy and me look at the new ones coming out. I have written reviews of some of them!

Jessica Cobbin – age 7

It has introduced my children to books we hadn’t come across before. Real children’s reviews gives a great insight into what others think to

Lorraine Woods

I think Lovereading4kids is an amazing company because of the friendly staff and the fabulous chance to read great books before publication.

Adam Graham

It is fantastic, you get to read lots of books and you always find something new and amazing in them.

Erica Motoc, age 7

Writing reviews help the children with their literacy skills and we always read the books together which gives us good quality family time!

Cat Bisland (on behalf of the Bi

I love ‘LoveReading 4 kids’ because they let you read and learn things you’d never dreamed of learning before.

Emily Horncastle – age 11

I love Lovereading because I often never know what to read and this helps you find a good book. I have recommended this to many people.

Shannon-Louise Masters – age 15

I love all the books they recommend & put up for me to review. I also love the fact that they give new authors the chance to share their boo

Daisy Pennock – age 15
Lovereading

Lovereading 4 schools