Salem Brownstone: All Along the Watchtowers by John Harris Dunning, Nikhil Singh
  

Salem Brownstone: All Along the Watchtowers

Written by John Harris Dunning, Nikhil Singh

13+ readers   eBooks   
Download an extract Share this book

The Lovereading4Kids comment

Brilliantly created in mesmerising black and white spreads, this stylish graphic novel is a spell-binding gothic story of an unusual inheritance. Woven through with magic, the story tells how young magician Salem returns to his father’s house unsure of what he will find. His discoveries and his responses to them are described in an imaginative feast of words and pictures. Graphic novels are often great at getting reluctant readers reading. Why not check out our ever-expanding range of graphic novels that we rate.

Win the Skulduggery Pleasant series, SIGNED by the author!

The 11 instalment in the best-selling Skulduggery Pleasant series, Midnight, is out in hardback on 31 May. To celebrate this we are giving away THREE prizes of all 11 books in the series, SIGNED by the author Derek Landy and delivered in a special Skulduggery Pleasant tote bag!

To have a chance of winning one of these great prizes, click the button below. Please note that this draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once. Draw closes on 28 June 2018. The winners will be notified by 12 July 2018.

Good luck!


Enter prize draw Draw closes: 28/06/2018

Synopsis

Salem Brownstone: All Along the Watchtowers by John Harris Dunning, Nikhil Singh

This is a sumptuous and rich gothic fantasy following the adventure of Salem Brownstone as he falls into a strange and magical world after the death of his father. As he twists the key and slowly creeps into the grand gothic mansion left to him in his father's will, Salem's life takes a decidedly unusual turn. Aside from the money and house, his father's secret legacy includes an unfinished battle with creatures from a world beyond ours. Immediately thrown into the sinister conflict, Salem must make contact with his guardian familiar and get help from the colourful performers of Dr Kinoshita's Circus of Unearthly Delights, if he is to ward off the evil spirits and avoid the tragic fate of his father. This title is intended for fans of Tim Burton, Edward Gorey, H.P. Lovecraft and Aubrey Beardsley. It is a beautifully giftbound edition providing perfect enjoyment on a dark Halloween's night.

About the Author

Nikhil Singh on Nikhil Singh:

As a child:

It is always difficult being raised on an alien world. Venus is no exception. Perhaps it was the oceans of liquid carbon, crushing gravitational fields and storms of ammoniac cloud which made me yearn for greener pastures. Earth seemed the most providential destination, though acquiring a human host was extremely taxing and cost me many centuries of waifing across the void and over partially populated continents. My childhood was spent as a whisper in children's minds, a fever in Triassic jungles, A God in various Sumerian hell holes and a ghost at the bottom of ancient and desolate wells. But now just pretending to be human is good enough for me.

As an adult

I studied under a dark cloud. I lived in an ivory tower. My drawing career began with chiseling hieroglyphs into the walls of pyramids. Not much has changed.

As an artist

I will probably be killed by aliens if I divulge my secret work.

Things you didn't know about Nikhil Singh

1. I have an electric blue glitter spacesuit and I know how to use it.
2. I worked in a cannibal mermaid sushi bar before I had lungs.
3. I believe that cats rule the world.
4. I became human after losing a bet
5. I take not being serious very seriously
6. I'll perform tarot readings for ANYONE who asks
7. I am the illegitimate love-child of Louise Brooks and The Cheshire Cat
8. I'm vegan
9. I believe in fairies
10. I didn't finish school!

More books by this author

Loading similar books...

Other Formats

Book Info

Format

Hardback

Author

John Harris Dunning, Nikhil Singh
More books by John Harris Dunning, Nikhil Singh

Publisher

Walker Books Ltd

Publication date

5th October 2009

ISBN

9781406320527

Categories


It’s a community united by a passion for books and promoting the best there is in children’s literature.

Sam Bateman and family

Writing reviews help the children with their literacy skills and we always read the books together which gives us good quality family time!

Cat Bisland (on behalf of the Bi

We love Lovereading4kids because they put books in front of us we wouldn’t otherwise have read. They make us more adventurous readers!

Emily Jacques

LoveReading4Kids is a modern and creative way of emphasising the value and importance of books in this digital age #booksforlife

Amrit Bunet – Teen

I love finding new books to read. My mummy and me look at the new ones coming out. I have written reviews of some of them!

Jessica Cobbin – age 7

We love Lovereading4kids because it promotes reading choices, new authors and a sense of community for children of all ages!

Rachel Bridgeman

We love Lovereading as my 5 year old loves to read new books before anyone else has a chance, she says it makes reading exciting!

Tracey Chorley

I am so pleased to have signed my kids up as they are reading a much wider range of books and even choosing books out of their comfort zone.

Angela East
Lovereading

Lovereading 4 schools
****