The Story Machine by Tom McLaughlin
  

The Story Machine

Written by Tom McLaughlin
Illustrated by

RRP £6.99

Synopsis

The Story Machine by Tom McLaughlin

Elliott is a boy who likes to find things and, one day, he stumbles across a machine. At first, he can't work out what the machine is for - it doesn't beep or buzz like all his other machines and it doesn't have an ON/OFF button. Then, quite by accident, Elliott makes the machine work. The machine makes letters! Elliott thinks it must be a story machine but, sadly, Elliott isn't very good at letters and words. How can he make magical stories without them? But, wait, some of the letters look like pictures. Elliott is good at pictures and, as he discovers, pictures make stories. An inspiring, uplifting picture book about the simple joys of a typewriter in a world of hi-tech machines. Perfect for fans of Oliver Jeffers.

Reviews

A winner of a book about the power of drawing and story telling Oliver Jeffers A charming, rewarding, instructive read -- FT Financial Times

About the Author

Tom McLaughlin

Tom McLaughlin studied illustration at Falmouth College of Art, and then before becoming a writer and illustrator he spent 9 years working as political cartoonist for The Western Morning News thinking up silly jokes about even sillier politicians. Then, in 2004 Tom took the plunge into illustrating and writing his own books. He became a freelance illustrator in 2006, and also directed a short animated film, The Girl with the Pink Shoes. He has created a number of animated TV concepts, and worked with an animation studio. He has now branched out into children’s books and The Diabolical Mr Tiddles was the first book he has both illustrated and written the story for. Tom has just published his next book, The Accidental Prime Minister for OUP.

Tom lives in Devon with his wife, two sons and a scruffy cat. His hobbies include drinking tea, looking out of the window, and biscuits. His hates include spiders, running out of biscuits, and writing biographies.

More books by this author

Other Formats

Book Info

Format

Paperback
32 pages
Interest Age: from 0 to 5

Author

Tom McLaughlin
More books by Tom McLaughlin

Author's Website

www.tommclaughlin.co.uk/

Publisher

Bloomsbury Childrens an imprint of Bloomsbury Publishing PLC

Publication date

15th January 2015

ISBN

9781408839348


I think Lovereading4kids is an amazing company because of the friendly staff and the fabulous chance to read great books before publication.

Adam Graham

Lovereading is just a convenient way to find new books and hear others opinions on them.

Sarah Murray – age 15

It is fantastic, you get to read lots of books and you always find something new and amazing in them.

Erica Motoc, age 7

We love Lovereading4kids because it promotes reading choices, new authors and a sense of community for children of all ages!

Rachel Bridgeman

Love “Lovereading4kids” as my son gets to hear about & read new books before his mates which keeps him interested in reading=a very happy Mum

Liz Evans

Lovereading4kids is great, we get books really early never late. We love to read and review, and think you would like it too. The excitement

Jasmine Harris-Hart, age 12

We love Lovereading4kids because they put books in front of us we wouldn’t otherwise have read. They make us more adventurous readers!

Emily Jacques

I have told all my friends, family & teachers to see for themselves just how great the site is. Without fail, they are hugely impressed.

Alexander Boxall – age 11
Lovereading

Lovereading 4 schools