The longlist for the 2024 Klaus Flugge Prize is announced today to great fanfare as usual. Established in 2016, the Klaus Flugge Prize is awarded to the most promising and exciting newcomer to children’s picture book illustration. It honours Klaus Flugge, founder of publisher Andersen Press and a supremely influential figure in picture books.

The Klaus Flugge Prize is the only award specifically to recognise a published picture book by a debut illustrator; the winning illustrator receives a cheque for £5,000.

Over forty books were submitted for the 2024 Klaus Flugge Prize and from 27 different publishing houses; 17 have made it to the longlist.

Flying Eye Books, Little Tiger, Templar and Walker Books each have two books on the list; Rocket Bird Books, the Emma Press and Little Island Books are featured for the first time.

The 2024 Klaus Flugge Prize Longlist is:

The Slug and the Snail illustrated by Olya Anima. Written by Oein DeBhairduin, editor Siobhán Parkinson, designer Louise Millar

Outside illustrated by Oren Lapwing (formerly Bee Chuck). Editor Isabel Otter, designer Emma Jennings

My Bollywood Dream illustrated by Avani Dwivedi. Editor Tanya Rosie, designer Marty Cleary, art director Deirdre McDermott 

We Are a Circus illustrated by Rosie Fencott. Written by Nasta, editor/designer Emma Dai'an Wright 

Ning and the Night Spirits illustrated by Adriena Fong. Editor Harriet Birkinshaw, art director Lilly Gottwald 

We Dug Up the World illustrated by Kitty Harris. Written by Alexandra Stewart, editor Lucy Twist, art director Alison Padley

The Crown illustrated by Emily Kapff. Editor Pauliina Malinen, designers Audrey Keri-Nagy & Marty Cleary, art director Deirdre McDermott 

Who Owns the Woods? illustrated by Jess Mason. Written by Emily Hibbs, editor Harriet Evans, designer Maddie Pilkington 

The Dream Book by Bia Melo. Editor Amelia Warren, designer Christopher Stanley 

Brilliant Black British History illustrated by Kingsley Nebechi. Written by Atinuke, editor Sally Beets, art director Katie Knutton

Wolf and Bear illustrated by Kate Rolfe. Editor Suzanne Carnell, designer Jo Spooner 

The Little Fear illustrated by Luke Scriven. Editor Alice Blacker, art director Candice Turvey 

Henri and the Machine illustrated by Olga Shtonda. Written by Isabelle Marinov, editor Sophie Hallam, designer Anna Ring 

Farah Loves Mangoes illustrated by Sarthak Sinha. Editor Harriet Birkinshaw, art director Lilly Gottwald 

Bright Stars of Black British History illustrated by Angela Vives. Written by J.T. Williams, editor Anna Ridley, designer Kate Haynes 

The Fossil Hunter illustrated by Kate Winter. Editors Anna Barnes-Robinson, Louise Rickwood and Lara Hancock, designer Monica Whelan

Animal Crackers illustrated by Ruby Wright. Editor Libby Hamilton, designer Ness Wood 

Previous Klaus Flugge Prize winners include Jessica Love in 2019 for Julian is a Mermaid, Eva Eland for When Sadness Comes to Call in 2020, Flavia Z Drago in 2021 with Gustavo, the Shy Ghost and Joseph Namara Hollis in 2022 for Pierre’s New Hair.

The 2023 Klaus Flugge Prize was awarded to Mariajo Ilustrajo for Flooded. Uou can watch the Celebration Event for the 2023 Prize here. Join LoveReading MD Deborah Maclaren as she chats to judges Lydia Monks and Dr Sarah McConnell and Mariajo.

Mariajo returns this year as a judge alongside award-winning illustrator Petr Horáček, Olivia Ahmad, Artistic Director at the Quentin Blake Centre for Illustration; and Alex Forbes, founder of independent bookshop Fourbears Books. The panel will be chaired by Julia Eccleshare.

Julia Eccleshare says, “This, the ninth Klaus Flugge Prize longlist, is typically diverse in themes, approaches and subjects, a demonstration of the multitude of stories, true and imagined, that picture books can tell. The illustrators share an understanding of how to communicate ideas, emotions and narrative through illustration.  We’re delighted to be celebrating these accomplished and original picture books and such talented debut illustrators. Our thanks as always to Klaus Flugge for his generous sponsorship and continuous support for new picture book talent.”

The shortlist will be announced on 15th May 2024 and the winner will be revealed on 11th September 2024.

To find out more visit