Oi, Cave Boy! - Iggy the Urk Book 1 by Alan Macdonald
  

Oi, Cave Boy! - Iggy the Urk Book 1

Written by Alan Macdonald
Illustrated by Mark Beech

7+ readers   5+ readers   eBooks   
Notify me
when in stock

As soon as this book is back in stock we will send you an email.

Download an extract Share this book

The Lovereading4Kids comment

Fans of Mr Gum, Grubtown Tales, Charlie Small and Dirty bertie or indeed the Flintstones will love this new series featuring a wonderfully adventurous cave boy called Iggy.

Full of humour it will entertain on every page as you discover more and more about Iggy who turns out to be nothing like your usual Stone Age boy, for he isn’t interested in all the usual things like hunting and making flint tools. Instead he’s inventing things and trying them out himself or on others with a mixture of success!

Win ticket to Gruffalo’s Child Live on stage plus 2018 Annual

Win a family ticket to see The Gruffalo’s Child Live on stage in the West End plus a copy of The Gruffalo and Friends Annual 2018.

Following hot on the heels of The Gruffalo’s monstrous success comes The Gruffalo’s Child - with attitude! Just how brave is she? Find out for yourselves by joining her in the West End this Christmas! The Gruffalo said that no gruffalo should ever set foot in the deep dark wood. . . One wild and windy night the Gruffalo’s Child ignores her father’s warning and tiptoes out into the snow. After all, the Big Bad Mouse doesn’t really exist... does he?

Tall Stories returns, bringing Julia Donaldson and Axel Scheffler’s award-winning sequel to life in this magical, musical adaptation.

One winner will receive a family ticket (four tickets, minimum one adult) to see The Gruffalo’s Child Live at the Lyric Theatre valid until 16 December, excludes 12pm weekend performances plus a copy of The Gruffalo and Friends Annual 2018. Subject to availability. No cash alternative. Travel and accommodation not included. The Gruffalo’s Child © Julia Donaldson and Axel Scheffler 2004 – Macmillan Children’s Books.

To have a chance of winning this prize click the button below.

Please note that this draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once.

The draw closes on 20 November 2017. The winners will be notified by 22 November 2017.

Good luck!


Enter prize draw Draw closes: 20/11/2017

Synopsis

Oi, Cave Boy! - Iggy the Urk Book 1 by Alan Macdonald

Iggy is different from the rest of his tribe, the Urks. He isn't interested in the usual things such as flint tools, hunting or boulder-rolling. He's always daubing on the walls of his cave or coming up with infuriating new ideas. According to his dad: 'We don't need new ideas - we have plenty of old ones.' Iggy's latest invention is a primitive scootalong or Stone Age skateboard. His parents don't want him playing outside in case the neighbours complain. Besides, they have more important things to talk about: tomorrow is the Sons of Urk ceremony, when boys who come of age are accepted into the tribe as hunters. Iggy is eager to take part, but he'll have to pass the ritual initiation test, which means facing the one thing he dreads more than anything: snakes!

Reviews

Review of ‘Oi, Cave Boy !’ by Books for Keeps [3 stars]

Iggy is soon to become a warrior in the Urk tribe, but to accomplish this he must first pass the testing. The testing involves killing a snake, but this is where things go wrong - ever so slightly. For Iggy’s snake is large, dangerous and not about to take death lying down... In fact the snake’s behaviour is not the only trouble that occurs, as a takeover bid in the tribe is also underfoot. Macdonald’s eye for dialogue and relationships is well honed to the humour of Key Stage Two readers, who will find this book easy to pick up and fun to read. The promise of another title in the series means that readers will have something more to look forward to. Well worth getting for children who enjoy a laugh as they read.

About the Author

Alan Macdonald

Alan was born in Watford and went to university in Bangor, North Wales, where he studied English and Drama. He started working life in a travelling theatre company, visiting schools all over the country & writing much of their material. He says it was a useful apprenticeship - if the audience didn't like the play, they talked through it or threw bits of paper at the actors. He very quickly learned what children liked.

A keen football fan, Alan has supported Watford FC since childhood. Many of his stories have a football focus - which he rates as the next best thing to playing for England! He dreamed of becoming a professional footballer, but when he won a pen in a writing competition, his fate was sealed. Alan has written over eighty children's books, which have been translated into many languages and won several awards.

In 2010, Dirty Bertie: Loo! was winner of the Leicestershire Children's Book Prize. Alan also writes for TV, including the hugely popular 'Horrid Henry' on CITV.

The Dirty Bertie series by Alan Macdonald is immensely popular, particularly with boys! We recently received this from one massive fan:

"The books are amazing and very imaginative...I love your books like Pants, Mud, Fleas and Worms and will continue to read lots." Abdullah D

More books by this author

Loading similar books...

Other Formats

Book Info

Format

Paperback

Author

Alan Macdonald
More books by Alan Macdonald

Publisher

Bloomsbury Publishing PLC

Publication date

5th April 2010

ISBN

9781408803349

Categories


I am so pleased to have signed my kids up as they are reading a much wider range of books and even choosing books out of their comfort zone.

Angela East

This company is amazing; not only is it is a great opportunity to get books and review them but everyone is so friendly and supportive!

Jemma Rubens, age 10

I love Lovereading because I often never know what to read and this helps you find a good book. I have recommended this to many people.

Shannon-Louise Masters – age 15

We love Lovereading as my 5 year old loves to read new books before anyone else has a chance, she says it makes reading exciting!

Tracey Chorley

It gives me a chance to read types of books that I would not normally try, and it motivates me to read every night to finish it!

Alice Horncastle, age 14

I love ‘LoveReading 4 kids’ because they let you read and learn things you’d never dreamed of learning before.

Emily Horncastle – age 11

I love lovereading4kids because I’ve read amazing books I would never have picked up, and its opened doors to new genre’s I now love.

Harriet Cunningham

Lovereading is just a convenient way to find new books and hear others opinions on them.

Sarah Murray – age 15
Lovereading

Lovereading 4 schools
****