Blood Donors

Written by Steve Tasane

Debuts of the Month Featured Books for 13+ readers General Fiction Recommended Children's eBooks

LoveReading View on Blood Donors

Selected by a distinguished independent panel of experts including our editorial expert, Julia Eccleshare, for Diverse Voices - 50 of the best Children's Books celebrating cultural diversity in the UK.

October 2013 Debut of the Month   Features an edgy, funny, scary mash-up of urban horror and social realism: for fans of The Misfits and Attack the Block!,with hints of Ian Banks' coming-of-age classic The Wasp Factory.  Narrated entirely in Marshall's street voice and set in a multicultural community on a mission to crush the stereotype; a pacy, pulsing read to make you squirm and scratch, with Mega-bugs as a subtext for the social parasites of poverty and crime; and Pitter-pat. Pitter-pat. Pitter-pat. Itchy yet?

reader reviews

In addition to our Lovereading expert opinion for Blood Donors a small number of readers were lucky enough to be invited to review this title. Here's a taster....'an exciting, fright-filled, adrenaline-filled book. With funny, convincing characters and a terrifying plot, Blood Donors is the perfect book for horror lovers.'

Scroll down to read more reviews...

Blood Donors Synopsis

Bad blood. Bad drugs. Bad bugs. Welcome to the finger. A Splatterfest with a Social Conscience from radical new voice in teen fiction, Steve Tasane.

Meet Marshall O'Connor the First, troubled youf. He lives in The Finger, the scuzzie old tower block where they put the antisociable families. Nobody ain't listening, but he's got a story to tell. So, people keep dying in The Finger. Authorities say it's dirty smack going round, but the bodies aren't all users, and they looked like they died screaming...Then there's the bedbugs, all over the block; infestation - proper nasty, yeah? - they're driving Marshall crazy. True, he's got himself some anger-management issues, but sometimes you gotta fight for your turf. Cos it's not the drugs they should be worrying about: the bloodsucking bugs have grown some, and they're looking for a bigger feed...Believe - This Story 10 Outta 10 On The Scare-Ometer.

Blood Donors Press Reviews

A small number of readers were lucky enough to be invited to review Blood Donors.  Read their reviews below.

Daisy Pennock, age 16 - 'Creepily beautiful -this book will grip you from the start.'  Click Here to read the full review.

Safiyah Afghan - 'Blood Donors is an exciting, fright-filled, adrenaline-filled book. With funny, convincing characters and a terrifying plot, Blood Donors is the perfect book for horror lovers.'  Click Here to read the full review.

Josh Hall - 'A good book...for those who like gory tales about bloodsucking bugs!' Click Here to read the full review.

Rosa Boran - 'A good book but I found it hard to get into it at the start. By the end I really enjoyed it and felt a bit freaked out...I would love to read more of his books.'  Click Here to read the full review.

Lola Bridgeman, age 16 - 'Blood Donors is very male centric and would appeal greatly to teenage boys. It was written in local dialect to London which made it stand out among other books.' Click Here to read the full review.

_________________________________

 Further praise for Blood Donors.

“Blood Donors does something almost impossible – it combines an utterly convincing
setting and all-too-human characters with a story of nightmarish intensity. The language
hums with energy and the pace is relentless.” Anthony McGowan

If you loved this, you might like these...

Almost Midnight: Two Festive Short Stories
No Fixed Address
KILLER T
True Sisters

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9781406344059
Publication date: 03/10/2013
Publisher: Walker Books Ltd
Format: Paperback

Book Information

ISBN: 9781406344059
Publication date: 3rd October 2013
Author: Steve Tasane
Publisher: Walker Books Ltd
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 256 pages
Suitable for: 13+ readers
Genres: General Fiction
Recommendations: Debuts of the Month, eBooks
Other Categories: Reviewed by Children

About Steve Tasane

Steve Tasane is a writer and performance poet who rap-funks for everyone from primary schools to May Day anarchists . He has performed at Glastonbury, been writer in residence at the V&A Museum of Childhood, been broadcast on TV and radio, and has just completed a writing residency for Dickens 2012 in Southampton. Blood Donors is his first novel for teens, although he was previously shortlisted for the Diverse Voices Award. Steve lives in Hastings, East Sussex.    

More About Steve Tasane

More Books By Steve Tasane

Cover for Child I by Steve Tasane
View All Books By Steve Tasane

Share this book

LoveReading4Kids Kids Zone

Check out the latest activities in our KidsZone.

NEW INDIE AND SELF PUBLISHED BOOK REVIEW AND PROMOTION SERVICE LAUNCHED!    Read More
×