Tom McLaughlin - Author

About the Author

Having started life as a political cartoonist and then an animator, Tom McLaughlin is now best-known for his picture books, including The Diabolical Mr Tiddles (Simon & Schuster), The Story Machine and The Cloudspotter (both Bloomsbury). His first novel, The Accidental Prime Minister was shortlisted for 12 regional UK prizes followed by The Accidental Secret Agent and Tom's hilariously funny and much anticipated book, The Day That Aliens (Nearly) Ate our Brains.

Tom lives in Devon and his hobbies include drinking tea, looking out of the window, and biscuits. His hates include spiders, running out of biscuits, and writing biographies.

Featured books by Tom McLaughlin

Other books by Tom McLaughlin

Along Came a Different

Along Came a Different

Author: Tom McLaughlin Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 07/02/2019

Reds love being red. Yellows love being yellow. And Blues love being blue. The problem is that they just don't like each other. But one day, along comes a different colour who likes Reds, Yellows and Blues, and suddenly everything starts to change. Maybe being different doesn't mean you can't be friends ... A very special picture book that supports the adage that there is more that unites us than divides us. Along Came a Different just goes to show how much better we can all be when we come together to find common ground as friends. Every bookshelf should have a copy.

Hero Academy: Oxford Level 12, Lime+ Book Band: The Termite-nator

Hero Academy: Oxford Level 12, Lime+ Book Band: The Termite-nator

Author: Tom McLaughlin Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 06/09/2018

Project X Hero Academy is a fully decodable and finely levelled reading series set in a school for superheroes, designed to captivate and motivate all young readers and turn them into reading superheroes. The Termite-nator is in Lime+ Book Band, Oxford Level 12. In this story, Lexis City comes under attack from a giant robotic termite! Evan and Nisha must defeat the termite and stop the villain who made it. Each book can be used for independent reading, but also contains inside cover notes that include help on developing vocabulary and prompt questions that can be used for guided reading and one-to-one sessions. Full guided reading notes are provided in the corresponding handbook. There are also a range of follow-up activities to support reading for pleasure.

Day I Became the Most Wanted Boy in the World

Day I Became the Most Wanted Boy in the World

Author: Tom McLaughlin Format: eBook Release Date: 02/08/2018

A laugh-a-minute, worst-day-ever adventure packed full of hilariously witty illustrations.Nine year old Pete is about to have the worst day ever in this hilarious adventure, perfect for fans of Pamela Butchart and Frank Cottrell Boyce. There's nothing Pete loves more than sitting at home, being quiet and watching the snooker. But when he accidentally bumps into a local gangster, Pete and his super annoying next door neighbour, Sammy, are caught up in a series of events that get worse and worse at each and every turn. Now Pete is in a race against time to prove his innocence - but it's tricky to do that, especially when everyone thinks that you're the most wanted boy in the world.

Day I Became the Most Wanted Boy in the World

Day I Became the Most Wanted Boy in the World

Author: Tom McLaughlin Format: eBook Release Date: 02/08/2018

A laugh-a-minute, worst-day-ever adventure packed full of hilariously witty illustrations.Nine year old Pete is about to have the worst day ever in this hilarious adventure, perfect for fans of Pamela Butchart and Frank Cottrell Boyce. There's nothing Pete loves more than sitting at home, being quiet and watching the snooker. But when he accidentally bumps into a local gangster, Pete and his super annoying next door neighbour, Sammy, are caught up in a series of events that get worse and worse at each and every turn. Now Pete is in a race against time to prove his innocence - but it's tricky to do that, especially when everyone thinks that you're the most wanted boy in the world.

The Accidental President

The Accidental President

Author: Tom McLaughlin Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 05/07/2018

On a visit to the US things take a strange turn for 12-year-old Ajay when, completely at random and totally by accident, he is sworn in as the new president. Well, I guess he can't be any worse than that guy who had the job before him, right? Wrong. It's quite easy for power to go to your head and Ajay, overwhelmed by it all, goes rogue. Soon he's too busy ordering sparkly capes and enforcing the new national spider plan to spot the dastardly plot unfolding right under his nose.

Happyville High: Geek Tragedy

Happyville High: Geek Tragedy

Author: Tom McLaughlin Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 17/05/2018

Happyville High may seem like the perfect school, but scratch beneath the surface and there's something really weird going on . . . When the popular kids start growing extra-long spaghetti arms it's time for super nerds-Tyler, Dylan, and Ashley-to use their geek powers to save the day! Laugh-out-loud fun from bestselling author Tom McLaughlin.

Along Came a Different

Along Came a Different

Author: Tom McLaughlin Format: Hardback Release Date: 05/04/2018

Reds love being red. Yellows love being yellow. And Blues love being blue. The problem is that they just don't like each other. But one day, along comes a different colour who likes Reds, Yellows and Blues, and suddenly everything starts to change. Maybe being different doesn't mean you can't be friends ... A very special picture book that supports the adage that there is more that unites us than divides us. Along Came a Different just goes to show how much better we can all be when we come together to find common ground as friends. Every bookshelf should have a copy.

Day That Aliens (Nearly) Ate Our Brains

Day That Aliens (Nearly) Ate Our Brains

Author: Tom McLaughlin Format: eBook Release Date: 04/01/2018

A laugh-a-minute, action-packed alien adventure perfect for fans of Pamela Butchart and Frank Cottrell Boyce.A laugh-a-minute action-packed alien adventure perfect for fans of Pamela Butchart and Frank Cottrell Boyce.Best friends Freddy and Sal have accidentally intercepted a message from Alan - a spectacularly grumpy, brain-munching alien from outer space. Alan has only one message. Earth is going to be invaded in exactly ten hours' time. Soon the police, NASA and even Presidents from around the world are getting involved - and Freddy is about to become the most famous kid on planet earth for all the wrong reasons. Wolverhampton, we have a problem.

The Cloudspotter

The Cloudspotter

Author: Tom McLaughlin Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 11/02/2016

His real name was Franklin. But everyone called him The Cloudspotter ... Have you ever looked up at the sky to see a whole new world developing in the clouds? You have? Then you'll love this book about Franklin. There isn't a single cloud that Franklin can't spot - big ones, small ones, silly ones, sneaky pretend-they-can't-see-you ones. But when Scruffy Dog comes along, things begin to change for Franklin. How can he concentrate on cloudspotting when Scruffy is such a distraction? And what's more important - his hobby or his friend? A beautifully realised picture book, celebrating the power of the imagination and the importance of friendship, from the creator of The Story Machine.

The Story Machine

The Story Machine

Author: Tom McLaughlin Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 15/01/2015

Elliott is a boy who likes to find things and, one day, he stumbles across a machine. At first, he can't work out what the machine is for - it doesn't beep or buzz like all his other machines and it doesn't have an ON/OFF button. Then, quite by accident, Elliott makes the machine work. The machine makes letters! Elliott thinks it must be a story machine but, sadly, Elliott isn't very good at letters and words. How can he make magical stories without them? But, wait, some of the letters look like pictures. Elliott is good at pictures and, as he discovers, pictures make stories. An inspiring, uplifting picture book about the simple joys of a typewriter in a world of hi-tech machines. Perfect for fans of Oliver Jeffers.

Author Info

Author's Website

http://www.tommclaughlin.co.uk/

Author's Facebook

Find Tom McLaughlin on Facebook

LoveReading4Kids Kids Zone

Check out the latest activities in our KidsZone.

NEW INDIE AND SELF PUBLISHED BOOK REVIEW AND PROMOTION SERVICE LAUNCHED!    Read More
×