LoveReading4Kids

Becoming a member of the LoveReading4Kids community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unconditional book loving for your children with their favourites saved to their own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop plus lots lots more...

Find out more

The Koala Who Could

Written by Rachel Bright

Illustrated by Jim Field

Featured Books for 3+ readers Featured Books for 5+ readers Personal Social Health Economic (PSHE)

LoveReading View on The Koala Who Could

Kevin the cuddly koala is king of the staying-still kings. He feels secure high up in his tree so turns down all the invitations from his friends to come down and play, until one terrible day his tree crashes to the ground. But even as his worst fears are realised Kevin notices he feels fine, that life can be great when you try something new. Rachel Bright’s joyous, funny rhyming text and Jim Field’s vibrant illustrations will encourage even the most cautious of readers to embrace life and there should be a place for this on bookshelves high and low! ~ Andrea Reece

LoveReading4Kids

The Koala Who Could Synopsis

Fans of The Gruffalo and Giraffes Can't Dance will love this feelgood rhyming story portraying a positive message about facing up to change, something that young children can sometimes struggle with.

Sometimes change comes along whether we like it or not ...but if you let it, change can be the making of you. Kevin the Koala discovers this and more in this delightful picture book from the bestselling creators of The Lion Inside! Stylish art with Jon Klassen appeal and vibrant storytelling from two contemporary stars make this a story to shout about - it will make you laugh, cry and read it every bedtime.

The Koala Who Could Press Reviews

A feel-good rhyming tale ...Field's Australian animals are a treat  Bookseller

A stylish book with a reassuring message about accepting change. Parents In Touch

A charming rhyming tale about a koala averse to change who discovers that taking small risks can lead to big adventures Huffington Post

A perfect tale for cautious children Inis Fans of The Gruffalo and Giraffes Can't Dance will love this feelgood rhyming story portraying a positive message about facing up to change ...Stylish art with Jon Klassen appeal and vibrant storytelling from two contemporary stars make this a story to shout about - it will make you laugh, cry and read it every bedtime. Booktopia

What delectable scenes Jim Field has created to accompany Rachel Bright's catchy, fun to read aloud, rhyming narrative Red Reading Hub

Rachel's rhymes are sublime ... Jim Field's humorous animal illustrations are fab, fab, FAB ... a sunshiney book full of fun ReaditDaddy

If you loved this, you might like these...

Sofia Valdez, Future Prez
Greta and the Giants
A Cat's Christmas Carol
The Lonely Christmas Tree

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9781408331644
Publication date: 09/02/2017
Publisher: Orchard Books an imprint of Hachette Children's Group
Format: Paperback

Book Information

ISBN: 9781408331644
Publication date: 9th February 2017
Author: Rachel Bright
Illustrator: Jim Field
Publisher: Orchard Books an imprint of Hachette Children's Group
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 32 pages
Suitable for: 3+ readers, 5+ readers
Genres: Personal Social Health Economic

About Rachel Bright

Rachel Bright is a wordsmith, illustrator and professional thinker of happy thoughts. She has written several books for children, including Love Monster, The Lion Inside and The Koala Who Could – winner of the Evening Standard Oscar’s Book Prize and the Sainsbury’s Book Award. Her books have sold over 300,000 copies in the UK alone and been translated into over 30 languages. She is also the creator of award-winning stationery and homewares range, The Brightside. Rachel lives on a farm near the seaside, with her partner and their two young daughters. You can read an extended biography of ...

More About Rachel Bright

More Books By Rachel Bright

Cover for The Worrysaurus by Rachel Bright
Cover for The Squirrels Who Squabbled by Rachel Bright
Cover for Love You Hoo by Rachel Bright
View All Books By Rachel Bright

Share this book

LoveReading
LoveWriting
LoveReading4Schools
NEW INDIE AND SELF PUBLISHED BOOK REVIEW AND PROMOTION SERVICE LAUNCHED!    Read More
×