LoveReading4Kids

Becoming a member of the LoveReading4Kids community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unconditional book loving for your children with their favourites saved to their own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop plus lots lots more...

Find out more

The Really, Really, Really Big Dinosaur

Written by Richard Byrne

Books for Babies and Toddlers Featured Books for 3+ readers

LoveReading View on The Really, Really, Really Big Dinosaur

How a big and very boastful dinosaur is taught to be humble and to share is a nicely taught lesson with some humorous touches. Richard Byrne’s illustrations capture the playful nature of the dinosaur world perfectly

Julia Eccleshare M.B.E

The Really, Really, Really Big Dinosaur Synopsis

Finlay (a little dinosaur) is counting out jelly beans to share with his friend. He is sitting on a grassy mound. A big dinosaur comes along and demands the jelly beans. He is rather rude, a bit of a show-off, and he thinks that Finlay's friend is a figment of his imagination. What follows is a lot of posturing from the big dinosaur as he attempts to prove his worth with various antics on and around the grassy mound. As the book progresses it will gradually become clear to the reader that the 'grassy mound' is in fact, Finlay's friend, the really, really, really big dinosaur! The big dinosaur certainly doesn't realize until his bravado propels him into a dark cave that turns out to be the mouth of the really, really, really big dinosaur. It's only then that the big dinosaur learns that in order to make friends it's a good idea not to show off and it's a good idea to be prepared to share.

Perfect for fans of Rachel Bright and Jim Field's The Squirrels Who Squabbled.

The Really, Really, Really Big Dinosaur Press Reviews

'Richard Byrne delivers a bright and eye-catching spectacle.' - The Bookbag

Witty and warm, Richard Byrne's This Book Belongs to Aye-Aye brilliantly champions the role of picture books in children's early life and education. The immediacy in the illustration gives a vibrant quality to this impressive, humorous and slightly post-modern tale.Children's Bookseller's Choice.

If you loved this, you might like these...

Room on the Broom Sound Book
Room on the Broom Party Book
Elmer: A Classic Collection Elmer's best-loved tales
The Bookworm

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9780192768865
Publication date: 18/04/2019
Publisher: Oxford University Press
Format: Paperback

ISBN: 9780192757647
Publication date: 02/08/2012
Publisher: Oxford University Press
Format: Paperback

Book Information

ISBN: 9780192768865
Publication date: 18th April 2019
Author: Richard Byrne
Publisher: Oxford University Press
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 32 pages
Suitable for: Baby and Toddler, 3+ readers

About Richard Byrne

Richard Byrne in his own words: "Born in a hospital. Brought up in Brighton. Learnt to colour-in in Eastbourne. Worked in graphic design. Worked in Brighton, London, Manchester and Yorkshire Hills. Worked for myself. "Met Philippa somewhere along the way. Had two children. Had the mid-life crisis. Bought my first guitar. Got the urge to create a children's book. Got an agent. Got a book deal. Got another book deal." Richard now lives in Chichester so that he can be closer to family, old friends, the coast, and the equator.

More About Richard Byrne

More Books By Richard Byrne

Cover for This Book is Out of Control! by Richard Byrne
Cover for This Book is Out of Control! by Richard Byrne
Cover for We're in the Wrong Book! by Richard Byrne
View All Books By Richard Byrne

Share this book

LoveReading
LoveWriting
LoveReading4Schools
NEW INDIE AND SELF PUBLISHED BOOK REVIEW AND PROMOTION SERVICE LAUNCHED!    Read More
×