LoveReading4Kids

Becoming a member of the LoveReading4Kids community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unconditional book loving for your children with their favourites saved to their own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop plus lots lots more...

Find out more

More Than One Way to be a Girl

Written by Dyan Sheldon

Featured Books for 13+ readers Featured Books for Young Adults Humorous Romance / Relationship Stories

LoveReading View on More Than One Way to be a Girl

In a Nutshell: Empowering, entertaining trading places tale 

Endlessly entertaining and inspirational, this radiantly witty novel imparts important messages about gender stereotypes with heartfelt humour.   Zizi and Loretta are polar opposites, “like two sides of the same planet - dark and light”. Zizi loves “clothes, make-up and boys”. She’s eager to please, and even winds up apologising when a boy grabs her boob. “He was just being a boy. He can’t help it”, she reasons. Cue outrage from feminist Loretta. Self-taught in the arts of mechanics, plumbing and carpentry, she can’t believe how previously “smart and spirited” Zizi is now “drowning in the frothy, pink sea of girliness.” But, despite their differences, the girls strike up a friendship, and decide to make a bet for the summer vacation. Zizi will relinquish her make-up and short skirts, while Loretta will adopt Zizi’s girly style. On trading places, they both learn a whole lot about themselves, and experience firsthand how differently the world treats different “kinds” of girls.

This is fabulous on female friendship, and head-over-heels brilliant on exposing the multiple ways in which girls moderate their behaviour to fall in line with gender expectations, from not running to prevent attention-drawing boob-bouncing, to victim-blaming, self-blaming and doing domestic chores when boys are let off the hook. 100% recommended for all girls upwards of 13 (and boys, for that matter), and perfect for fans of Holly Bourne. ~ Joanne Owen

LoveReading4Kids

More Than One Way to be a Girl Synopsis

A delightfully witty page-turner, brilliantly observed, with a sophisticated point to make about gender stereotypes - from internationally bestselling author Dyan Sheldon.

From the writer of Confessions of A Teenage Drama Queen and My Worst Best Friend comes this hugely entertaining teen read, all about what it really means to be a girl. ZiZi likes to think of herself as a girly girl: her wardrobe is almost exclusively pink, her daily makeup routine can take upwards of an hour and she loves a bit of a flirt. Her best friend Loretta is very different: all of her clothes are black, she doesn't wear any makeup whatsoever and she doesn't like the way ZiZi dumbs herself down for boys - or her old-fashioned ideas about a woman's place . One day, they decide to make a bet. Can ZiZi stand looking like Loretta for longer than Loretta can bear dressing like ZiZi? As their summer unfolds - often hilariously - the pair are surprised to find they have a lot to learn from each other.

More Than One Way to be a Girl Press Reviews

“A great read that’ll have you hooked from the start.”  The Sunday Times on Confessions of a Teenage Hollywood Star

“Constantly funny, splendidly witty: a bull’s eye.”  Kirkus Reviews on The Truth About My Success 

"Glittering with wit and charm.” Publishers Weekly on Confessions of a Teenage Drama Queen (New York Times Bestseller)

“Outrage and delight in a curious rich mix distinguishes Dyan Sheldon’s fiction. Her ear is tuned, her eye is clear, she is smart and generous, tough and funny.” New York Times Book Review

If you loved this, you might like these...

Flying Tips for Flightless Birds
Spellslinger
Chloe Snow's Diary: Confessions of a High School Disaster
Forever Geek

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9781406363036
Publication date: 06/07/2017
Publisher: Walker Books Ltd
Format: Paperback

Book Information

ISBN: 9781406363036
Publication date: 6th July 2017
Author: Dyan Sheldon
Publisher: Walker Books Ltd
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 368 pages
Suitable for: 13+ readers, YA readers
Genres: Humorous, Romance / Relationship Stories

About Dyan Sheldon

Dyan Sheldon is a popular and highly respected author of books for teens  and pre-teens as well as a number of stories for younger readers. Her  bestselling titles include Confessions of a Teenage Drama Queen, Confessions of a Teenage Hollywood Star, One or Two Things I Learned About Love, Tall, Thin and Blonde and the picture book The Whales' Song, which won the Kate Greenaway Medal in 1990. American by birth, Dyan lives in London, NW1.  Click here to read more about the author.  

More About Dyan Sheldon

More Books By Dyan Sheldon

Cover for The Moon Dragons by Dyan Sheldon
Cover for The Truth About My Success by Dyan Sheldon
Cover for The Crazy Things Girls Do for Love by Dyan Sheldon
View All Books By Dyan Sheldon

Share this book

LoveReading
LoveWriting
LoveReading4Schools
NEW INDIE AND SELF PUBLISHED BOOK REVIEW AND PROMOTION SERVICE LAUNCHED!    Read More
×