LoveReading4Kids

Becoming a member of the LoveReading4Kids community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unconditional book loving for your children with their favourites saved to their own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop plus lots lots more...

Find out more

We are Giants

Written by Amber Lee Dodd

Family / Home Stories Featured Books for 7+ readers Featured Books for 9+ readers Recommended Children's eBooks

We are Giants Synopsis

A brilliantly funny and wonderfully warm-hearted story about love, family, and what it means to be different. Sydney thinks her mum Amy is the best mum in the world - even if she is a bit different. When everyone else kept growing, Amy got to four feet tall and then stopped right there. The perfect height, in Sydney's opinion: big enough to reach the ice cream at the supermarket, small enough to be special. Sydney's dad died when she was only five, but her memories of him, her mum's love and the company of her brave big sister Jade means she never feels alone ...But when the family are forced to move house, things get tricky. Sydney and Jade must make new friends, deal with the bullies at their new school and generally figure out the business of growing up in a strange new town. And Sydney doesn't want to grow up - not if it means getting bigger than her mum...

We are Giants Press Reviews

A total page-turner...very moving and touching. Jacqueline Wilson

It deals with topics that would be familiar to a lot of 9-12 year olds...refreshing and heartwarming, without being too sickly - well worth a read! Waterstone's Books Quarterly

This book will have you well and truly hooked from the opening chapter [...] It's a truly wonderful and touching book that doesn't shy away from some important and sensitive issues. We loved it to bits! ReaditDaddy

An engaging story that will appeal to fans of Jacqueline Wilson... The story weaves in a very informative explanation of the challenges of dwarfism through the prejudice and practical challenges Sydney's mum has to face in her daily life... -- Sue Magee The Bookbag

...a touching and sensitive book, told with great insight and understanding it is always realistic, does not gloss over the problems but gives a positive and encouraging spin. Parents In Touch

For readers of Lara Williamson and R J Palacio, this debut promises to be an original and warm-hearted take on grief, growing up and living with a disability. -- Fiona Noble The Bookseller

You can really relate to what they feel and think ... it's wonderfully written -- Kat Winter - Guardian Children's Books Site Young Reviewer The Guardian

It was refreshing to see such a diverse family ... I found myself wrapped up in the story and read it in one sitting. It is a book that will keep you turning the pages wanting more ... A truly thoughtful and moving read. BookLoverJo There is lots to talk about within the book and lots to like about it too. It doesn't set out to be too complex, but tells a story by wholeheartedly bringing its characters to life. The story has giant heart - although of course, size doesn't matter -- Clare Zinkin Minerva Reads

We Are Giants is one of those books that I didn't know I needed in my life until I owned it, but now that I do it has pride of place. I hope many readers find this treasure. Luna's Little Library

If you loved this, you might like these...

Keeper
The Accidental Diary of B.U.G.
The Smidgens
Cally and Jimmy: Twintastic

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9781784294212
Publication date: 07/04/2016
Publisher:
Format: Paperback

Book Information

ISBN: 9781784294212
Publication date: 7th April 2016
Author: Amber Lee Dodd
Publisher:
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 256 pages
Suitable for: 7+ readers, 9+ readers
Genres: Family / Home Stories
Recommendations: eBooks

About Amber Lee Dodd

Amber Lee Dodd is a writer and playwright whose work has been performed around the country and published internationally. Amber drew on extensive experience working with families dealing with disabilities to write WE ARE GIANTS. She says:This experience led me to writing characters the children wanted but scarcely appear in children's fiction: disabled people who are strong, happy and independent. These children come from ordinary backgrounds, with parents and siblings who deal with the problems we all deal with. My book is not a book about disability; it's a book about grief and growing up. It features a strong ...

More About Amber Lee Dodd

More Books By Amber Lee Dodd

Cover for The Thirteenth Home of Noah Bradley by Amber Lee Dodd
View All Books By Amber Lee Dodd

Share this book

LoveReading
LoveWriting
LoveReading4Schools
CHECK OUT OUR INDIE AND SELF PUBLISHED BOOK REVIEW AND PROMOTION SERVICE    Read More
×