Reader Reviewed I Can Only Draw Worms by Will Mabbitt
  

I Can Only Draw Worms

Written by Will Mabbitt
Illustrated by Will Mabbitt

3+ readers   Baby and Toddler   Books of the Month   eBooks   
Download an extract Add to wishlist Share this book

The Lovereading4Kids comment

February 2017 Book of the Month Will Mabbitt has created a counting book and picture book like no other. Though his subject is worms, generally regarded as rather boring, this book dazzles, and not just because of the day-glo brightness of the pages. Mabbitt subverts our conceptions of what a picture book is – his is about worms, because that’s all he can draw; he asks readers to do the storytelling for themselves; he even overturns the simple counting element (I won’t tell you what happens to worm number 8, but readers have two halves to count in the final line up of 10). Like recent hits such as The Book With No Pictures and This is a Serious Book, I Can Only Draw Worms will make adult readers laugh as much as child readers, and both audiences will revel in its wit and pizzazz. ~ Andrea Reece

Reader Reviews

From a very early age Kids love to share and look at books and so in addition to our Lovereading expert opinion some of our Lovereading4kids Reader Review Panel were also lucky enough to read and review this title. You can read their full reviews by clicking here.

  • Asrah Khan, age 5 - 'The book is very bright and colourful. I will pick it first every time at story time I find it funny that I laugh out loud, will be reading it again and again.'
  • Joshua Bertenshaw, age 4 - 'Fantastically funny sort-of-counting-book that is worth re-read after re-read...We laughed and laughed at this delightfully quirky book!'
  • Emma & Jack (age 4) Radford - 'We LOVE it...It definitely made us giggle. The humour is really well pitched. A very simple yet engaging story, which kept us entertained and encouraged confidence with counting.'
  • Edith Andrews, age 3 years 9 months and Mum Ella Andrews - 'Brilliantly simple idea, fabulously executed. My daughter and I laughed out loud. Even the baby enjoyed all the bright colours. This book went down a storm with the whole Andrews family.'
  • Sabrina and Robyn Chorley, age 4 & 8 and Mum Tracey Chorley - 'A funny book that made us all giggle! Both girls loved this funny simple story...It's a fun, quirky book with bright illustrations that we all liked.'
  • Ares Yow-Fairs, age 2 - 'I like the worm that goes to the toilet and the worm that was snipped into two pieces.  That was my most favourite part.'        
  • Priya Dhoot, age 3 - 'Front format looks inviting...Maybe appeal to a group reading.'

Synopsis

I Can Only Draw Worms by Will Mabbitt

This book is about worms. I can only draw worms. You might think worms are boring - but you'd be wrong. These worms have INCREDIBLE adventures! I can't draw those bits, though, so you'll have to imagine them. A hilarious and superbly silly book that will have children in stitches and begging for more.

Perfect for fans of The Book With No Pictures, each page is a riot of colour and builds on the joke of the previous page, getting steadily more uproarious as the story continues. Readers young and old will laugh out loud, and we’d be very surprised if Worms did not one day become a cult classic. Will says he expects nothing less.

About the Author

Will Mabbitt

Will Mabbitt likes to write. He writes on the train, in the corner of cafes, and sometimes, when his laptop runs out of power, he writes in his head. Will has a background in children’s media, producing digital content for Disney, Nickelodeon and Cartoon Network. His previous children’s books, The Unlikely Adventures of Mabel Jones and Mable Jones and the Forbidden City are also published by Pufffin, for middle grade and primary readers. The third instalment in the Mabel Jones series, Mabel Jones and the Doomsday Book, is due to publish on February 7th 2017 (just after I Can Only Draw Worms). Will lives with his family, cats and a woodlouse infestation in Lewes on the South Coast of England.

He now, also, draws. But he can only draw worms.

More books by this author

Loading similar books...

Other Formats

Book Info

Format

Paperback
32 pages
Interest Age: From 3

Author

Will Mabbitt
More books by Will Mabbitt

Author's Facebook Latest

Publisher

Puffin an imprint of Penguin Books Ltd

Publication date

26th January 2017

ISBN

9780141375182

Categories


Writing reviews help the children with their literacy skills and we always read the books together which gives us good quality family time!

Cat Bisland (on behalf of the Bi

This company is amazing; not only is it is a great opportunity to get books and review them but everyone is so friendly and supportive!

Jemma Rubens, age 10

We love Lovereading4kids because they put books in front of us we wouldn’t otherwise have read. They make us more adventurous readers!

Emily Jacques

At @HHSHaringey we love @lovereading4kids because our pupils can practice reviewing & get free upcoming books before anyone else!

Helen Swinyard – Heartlands High

Love “Lovereading4kids” as my son gets to hear about & read new books before his mates which keeps him interested in reading=a very happy Mum

Liz Evans

We love Lovereading4kids because they put books in front of us we wouldn’t otherwise have read. They make us more adventurous readers!

Emily Jacques

It’s so easy to find the right book for your child. Such an easy-to-use, yet in-depth website. 100% reliable.

Pippa, Jack, Liam & Matthew Wils

I love Lovereading4kids because I get an opportunity to put my opinion forward and to try new books

Elosie Clarkson – age 11
Lovereading

Lovereading 4 schools