Reader Reviewed Blood Donors by Steve Tasane
  

Blood Donors

Written by Steve Tasane

13+ readers   Debuts of the Month   eBooks   
Download an extract Add to wishlist Share this book

The Lovereading4Kids comment

Selected by a distinguished independent panel of experts including our editorial expert, Julia Eccleshare, for Diverse Voices - 50 of the best Children's Books celebrating cultural diversity in the UK.

October 2013 Debut of the Month Features an edgy, funny, scary mash-up of urban horror and social realism: for fans of The Misfits and Attack the Block!,with hints of Ian Banks' coming-of-age classic The Wasp Factory. Narrated entirely in Marshall's street voice and set in a multicultural community on a mission to crush the stereotype; a pacy, pulsing read to make you squirm and scratch, with Mega-bugs as a subtext for the social parasites of poverty and crime; and Pitter-pat. Pitter-pat. Pitter-pat. Itchy yet?

reader reviews

In addition to our Lovereading expert opinion for Blood Donors a small number of readers were lucky enough to be invited to review this title. Here's a taster....'an exciting, fright-filled, adrenaline-filled book. With funny, convincing characters and a terrifying plot, Blood Donors is the perfect book for horror lovers.'

Scroll down to read more reviews...

Win an original print from The Pavee and the Buffer Girl

Siobhan Dowd's powerful story of the fight against racism and prejudice, The Pavee and the Buffer Girl, has been reissued as a splendid graphic novel with stunning illustrations by Emma Shoard. We are giving away an ORIGINAL print from the book (shown here) and a copy SIGNED by Emma.

To have a chance of winning this special prize, click the button below. Please note that this draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once.

The draw closes on 3 May 2017. The winners will be notified by 15 May 2017.

Good luck!


Enter prize draw Draw closes: 03/05/2017

Synopsis

Blood Donors by Steve Tasane

Bad blood. Bad drugs. Bad bugs. Welcome to the finger. A Splatterfest with a Social Conscience from radical new voice in teen fiction, Steve Tasane.

Meet Marshall O'Connor the First, troubled youf. He lives in The Finger, the scuzzie old tower block where they put the antisociable families. Nobody ain't listening, but he's got a story to tell. So, people keep dying in The Finger. Authorities say it's dirty smack going round, but the bodies aren't all users, and they looked like they died screaming...Then there's the bedbugs, all over the block; infestation - proper nasty, yeah? - they're driving Marshall crazy. True, he's got himself some anger-management issues, but sometimes you gotta fight for your turf. Cos it's not the drugs they should be worrying about: the bloodsucking bugs have grown some, and they're looking for a bigger feed...Believe - This Story 10 Outta 10 On The Scare-Ometer.

Reviews

A small number of readers were lucky enough to be invited to review Blood Donors. Read their reviews below.

Daisy Pennock, age 16 - 'Creepily beautiful -this book will grip you from the start.' Click Here to read the full review.

Safiyah Afghan - 'Blood Donors is an exciting, fright-filled, adrenaline-filled book. With funny, convincing characters and a terrifying plot, Blood Donors is the perfect book for horror lovers.' Click Here to read the full review.

Josh Hall - 'A good book...for those who like gory tales about bloodsucking bugs!' Click Here to read the full review.

Rosa Boran - 'A good book but I found it hard to get into it at the start. By the end I really enjoyed it and felt a bit freaked out...I would love to read more of his books.' Click Here to read the full review.

Lola Bridgeman, age 16 - 'Blood Donors is very male centric and would appeal greatly to teenage boys. It was written in local dialect to London which made it stand out among other books.' Click Here to read the full review.

_________________________________

Further praise for Blood Donors.

“Blood Donors does something almost impossible – it combines an utterly convincing
setting and all-too-human characters with a story of nightmarish intensity. The language
hums with energy and the pace is relentless.” Anthony McGowan

About the Author

Steve Tasane

Steve Tasane is a writer and performance poet who rap-funks for everyone from primary schools to May Day anarchists . He has performed at Glastonbury, been writer in residence at the V&A Museum of Childhood, been broadcast on TV and radio, and has just completed a writing residency for Dickens 2012 in Southampton. Blood Donors is his first novel for teens, although he was previously shortlisted for the Diverse Voices Award.

Steve lives in Hastings, East Sussex.

More books by this author

Loading similar books...

Other Formats

Book Info

Format

Paperback
256 pages
Interest Age: From 12

Author

Steve Tasane
More books by Steve Tasane

Author's Website

www.applesandsnakes.org/pag...

Author's Facebook Latest

Publisher

Walker Books Ltd

Publication date

3rd October 2013

ISBN

9781406344059

Categories


We love Lovereading4kids because it promotes reading choices, new authors and a sense of community for children of all ages!

Rachel Bridgeman

I love lovereading4kids because I’ve read amazing books I would never have picked up, and its opened doors to new genre’s I now love.

Harriet Cunningham

I love all the books they recommend & put up for me to review. I also love the fact that they give new authors the chance to share their boo

Daisy Pennock – age 15

It’s so easy to find the right book for your child. Such an easy-to-use, yet in-depth website. 100% reliable.

Pippa, Jack, Liam & Matthew Wils

I think Lovereading4kids is an amazing company because of the friendly staff and the fabulous chance to read great books before publication.

Adam Graham

It is THE website to use for narrowing down your search for any book. Definitely knocks the socks off any other book review website.

Nickey and Tomasz Hawryszczuk

It’s a community united by a passion for books and promoting the best there is in children’s literature.

Sam Bateman and family

Love “Lovereading4kids” as my son gets to hear about & read new books before his mates which keeps him interested in reading=a very happy Mum

Liz Evans
Lovereading

Lovereading 4 schools