LoveReading4Kids

Becoming a member of the LoveReading4Kids community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unconditional book loving for your children with their favourites saved to their own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop plus lots lots more...

Find out more

Oi, Cave Boy! - Iggy the Urk Book 1

Written by Alan Macdonald

Illustrated by Mark Beech

Featured Books for 5+ readers Featured Books for 7+ readers Recommended Children's eBooks

LoveReading View on Oi, Cave Boy! - Iggy the Urk Book 1

Fans of Mr Gum, Grubtown Tales, Charlie Small and Dirty bertie or indeed the Flintstones will love this new series featuring a wonderfully adventurous cave boy called Iggy.

Full of humour it will entertain on every page as you discover more and more about Iggy who turns out to be nothing like your usual Stone Age boy, for he isn’t interested in all the usual things like hunting and making flint tools. Instead he’s inventing things and trying them out himself or on others with a mixture of success!

LoveReading4Kids

Oi, Cave Boy! - Iggy the Urk Book 1 Synopsis

Iggy is different from the rest of his tribe, the Urks. He isn't interested in the usual things such as flint tools, hunting or boulder-rolling. He's always daubing on the walls of his cave or coming up with infuriating new ideas. According to his dad: 'We don't need new ideas - we have plenty of old ones.' Iggy's latest invention is a primitive scootalong or Stone Age skateboard. His parents don't want him playing outside in case the neighbours complain. Besides, they have more important things to talk about: tomorrow is the Sons of Urk ceremony, when boys who come of age are accepted into the tribe as hunters. Iggy is eager to take part, but he'll have to pass the ritual initiation test, which means facing the one thing he dreads more than anything: snakes!

Oi, Cave Boy! - Iggy the Urk Book 1 Press Reviews

Review of ‘Oi, Cave Boy !’ by Books for Keeps [3 stars]

Iggy is soon to become a warrior in the Urk tribe, but to accomplish this he must first pass the testing. The testing involves killing a snake, but this is where things go wrong - ever so slightly. For Iggy’s snake is large, dangerous and not about to take death lying down... In fact the snake’s behaviour is not the only trouble that occurs, as a takeover bid in the tribe is also underfoot. Macdonald’s eye for dialogue and relationships is well honed to the humour of Key Stage Two readers, who will find this book easy to pick up and fun to read. The promise of another title in the series means that readers will have something more to look forward to. Well worth getting for children who enjoy a laugh as they read.   

If you loved this, you might like these...

The Golden Acorn
Bad Mermaids: On Thin Ice
The Adventures of Harry Stevenson
The Dragon in the Library

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9781408803349
Publication date: 05/04/2010
Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
Format: Paperback

Book Information

ISBN: 9781408803349
Publication date: 5th April 2010
Author: Alan Macdonald
Illustrator: Mark Beech
Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
Format: Paperback
Suitable for: 5+ readers, 7+ readers
Recommendations: eBooks

About Alan Macdonald

Alan was born in Watford and went to university in Bangor, North Wales, where he studied English and Drama. He started working life in a travelling theatre company, visiting schools all over the country & writing much of their material. He says it was a useful apprenticeship - if the audience didn't like the play, they talked through it or threw bits of paper at the actors. He very quickly learned what children liked.Alan later trained as a drama teacher at Nottingham University, but most of his work in connection with the theatre has been as a writer or ...

More About Alan Macdonald

More Books By Alan Macdonald

Cover for Dirty Bertie: Fetch! by Alan Macdonald
Cover for Dirty Bertie: Loo! by Alan Macdonald
Cover for History of Warts, Honesty Wart: Witch Hunter! by Alan Macdonald
View All Books By Alan Macdonald

Share this book

LoveReading
LoveWriting
LoveReading4Schools
NEW INDIE AND SELF PUBLISHED BOOK REVIEW AND PROMOTION SERVICE LAUNCHED!    Read More
×