This content is provided by Lovereading4kids.co.uk
Reader Reviewed
Saving Sophia by Fleur Hitchcock
  

Saving Sophia

Fleur Hitchcock

11+ readers   Books of the Month   9+ readers   eBooks   eBooks   
Notify me
when in stock

As soon as this book is back in stock we will send you an email.

Download an extract Share this book

The Lovereading4Kids comment

July 2014 Book of the Month An utterly absorbing, hilarious, mysterious and brilliantly told new novel, that will make you both laugh and cry, from the author of Dear Scarlett. Lottie, who yearns for adventure but never gets it and mischievous Sophia who regularly makes her own adventures meet up at a holiday camp. It's not long before Sophia has 'kidnapped' Lottie into running away to search for her mother and in so doing Lottie ends up having much more of an adventure than she bargained for. Perfect for fans of Eva Ibbotson and Jenny Valentine.

A Piece of Passion from Kirsty, Editor, Nosy Crow “This is a great book. It’s so beautifully written, it pulls you in and refuses to let go. Perfect for everyone who likes a quirky adventure that makes you laugh and cry in equal measure.”

Reader Reviews

Kids love to read and so in addition to our Lovereading expert opinion some of our Kids Reader Review Panel were also lucky enough to read and review this title.

  • Isabel Cox, age 10 - 'I liked this book because they go through lots of adventures. Also at the end of every chapter there is a cliff hanger and you just want to read on!' Read full review >
  • Amie Coffman, age 9 - 'This is a thrilling, humbling read and I highly recommend it.' Read full review >
  • Sophie Bridges, age 11 - 'The reason I enjoyed this book so much is because I love adventures and exiting things like that.' Read full review >
  • Sean Keaveny, age 11 - 'A great adventure story about a girl looking for adventure who learns to love her strange family.' Read full review >
  • Emily Passmore, age 13 - 'A story for literally anyone, Saving Sophia is perfect for anyone who reads adventure usually or otherwise.' Read full review >
  • Morgan Steigmann Age 15 - 'Bringing a brand new twist to the classic adventure story through the unique characters of Lottie and Sophia, Hitchcock delivers the perfect balance of action alongside friendship and mystery.' Read full review >
  • Sidney Greenslade, age 10 - 'Saving Sophia is a fantastic, fast paced story of friendship, adventure and danger with plenty of laughs. Highly recommended!' Read full review >
  • Isabel Kardos-Stowe, age 10 - 'I think this book is suitable for all junior school children. A lovely story of friendship and courage. This really demonstrates that a promise is a promise. Lottie keeps hers. A great read!' Read full review >
  • Lucy Minton, age 10 - 'Fleur Hitchcock is a brilliant author whose plots and characters engage me all the time...Overall a great book.' Read full review >
  • Heather Greenan, age 10 - 'Saving Sophia is a believable book that is set in modern times.' Read full review >
  • Alice East, age 9 - 'I thought that this was a brilliant book.  It tells the story of two clever children escaping from a Summer Camp.' Read full review >
  • Lola Frary, age 10 - 'A truly amazing story which makes you giggle and weep. I would definitely recommend this book to adventure lovers.' Read full review >
  • Cara Hayward-Anderson, age 9 - 'Sophia and Lottie are really good characters! The book is interesting. And it is REALLY REALLY GOOD!' Read full review >

Win a Family Break to Salisbury!

Don’t miss out! Enter to win a family break to Salisbury!

Here at Lovereading.co.uk and Lovereading4kids.co.uk we are delighted to be giving you a chance to win a wonderful family break. You could see yourself indulging in the finest food and slumbering comfortably into one of the grand rooms at The Red Lion Salisbury for two nights. The Red Lion Hotel is located in medieval city of Salisbury, which is home to all your favourite stores as well as independent shops, restaurants, cafes and parks and green spaces. Nearby is Stonehenge, Salisbury Plain and numerous sites of historic and archaeological interest.

There are many seasonal events in Salisbury, and you can find out what’s on here. You will also receive a family ticket to Sir Harold Hillier Gardens, the gardens are especially beautiful in the winter, with bold coloured stems, scents, and fabulous foliage, you can be sure to be impressed. For the children there is also a play park, and you can stop off in the Victorian tea room to warm up and treat yourself to a traditional cream tea.

To have a chance of winning this fantastic prize, click the button below. Please note that this draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once. Entries close 31st January 2018.

Good luck!

Terms and Conditions

Red Lion: Two night stay includes breakfast for two adults and up to two children sharing a family room. Subject to availability and cannot be exchanged or redeemed for cash value. Not to be used in combination with any other offer. Valid until 1st Dec 2018 and excludes bank holidays.

Sir Harold Hillier Gardens: Valid for day entry, Not to be used for special events or group entry. Voucher is not transferable or refundable, no Cash Value. Ticket must be redeemed on entry. Valid until 31 Dec 2018. Gardens open daily from 10am – closed Christmas Day and Boxing Day. Prize admits 2 adults and accompanying children Under 17 FREE to Sir Harold Hillier Gardens.


Enter prize draw Draw closes: 31/01/2018

Synopsis

Saving Sophia by Fleur Hitchcock

All Lottie wants to do is have adventures, but no such luck. Until she meets Sophia, a girl with an excitingly mysterious history. When the two run away from a staged kayak accident to find Sophia's mum, Lottie learns a lot about having adventures (they're mostly brilliant but not the bits where you nearly die) and friendship and the truth.

About the Author

Fleur Hitchcock

Born in Chobham, by an airfield, and raised outside Winchester on the banks of the river Itchen, Fleur Hitchcock grew up as the youngest child of three. She spent her smallest years reading Tintin and Batman under her brother’s bed, and searching for King Alfred’s treasure in the river. She grew up a little, went away to school near Farnham, studied English in Wales, and, for the next twenty years, sold Applied Art in the city of Bath. When her younger child was seven, she embarked on the Writing for Young People MA at Bath Spa and graduated with a distinction.

Now living outside Bath, between parenting and writing, Fleur Hitchcock works with her husband, a toymaker, looks after other people’s gardens and tries to grow vegetables.

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...

Other Formats

Book Info

Format

Paperback
272 pages
Interest Age: From 9 years

Author

Fleur Hitchcock
More books by Fleur Hitchcock

Author's Facebook Latest

Publisher

Nosy Crow Ltd

Publication date

3rd July 2014

ISBN

9780857631749

Categories


It has introduced my children to books we hadn’t come across before. Real children’s reviews gives a great insight into what others think to

Lorraine Woods

I am so pleased to have signed my kids up as they are reading a much wider range of books and even choosing books out of their comfort zone.

Angela East

You give me age appropriate ideas of books I can read and buy for the children and find out what other children their age think of them too.

Katie Lonsdale

We love Lovereading4kids because they put books in front of us we wouldn’t otherwise have read. They make us more adventurous readers!

Emily Jacques

It’s so easy to find the right book for your child. Such an easy-to-use, yet in-depth website. 100% reliable.

Pippa, Jack, Liam & Matthew Wils

It is fantastic, you get to read lots of books and you always find something new and amazing in them.

Erica Motoc, age 7

I love ‘LoveReading 4 kids’ because they let you read and learn things you’d never dreamed of learning before.

Emily Horncastle – age 11

I love Lovereading as it provides an honest opinion and showcases a range of fiction. Suited to both parents & kids alike, it’s a must-use.

Georgie Rowe – age 16
Lovereading

Lovereading 4 schools
****