LoveReading4Kids

Becoming a member of the LoveReading4Kids community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unconditional book loving for your children with their favourites saved to their own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop plus lots lots more...

Find out more

I'm Just No Good At Rhyming And Other Nonsense for Mischievous Kids and Immature Grown-Ups

Written by Chris Harris

Illustrated by Lane Smith

I'm Just No Good At Rhyming And Other Nonsense for Mischievous Kids and Immature Grown-Ups Synopsis

Highly recommended. I think it will make children wriggle with delight - Stephen Fry If I ever find myself holding a gecko . . . I'll lecko. Forget what you think you know about poetry - this is something totally different. Chris Harris' I'm Just No Good At Rhyming combines wit, wordplay and nonsense with visual and verbal tricks to make you look at the world in a new and wonderfully upside-down way, reminiscent of Spike Milligan. I'm just no good at rhyming. It makes me feel so bad. I'm just no good at rhyming, And that's why I'm so blue. This entirely unique collection of wildly witty words offers a surprise around every corner, from the ongoing rivalry between the author and illustrator (mean poem and cruel portrait included), to the mysteriously misnumbered pages that can only be deciphered by a certain code-cracking verse, to a poem that is 100% genuinely infinite. Meet a balding werewolf, competitive boulders, a birthday piranha, and find out if grown-ups really are better! Why are grown-ups better than kids? 'Cause we got what it takes - We never, ever, ever, ever, ever, make mistaeks! Adding to the fun: Lane Smith, winner of the CILIP Kate Greenaway Medal for There Is a Tribe of Kids, has spectacularly illustrated this extraordinary collection with nearly one hundred pieces of appropriately absurd art. It's a mischievous match made in heaven and the perfect gift for creative kids or immature grown-ups.

I'm Just No Good At Rhyming And Other Nonsense for Mischievous Kids and Immature Grown-Ups Press Reviews

The best poetry book of the year * The BookBag * A magnificently wacky romp through verse... This moving, madcap anthem to language is sure to stand the test of time * Booklist * Those who claim to hate poetry will enjoy this riotous compilation.... Fans of Ogden Nash, Shel Silverstein, and Jack Prelutsky will rejoice in finding another member of their gang. Smith matches Harris's wit with his own zaniness.... A surefire winner * School Library Journal * Hits a poetry trifecta: high energy, rhymes that can rival Cole Porter's, and a torrent of ideas.... A worthy heir to Silverstein, Seuss, and even Ogden Nash * Publishers Weekly * A frolicking romp through the zany world of nonsense verse...wildly imaginative and cleverly illustrated. The inspired and inspiring sense of play knows no bounds. * Kirkus * Chris Harris is a poet and everyone should know it! Love this book! -- Andrea Beaty, author of Rosie Revere, Engineer There once was a poet named Chris, Whose book is quite hard to dismiss, His poetry skill Gives me quite a thrill And it's hard to write poetry, particularly if it's supposed to rhyme or fit into a certain rhythm, and if you don't believe me, take a look at this. -- Lemony Snicket, author of A Series of Unfortunate Events Chris Harris is one of the funniest, sharpest, cleverest (not a word) writers I've ever known (and I'm not just saying that because we share a last name). This book made me laugh and laugh and laugh. I can't recommend it enough -- Neil Patrick Harris, actor, author, star of How I Met Your Mother I am a grown man and this book made me laugh out loud. When I was a kid, this was the kind of book that made me want to make comedy. -- Jason Segel, actor, screenwriter, producer, star of How I Met Your Mother I'm just no good at describing how wonderful this book is. Smart and sweet, wild and wicked, brilliantly funny - it's everything a book for kids should be. -- BJ Novak, author of The Book With No Pictures Highly recommended. I think it will make children wriggle with delight * Stephen Fry *

Book Information

ISBN: 9781509881055
Publication date: 20th September 2018
Author: Chris Harris
Illustrator: Lane Smith
Publisher: Two Hoots an imprint of Pan Macmillan
Format: Paperback / softback
Pagination: 192 pages

About Chris Harris

Chris Harris is a writer and executive producer for How I Met Your Mother and a writer for The Late Show with David Letterman. His pieces have appeared in The New Yorker, Esquire, ESPN, The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, and on NPR. He lives in Los Angeles, loves peppermint stick ice cream and, when he's not too full, just-a little-bit-more-peppermint-stick-ice-cream-but-don't-tell-anyone. He's a funny guy, as you can tell from his children's poetry collection I'm Just No Good At Rhyming. In his spare time, he gets older. Lane Smith is the creator of It's a Book, It's a ...

More About Chris Harris

More Books By Chris Harris

Cover for I'm Just No Good At Rhyming by Chris Harris
Cover for Uprising by Chris Harris
Cover for Scouting & Recollections The 3rd Parkstone Scout Group by Chris Harris
View All Books By Chris Harris

Share this book

LoveReading
LoveWriting
LoveReading4Schools
NEW INDIE AND SELF PUBLISHED BOOK REVIEW AND PROMOTION SERVICE LAUNCHED!    Read More
×