Saving Sophia

Written by Fleur Hitchcock

Adventure Stories Books of the Month - <b>December</b> Family / Home Stories Featured Books for 11+ readers Featured Books for 9+ readers Recommended Children's eBooks

LoveReading View on Saving Sophia

July 2014 Book of the Month  An utterly absorbing, hilarious, mysterious and brilliantly told new novel, that will make you both laugh and cry, from the author of Dear Scarlett.  Lottie, who yearns for adventure but never gets it and mischievous Sophia who regularly makes her own adventures meet up at a holiday camp.  It's not long before Sophia has 'kidnapped' Lottie into running away to search for her mother and in so doing Lottie ends up having much more of an adventure than she bargained for.  Perfect for fans of Eva Ibbotson and Jenny Valentine.

A Piece of Passion from Kirsty, Editor, Nosy Crow “This is a great book. It’s so beautifully written, it pulls you in and refuses to let go. Perfect for everyone who likes a quirky adventure that makes you laugh and cry in equal measure.”

Saving Sophia Synopsis

All Lottie wants to do is have adventures, but no such luck. Until she meets Sophia, a girl with an excitingly mysterious history. When the two run away from a staged kayak accident to find Sophia's mum, Lottie learns a lot about having adventures (they're mostly brilliant but not the bits where you nearly die) and friendship and the truth.

Saving Sophia Reader Reviews

Kids love to read and so in addition to our Lovereading expert opinion some of our Kids Reader Review Panel were also lucky enough to read and review this title.

  • Isabel Cox, age 10 - 'I liked this book because they go through lots of adventures. Also at the end of every chapter there is a cliff hanger and you just want to read on!' Read full review >
  • Amie Coffman, age 9 - 'This is a thrilling, humbling read and I highly recommend it.' Read full review >
  • Sophie Bridges, age 11 - 'The reason I enjoyed this book so much is because I love adventures and exiting things like that.' Read full review >
  • Sean Keaveny, age 11 - 'A great adventure story about a girl looking for adventure who learns to love her strange family.' Read full review >
  • Emily Passmore, age 13 - 'A story for literally anyone, Saving Sophia is perfect for anyone who reads adventure usually or otherwise.' Read full review >
  • Morgan Steigmann Age 15 - 'Bringing a brand new twist to the classic adventure story through the unique characters of Lottie and Sophia, Hitchcock delivers the perfect balance of action alongside friendship and mystery.' Read full review >
  • Sidney Greenslade, age 10 - 'Saving Sophia is a fantastic, fast paced story of friendship, adventure and danger with plenty of laughs. Highly recommended!' Read full review >
  • Isabel Kardos-Stowe, age 10 - 'I think this book is suitable for all junior school children. A lovely story of friendship and courage. This really demonstrates that a promise is a promise. Lottie keeps hers. A great read!' Read full review >
  • Lucy Minton, age 10 - 'Fleur Hitchcock is a brilliant author whose plots and characters engage me all the time...Overall a great book.' Read full review >
  • Heather Greenan, age 10 - 'Saving Sophia is a believable book that is set in modern times.' Read full review >
  • Alice East, age 9 - 'I thought that this was a brilliant book.  It tells the story of two clever children escaping from a Summer Camp.' Read full review >
  • Lola Frary, age 10 - 'A truly amazing story which makes you giggle and weep. I would definitely recommend this book to adventure lovers.' Read full review >
  • Cara Hayward-Anderson, age 9 - 'Sophia and Lottie are really good characters! The book is interesting. And it is REALLY REALLY GOOD!' Read full review >

If you loved this, you might like these...

The Afterwards
Twister
The 1,000-year-old Boy
The Island at the End of Everything

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9780857631749
Publication date: 03/07/2014
Publisher: Nosy Crow Ltd
Format: Paperback

Book Information

ISBN: 9780857631749
Publication date: 3rd July 2014
Author: Fleur Hitchcock
Publisher: Nosy Crow Ltd
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 272 pages
Suitable for: 11+ readers, 9+ readers
Genres: Adventure Stories, Family / Home Stories
Recommendations: Books of the Month, eBooks
Other Categories: Reviewed by Children

About Fleur Hitchcock

Born in Chobham, by an airfield, and raised outside Winchester on the banks of the river Itchen, Fleur Hitchcock grew up as the youngest child of three. She spent her smallest years reading Tintin and Batman under her brother’s bed, and searching for King Alfred’s treasure in the river. She grew up a little, went away to school near Farnham, studied English in Wales, and, for the next twenty years, sold Applied Art in the city of Bath. When her younger child was seven, she embarked on the Writing for Young People MA at Bath Spa ...

More About Fleur Hitchcock

More Books By Fleur Hitchcock

Cover for Murder in Midwinter by Fleur Hitchcock
Cover for The Yoghurt Plot by Fleur Hitchcock
Cover for SHRUNK!: Mayhem and Meteorites by Fleur Hitchcock
View All Books By Fleur Hitchcock

Share this book

LoveReading4Kids Kids Zone

Check out the latest activities in our KidsZone.

NEW INDIE AND SELF PUBLISHED BOOK REVIEW AND PROMOTION SERVICE LAUNCHED!    Read More
×