Oi, Cave Boy! - Iggy the Urk Book 1 by Alan Macdonald

Oi, Cave Boy! - Iggy the Urk Book 1

Written by Alan Macdonald
Illustrated by Mark Beech
Part of the Iggy the Urk Series

7+ readers   5+ readers   
Download an extract Add to wishlist Share this book

The Lovereading4Kids comment

Fans of Mr Gum, Grubtown Tales, Charlie Small and Dirty bertie or indeed the Flintstones will love this new series featuring a wonderfully adventurous cave boy called Iggy.

Full of humour it will entertain on every page as you discover more and more about Iggy who turns out to be nothing like your usual Stone Age boy, for he isn’t interested in all the usual things like hunting and making flint tools. Instead he’s inventing things and trying them out himself or on others with a mixture of success!


Oi, Cave Boy! - Iggy the Urk Book 1 by Alan Macdonald

Iggy is different from the rest of his tribe, the Urks. He isn't interested in the usual things such as flint tools, hunting or boulder-rolling. He's always daubing on the walls of his cave or coming up with infuriating new ideas. According to his dad: 'We don't need new ideas - we have plenty of old ones.' Iggy's latest invention is a primitive scootalong or Stone Age skateboard. His parents don't want him playing outside in case the neighbours complain. Besides, they have more important things to talk about: tomorrow is the Sons of Urk ceremony, when boys who come of age are accepted into the tribe as hunters. Iggy is eager to take part, but he'll have to pass the ritual initiation test, which means facing the one thing he dreads more than anything: snakes!


Review of ‘Oi, Cave Boy !’ by Books for Keeps [3 stars]

Iggy is soon to become a warrior in the Urk tribe, but to accomplish this he must first pass the testing. The testing involves killing a snake, but this is where things go wrong - ever so slightly. For Iggy’s snake is large, dangerous and not about to take death lying down... In fact the snake’s behaviour is not the only trouble that occurs, as a takeover bid in the tribe is also underfoot. Macdonald’s eye for dialogue and relationships is well honed to the humour of Key Stage Two readers, who will find this book easy to pick up and fun to read. The promise of another title in the series means that readers will have something more to look forward to. Well worth getting for children who enjoy a laugh as they read.

About the Author

Alan Macdonald

Alan was born in Watford and went to university in Bangor, North Wales, where he studied English and Drama. He started working life in a travelling theatre company, visiting schools all over the country & writing much of their material. He says it was a useful apprenticeship - if the audience didn't like the play, they talked through it or threw bits of paper at the actors. He very quickly learned what children liked.

A keen football fan, Alan has supported Watford FC since childhood. Many of his stories have a football focus - which he rates as the next best thing to playing for England! He dreamed of becoming a professional footballer, but when he won a pen in a writing competition, his fate was sealed. Alan has written over eighty children's books, which have been translated into many languages and won several awards.

In 2010, Dirty Bertie: Loo! was winner of the Leicestershire Children's Book Prize. Alan also writes for TV, including the hugely popular 'Horrid Henry' on CITV.

The Dirty Bertie series by Alan Macdonald is immensely popular, particularly with boys! We recently received this from one massive fan:

"The books are amazing and very imaginative...I love your books like Pants, Mud, Fleas and Worms and will continue to read lots." Abdullah D

More books by this author

Loading similar books...

Other Formats

Book Info


192 pages


Alan Macdonald
More books by Alan Macdonald

Author's Website



Bloomsbury Publishing PLC

Publication date

5th April 2010




I love finding new books to read. My mummy and me look at the new ones coming out. I have written reviews of some of them!

Jessica Cobbin – age 7

It’s a community united by a passion for books and promoting the best there is in children’s literature.

Sam Bateman and family

It’s really exciting to read and review new books, thrilling to see my reviews online and I love finding the final published copies on sale.

Sam Harper – age 10

Lovereading4kids is great, we get books really early never late. We love to read and review, and think you would like it too. The excitement

Jasmine Harris-Hart, age 12

Lovereading is just a convenient way to find new books and hear others opinions on them.

Sarah Murray – age 15

Writing reviews help the children with their literacy skills and we always read the books together which gives us good quality family time!

Cat Bisland (on behalf of the Bi

I love Lovereading because I often never know what to read and this helps you find a good book. I have recommended this to many people.

Shannon-Louise Masters – age 15

We love Lovereading4kids because they put books in front of us we wouldn’t otherwise have read. They make us more adventurous readers!

Emily Jacques

Lovereading 4 schools