LoveReading4Kids

Becoming a member of the LoveReading4Kids community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unconditional book loving for your children with their favourites saved to their own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop plus lots lots more...

Find out more

The Story Machine

Written by Tom McLaughlin

The Story Machine Synopsis

Elliott is a boy who likes to find things and, one day, he stumbles across a machine. At first, he can't work out what the machine is for - it doesn't beep or buzz like all his other machines and it doesn't have an ON/OFF button. Then, quite by accident, Elliott makes the machine work. The machine makes letters! Elliott thinks it must be a story machine but, sadly, Elliott isn't very good at letters and words. How can he make magical stories without them? But, wait, some of the letters look like pictures. Elliott is good at pictures and, as he discovers, pictures make stories. An inspiring, uplifting picture book about the simple joys of a typewriter in a world of hi-tech machines. Perfect for fans of Oliver Jeffers.

The Story Machine Press Reviews

A winner of a book about the power of drawing and story telling * Oliver Jeffers * A charming, rewarding, instructive read -- FT * Financial Times *

Book Information

ISBN: 9781408839348
Publication date: 15th January 2015
Author: Tom McLaughlin
Publisher: Bloomsbury Childrens Books an imprint of Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
Format: Paperback / softback
Pagination: 32 pages

About Tom McLaughlin

TOM MCLAUGHLIN is the author/illustrator of The Diabolical Mr Tiddles (Simon and Schuster) and the illustrator of the Captain Boots series of picture books (Puffin). He loves drinking tea, eating lunch and drawing, and he would quite like to be a virtuoso banjo player. Tom lives in Devon. The Story Machine is his first book for Bloomsbury.

More About Tom McLaughlin

More Books By Tom McLaughlin

Cover for Along Came a Different by Tom McLaughlin
Cover for The Day I Became the Most Wanted Boy in the World by Tom McLaughlin
Cover for The Accidental President by Tom McLaughlin
View All Books By Tom McLaughlin

Share this book

LoveReading
LoveWriting
LoveReading4Schools
NEW INDIE AND SELF PUBLISHED BOOK REVIEW AND PROMOTION SERVICE LAUNCHED!    Read More
×