Old MacDonald Heard a Parp by Olaf Falafel
  

Old MacDonald Heard a Parp

Written by Olaf Falafel

3+ readers   Debuts of the Month   5+ readers   
Download an extract Add to wishlist Share this book

The Lovereading4Kids comment

April 2017 Debut of the Month There are lots of laughs in this reworking of an old favourite! Old MacDonald hears a lot of Parps from all over his farm. And they all sound very different There’s one from the goat, one from the duck, one from a horse, one from a unicorn (but that was just in his dream), one from a pig and finally, one from his wife! There are useful instructions about how to make the different Parp noises. ~ Julia Eccleshare

Win a Bear Hunt Goodie Bag!

The arrival of spring brings 2 new books based on the world of We're Going on a Bear Hunt by Michael Rosen and Helen Oxenbury, especially to encourage your children to get out and about and explore the outdoors this Easter.

And we have copies of My Explorer's Journal and My Adventure Field Guide to give away!
ONE LUCKY WINNER will get a copy of both My Explorer's Journal and My Adventure Field Guide, a DVD of We're Going on a Bear Hunt animation, a poster, and a small cuddly bear. THREE RUNNERS-UP will receive a copy of each book as runner up prizes.

To have a chance of winning one of these super prizes, click the button below. Please note that this draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once.

The draw closes on 3 May 2017. The winners will be notified by 15 May 2017.

Good luck!


Enter prize draw Draw closes: 03/05/2017

Synopsis

Old MacDonald Heard a Parp by Olaf Falafel

Sing along to this side-splitting picture book adaptation of everyone's favourite nursery rhyme. Old Macdonald's busy day on the farm keeps getting interrupted by some VERY rude noises ...but who could they be coming from?! A hilarious and irreverent take on the classic nursery song from debut author/illustrator, Olaf Falafel, with helpful do-it-yourself instructions so you can parp along to your heart's content! Perfect for fans of The Dinosaur That Pooped series.

Olaf put out a call for a publisher for his picture book on Twitter on November 2016, igniting a frenzy of interest from global publishers and agents alike. Within twenty-four hours, HarperCollins Children’s Books had snapped him up.

Olaf Falafel said “I’m really excited – this is the kind of book that a six year old Olaf would have loved. The fact that I also love it now shows you how much I've grown up!”

About the Author

Olaf Falafel

Olaf Falafel is a surrealist comedian and illustrator who, this year, performed his debut stand up show, ‘Olaf Falafel and The Cheese of Truth’ at the Edinburgh Fringe Festival to critical acclaim. As well as finding comedic success onstage, Falafel has also enjoyed huge online fame with his short viral videos. These absurdist movies include a croissant-coiffured talking Donald Trump puppet, slices of truth telling cheese being thrown onto newspapers and the Bee Gees hiding in his beard.

The comedy website Chortle affectionately described Falafel as ‘an idiot’ and when he doesn’t have a microphone in his hand you’ll probably find him with a pencil and pad trying to draw something equally idiotic.

A unique mixture of one-liners and Scandinavian-tinged stories has earned Olaf the purely fictitious title of 'Sweden's eighth funniest comedian'. His recent exploits include coming second in the 2014 Laughing Horse New Act of the Year, beating the Comedy Store's infamous Gong Show (twice just to show off!) being crowned the 2013 Golden Jester and also being named Last Minute Comedy Club's New Act of 2013. Old Macdonald Heard a Parp is Olaf's very first picture book and was discovered via Twitter.

More books by this author

Loading similar books...

Other Formats

Book Info

Format

Paperback
32 pages
Interest Age: From 4

Author

Olaf Falafel
More books by Olaf Falafel

Author's Website

www.olaffalafel.com/

Author's Facebook Latest

Publisher

HarperCollins Children's Books an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers

Publication date

6th April 2017

ISBN

9780008241483

Categories


We love Lovereading4kids because they put books in front of us we wouldn’t otherwise have read. They make us more adventurous readers!

Emily Jacques

LoveReading4Kids is a modern and creative way of emphasising the value and importance of books in this digital age #booksforlife

Amrit Bunet – Teen

I love all the books they recommend & put up for me to review. I also love the fact that they give new authors the chance to share their boo

Daisy Pennock – age 15

Lovereading is just a convenient way to find new books and hear others opinions on them.

Sarah Murray – age 15

I love Lovereading because I often never know what to read and this helps you find a good book. I have recommended this to many people.

Shannon-Louise Masters – age 15

I am so pleased to have signed my kids up as they are reading a much wider range of books and even choosing books out of their comfort zone.

Angela East

It’s so easy to find the right book for your child. Such an easy-to-use, yet in-depth website. 100% reliable.

Pippa, Jack, Liam & Matthew Wils

It is fantastic, you get to read lots of books and you always find something new and amazing in them.

Erica Motoc, age 7
Lovereading

Lovereading 4 schools