LoveReading4Kids

Becoming a member of the LoveReading4Kids community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unconditional book loving for your children with their favourites saved to their own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop plus lots lots more...

Find out more

I Can Only Draw Worms

Written by Will Mabbitt

Illustrated by Will Mabbitt

Books for Babies and Toddlers Books of the Month Featured Books for 3+ readers Recommended Children's eBooks

LoveReading View on I Can Only Draw Worms

February 2017 Book of the Month  Will Mabbitt has created a counting book and picture book like no other. Though his subject is worms, generally regarded as rather boring, this book dazzles, and not just because of the day-glo brightness of the pages. Mabbitt subverts our conceptions of what a picture book is – his is about worms, because that’s all he can draw; he asks readers to do the storytelling for themselves; he even overturns the simple counting element (I won’t tell you what happens to worm number 8, but readers have two halves to count in the final line up of 10). Like recent hits such as The Book With No Pictures and This is a Serious Book, I Can Only Draw Worms will make adult readers laugh as much as child readers, and both audiences will revel in its wit and pizzazz.  ~ Andrea Reece

LoveReading4Kids

I Can Only Draw Worms Synopsis

This book is about worms. I can only draw worms. You might think worms are boring - but you'd be wrong. These worms have INCREDIBLE adventures! I can't draw those bits, though, so you'll have to imagine them. A hilarious and superbly silly book that will have children in stitches and begging for more.

Perfect for fans of The Book With No Pictures, each page is a riot of colour and builds on the joke of the previous page, getting steadily more uproarious as the story continues. Readers young and old will laugh out loud, and we’d be very surprised if Worms did not one day become a cult classic. Will says he expects nothing less.

I Can Only Draw Worms Reader Reviews

From a very early age Kids love to share and look at books and so in addition to our Lovereading expert opinion some of our Lovereading4kids Reader Review Panel were also lucky enough to read and review this title. You can read their full reviews by clicking here.

  • Asrah Khan, age 5 - 'The book is very bright and colourful. I will pick it first every time at story time I find it funny that I laugh out loud, will be reading it again and again.'
  • Joshua Bertenshaw, age 4 - 'Fantastically funny sort-of-counting-book that is worth re-read after re-read...We laughed and laughed at this delightfully quirky book!'
  • Emma & Jack (age 4) Radford - 'We LOVE it...It definitely made us giggle. The humour is really well pitched. A very simple yet engaging story, which kept us entertained and encouraged confidence with counting.'
  • Edith Andrews, age 3 years 9 months and Mum Ella Andrews - 'Brilliantly simple idea, fabulously executed. My daughter and I laughed out loud. Even the baby enjoyed all the bright colours. This book went down a storm with the whole Andrews family.'
  • Sabrina and Robyn Chorley, age 4 & 8 and Mum Tracey Chorley - 'A funny book that made us all giggle! Both girls loved this funny simple story...It's a fun, quirky book with bright illustrations that we all liked.'
  • Ares Yow-Fairs, age 2 - 'I like the worm that goes to the toilet and the worm that was snipped into two pieces.  That was my most favourite part.'        
  • Priya Dhoot, age 3 - 'Front format looks inviting...Maybe appeal to a group reading.'

If you loved this, you might like these...

I'm Sticking with You
Everybody Feels Shy
Think Outside the Box
I Can Catch a Monster

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9780141375182
Publication date: 26/01/2017
Publisher: Puffin an imprint of Penguin Books Ltd
Format: Paperback

Book Information

ISBN: 9780141375182
Publication date: 26th January 2017
Author: Will Mabbitt
Illustrator: Will Mabbitt
Publisher: Puffin an imprint of Penguin Books Ltd
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 32 pages
Suitable for: Baby and Toddler, 3+ readers
Recommendations: Books of the Month, eBooks, Reviewed by Children

About Will Mabbitt

Will Mabbitt has an overactive imagination. It used to get him in trouble but now it's his job. His first book, The Unlikely Adventures of Mabel Jones, was shortlisted for the Branford Boase Award. He's achieved little of else note, preferring to spend his time loitering in graveyards. He can also be found wandering the streets of Brighton in a daze. He is probably having an idea. He lives with his family, in Lewes, on the south coast of England.

More About Will Mabbitt

More Books By Will Mabbitt

Cover for Embassy of the Dead: Hangman's Crossing by Will Mabbitt
Cover for Embassy of the Dead by Will Mabbitt
Cover for Mabel Jones and the Doomsday Book by Will Mabbitt
View All Books By Will Mabbitt

Share this book

LoveReading
LoveWriting
LoveReading4Schools
NEW INDIE AND SELF PUBLISHED BOOK REVIEW AND PROMOTION SERVICE LAUNCHED!    Read More
×