We are Giants by Amber Lee Dodd
  

We are Giants

Written by Amber Lee Dodd

7+ readers   9+ readers   Branford Boase Award   eBooks   

RRP £6.99

The Lovereading4Kids comment

Shortlisted for the Branford Boase Award 2017

For fans of Jacqueline Wilson and Wonder, this is a novel about a girl whose mum has dwarfism. But it's not just about that. It's about love, family, friendship, and how to be happy. It's about all of us.

The Branford Boase Award Judges' Comments - ‘A huge-hearted book of enormous charm’; ‘unusual and distinctive’; ‘you can really feel the family’s love for one another’.

Synopsis

We are Giants by Amber Lee Dodd

A brilliantly funny and wonderfully warm-hearted story about love, family, and what it means to be different. Sydney thinks her mum Amy is the best mum in the world - even if she is a bit different. When everyone else kept growing, Amy got to four feet tall and then stopped right there. The perfect height, in Sydney's opinion: big enough to reach the ice cream at the supermarket, small enough to be special. Sydney's dad died when she was only five, but her memories of him, her mum's love and the company of her brave big sister Jade means she never feels alone ...But when the family are forced to move house, things get tricky. Sydney and Jade must make new friends, deal with the bullies at their new school and generally figure out the business of growing up in a strange new town. And Sydney doesn't want to grow up - not if it means getting bigger than her mum...

Reviews

A total page-turner...very moving and touching. Jacqueline Wilson

It deals with topics that would be familiar to a lot of 9-12 year olds...refreshing and heartwarming, without being too sickly - well worth a read! Waterstone's Books Quarterly

This book will have you well and truly hooked from the opening chapter [...] It's a truly wonderful and touching book that doesn't shy away from some important and sensitive issues. We loved it to bits! ReaditDaddy

An engaging story that will appeal to fans of Jacqueline Wilson... The story weaves in a very informative explanation of the challenges of dwarfism through the prejudice and practical challenges Sydney's mum has to face in her daily life... -- Sue Magee The Bookbag

...a touching and sensitive book, told with great insight and understanding it is always realistic, does not gloss over the problems but gives a positive and encouraging spin. Parents In Touch

For readers of Lara Williamson and R J Palacio, this debut promises to be an original and warm-hearted take on grief, growing up and living with a disability. -- Fiona Noble The Bookseller

You can really relate to what they feel and think ... it's wonderfully written -- Kat Winter - Guardian Children's Books Site Young Reviewer The Guardian

It was refreshing to see such a diverse family ... I found myself wrapped up in the story and read it in one sitting. It is a book that will keep you turning the pages wanting more ... A truly thoughtful and moving read. BookLoverJo There is lots to talk about within the book and lots to like about it too. It doesn't set out to be too complex, but tells a story by wholeheartedly bringing its characters to life. The story has giant heart - although of course, size doesn't matter -- Clare Zinkin Minerva Reads

We Are Giants is one of those books that I didn't know I needed in my life until I owned it, but now that I do it has pride of place. I hope many readers find this treasure. Luna's Little Library

About the Author

Amber Lee Dodd is a writer and playwright whose work has been performed around the country and published internationally. Amber drew on extensive experience working with families dealing with disabilities to write WE ARE GIANTS. She says:This experience led me to writing characters the children wanted but scarcely appear in children's fiction: disabled people who are strong, happy and independent. These children come from ordinary backgrounds, with parents and siblings who deal with the problems we all deal with. My book is not a book about disability; it's a book about grief and growing up. It features a strong mother character who just happens to have a disability. Amber has also recently been a writer in residence for The Expansionists and a playwright for the young playwrights programme at Chichester Festival Theatre, where her short play 'Tea with Grandma' was performed. She was awarded a Distinction in her MA in Creative Writing at Chichester University.

More books by this author

Loading similar books...

Other Formats

Book Info

Format

Paperback
256 pages

Author

Amber Lee Dodd
More books by Amber Lee Dodd

Publisher

Quercus Children's Books an imprint of Hachette Children's Group

Publication date

7th April 2016

ISBN

9781784294212

Categories


Love “Lovereading4kids” as my son gets to hear about & read new books before his mates which keeps him interested in reading=a very happy Mum

Liz Evans

It has introduced my children to books we hadn’t come across before. Real children’s reviews gives a great insight into what others think to

Lorraine Woods

I love ‘LoveReading 4 kids’ because they let you read and learn things you’d never dreamed of learning before.

Emily Horncastle – age 11

It is fantastic, you get to read lots of books and you always find something new and amazing in them.

Erica Motoc, age 7

Writing reviews help the children with their literacy skills and we always read the books together which gives us good quality family time!

Cat Bisland (on behalf of the Bi

We love Lovereading4kids because it promotes reading choices, new authors and a sense of community for children of all ages!

Rachel Bridgeman

We love Lovereading4kids because they put books in front of us we wouldn’t otherwise have read. They make us more adventurous readers!

Emily Jacques

At @HHSHaringey we love @lovereading4kids because our pupils can practice reviewing & get free upcoming books before anyone else!

Helen Swinyard – Heartlands High
Lovereading

Lovereading 4 schools