This month's 'featured books'
Books Reviewed by Children
Charlotte's Web
Charlotte's Web
E. B. White
How a wise spider saves a young pig from...
Format: Paperback - Released: 03/07/2014
Download Extract  |  Buy
The River Singers
The River Singers
Tom Moorhouse
In the tradition of Kenneth Grahame’s The Wind in the Willows and Richard Adams’s Watership Down, The River Singers captures...
Format: Paperback - Released: 03/07/2014
Download Extract  |  Buy
Head Over Heart
Head Over Heart
Colette Victor
July 2014 Debut of the Month  Boys, homework and family – Zeynab has all the usual concerns of any girl...
Format: Paperback - Released: 03/07/2014
Download Extract  |  Buy
The Broken King
The Broken King
Philip Womack
When Simon is really annoyed with his sister Anna he summons up the Broken King from a favourite poem and...
Format: Paperback - Released: 28/06/2014
Download Extract  |  Buy
Hattie B, Magical Vet: the Unicorn's Horn
Hattie B, Magical Vet: the Unicorn's Horn
Claire Taylor-Smith
Hattie B, Magical Vet: The Unicorn's Horn, is the second book in a brand new magical series for girls. Discover...
Format: Paperback - Released: 03/07/2014
Download Extract  |  Buy
The Borrowers
The Borrowers
Judith Elkin, Sian Bailey, Mary Norton
A magical adventure story of an alternative, small-scale life as lived by Pod, Homily and their daughter Arrietty who could...
Format: Paperback - Released: 03/07/2014
Download Extract  |  Buy
This month's 'featured books'
Carnegie/Greenaway
The Child's Elephant
The Child's Elephant
Rachel Campbell-Johnston
Shortlisted for the Carnegie Medal 2014. 'Throw your heart out in front of you and run to catch it.' That's...
Format: Hardback - Released: 02/05/2013
Download Extract  |  Buy
Blood Family
Blood Family
Anne Fine
Shortlisted for the Carnegie Medal 2014   Edward is four years old when he is locked away with his mother by...
Format: Hardback - Released: 04/07/2013
Download Extract  |  Buy
Brock
Brock
Anthony McGowan
Longlisted for the Carnegie Medal 2014 - One of our Dyslexia Friendly Books of the Year 2013 - Interest Age...
Format: Paperback - Released: 03/06/2013
Download Extract  |  Buy
The Positively Last Performance
The Positively Last Performance
Geraldine Mccaughrean
Longlisted for the Carnegie Medal 2014  Award winning Geraldine McCaughrean spins a brilliantly fanciful yarn in the magical setting of...
Format: Paperback - Released: 06/02/2014
Download Extract  |  Buy
Mysterious Traveller
Mysterious Traveller
Mal Peet, Elspeth Graham
Longlisted for the Kate Greenaway Medal 2014  This tale begins with a disgruntled camel, desperately trying to protect a little...
Format: Hardback - Released: 04/04/2013
Download Extract  |  Buy
Heroic
Heroic
Phil Earle
Longlisted for the Carnegie Medal 2014  'For the past five weeks I'd prayed that I'd never see my brother's name...
Format: Paperback - Released: 25/04/2013
Download Extract  |  Buy
This month's 'featured books'
Miffy
Miffy and the New Baby
Miffy and the New Baby
Dick Bruna
This highly desirable, collectible classic series has been updated for a new generation by award-winning poet, Tony Mitton. Miffy has...
Format: Hardback - Released: 22/05/2014
Download Extract  |  Buy
Miffy's Birthday
Miffy's Birthday
Dick Bruna
Small, square and always with a robust, hardback cover, Dick Bruna’s iconic picture books about the little white bunny called...
Format: Hardback - Released: 22/05/2014
Download Extract  |  Buy
Miffy's Garden
Miffy's Garden
Dick Bruna
How do flowers grow? What can Miffy do to help? Miffy experiences the pleasures of gardening for the first time... Small,...
Format: Hardback - Released: 22/05/2014
Download Extract  |  Buy
Miffy at the Zoo
Miffy at the Zoo
Dick Bruna
A pair of parrots, a zebra and a kangaroo - these are just some of the animals Miffy sees for...
Format: Hardback - Released: 27/02/2014
Download Extract  |  Buy
Miffy on Holiday!
Miffy on Holiday!
Dick Bruna
Meet Miffy - a lovable little bunny who likes to discover the wonder in everyday things. Miffy and her parents...
Format: Novelty book - Released: 22/05/2014
Download Extract  |  Buy
Miffy at the Gallery
Miffy at the Gallery
Dick Bruna
A great way to introduce young children to the modern art world. Simplifies forms of modern art to toddlers while...
Format: Hardback - Released: 27/02/2014
Download Extract  |  Buy
This month's 'featured books'
Books of the Month
Borgon the Axeboy and the Dangerous Breakfast
Borgon the Axeboy and the Dangerous Breakfast
Kjartan Poskitt
July 2014 Book of the Month  Be careful where you read this savagely funny new series for 8+ year olds...
Format: Paperback - Released: 03/07/2014
Download Extract  |  Buy
Armageddon Outta Here - the World of Skulduggery Pleasant
Armageddon Outta Here - the World of Skulduggery Pleasant
Derek Landy
July 2014 Book of the Month  For the first time, every Skulduggery Pleasant short story - plus The End of...
Format: Hardback - Released: 03/07/2014
Download Extract  |  Buy
Scarlett Fever
Scarlett Fever
Maureen Johnson
 Queen-of-Teens Maureen Johnson captures Scarlett’s hectic and fluctuating life in this third story about the goings on at  Hopewell Hotel,...
Format: Paperback - Released: 03/07/2014
Download Extract  |  Buy
The Great War An Anthology of Stories Inspired by Objects from the First World War
The Great War An Anthology of Stories Inspired by Objects from the First World War

July 2014 Non-Fiction Book of the Month  What did living through the First World War feel like for relatives at...
Format: Hardback - Released: 03/07/2014
Download Extract  |  Buy
The Hangman's Revolution
The Hangman's Revolution
Eoin Colfer
Best-selling Eoin Colfer gives readers a thrilling and action-packed new episode in his series of titles about Chevie Savano, a...
Format: Hardback - Released: 26/06/2014
Download Extract  |  Buy
Bluebird
Bluebird
Bob Staake
July 2014 Book of the Month  Echoes of the classic story of The Red Balloon shape this stunning wordless picture...
Format: Paperback - Released: 03/07/2014
Download Extract  |  Buy
This month's 'featured books'
Debuts of the Month
The Luck Uglies
The Luck Uglies
Paul Durham
Rye’s life is saved by a mysterious stranger on the night of the Black Moon, an event which leads her...
Format: Paperback - Released: 03/07/2014
Download Extract  |  Buy
Glimpse
Glimpse
Kendra Leighton
July 2014 Debut of the Month  A poem from the past is woven into this haunting contemporary story in which...
Format: Paperback - Released: 19/06/2014
Download Extract  |  Buy
Head Over Heart
Head Over Heart
Colette Victor
July 2014 Debut of the Month  Boys, homework and family – Zeynab has all the usual concerns of any girl...
Format: Paperback - Released: 03/07/2014
Download Extract  |  Buy
Jumblecat
Jumblecat
Archie Kimpton
July 2014 Debut of the Month  Introducing a fantastically funny new voice in children's fiction.  Think David Walliams meets Franck...
Format: Paperback - Released: 03/07/2014
Download Extract  |  Buy
The Savage Kingdom
The Savage Kingdom
Simon David Eden
July 2014 Debut of the Month  An epic fantasy adventure about loyalty, courage, hope, survival... and the awesome power of...
Format: Paperback - Released: 17/07/2014
Download Extract  |  Buy
The Rain
The Rain
Virginia Bergin
July 2014 Debut of the Month   A dystopian story told with the refreshing addition of a dollop of good humour....
Format: Paperback - Released: 17/07/2014
Download Extract  |  Buy
This month's 'featured books'
Horrid Henry 20th Anniversary
Horrid Henry
Horrid Henry
Francesca Simon
Introducing Horrid Henry, the boy who throws food, snatches,...
Format: Paperback - Released: 22/05/2014
Download Extract  |  Buy
Horrid Henry's Krazy Ketchup
Horrid Henry's Krazy Ketchup
Francesca Simon
Best-selling Francesca Simon tells four terrific new stories about...
Format: Paperback - Released: 05/06/2014
Download Extract  |  Buy
Horrid Henry's Wedding
Horrid Henry's Wedding
Francesca Simon
Henry goes to a very Horrid wedding in this...
Format: Paperback - Released: 24/04/2014
Download Extract  |  Buy
Horrid Henry's Biggest and Best Ever Joke Book - 3-in-1
Horrid Henry's Biggest and Best Ever Joke Book - 3-in-1
Francesca Simon
Horrid Henry is back with this bumper 3-in-1 collection...
Format: Paperback - Released: 13/03/2014
Download Extract  |  Buy
A Horrid Factbook: Horrid Henry Sports
A Horrid Factbook: Horrid Henry Sports
Francesca Simon
Packed with freaky facts and random trivia, this is...
Format: Paperback - Released: 08/05/2014
Download Extract  |  Buy
Horrid Henry's All Time Favourite Joke Book
Horrid Henry's All Time Favourite Joke Book
Francesca Simon
Enjoy some jokes from the irrepressible Horrid Henry with his most totally brilliant, fiendishly funny, utterly wicked joke book yet! Why...
Format: Paperback - Released: 15/03/2012
Download Extract  |  Buy
Recommend this website to a friend
Children's Author 'Like-for-Like' recommendations
Lovereading.co.uk
Lovereading4schools.co.uk
Lovewriting.co.uk

Welcome to Lovereading4kids.co.uk


Reading is fundamental to the development of children and countless research shows the links between good reading skills from an early age and future success in life. However, finding books children want to read or authors that excite them, can be difficult; the choice is daunting and guidance rather thin on the ground.

Free emails and book extractsSo, Lovereading4kids was created to be the best recommendation site for Children's Book from toddlers to teens. It has been created using the experience we have as parents and book lovers, who want our children to read great books.  Secondly, it has been created from what we have learned from setting up our first book site lovereading.co.uk


Top downloads on Lovereading4kids

Baby and Toddler

  1. My First Elmer Collection - by David Mckee
  2. Where Do You Live Snail? - by Petr Horacek
  3. Dinosaur Rhyme Time - by

3+ readers

  1. This is Not My Hat - by Jon Klassen
  2. Harry and the Monster - by Sue Mongredien
  3. Abigail - by Catherine Rayner

5+ readers

  1. The Pirates' Picnic - by Angela Mcallister
  2. Twit - by Stephen Cole
  3. Puffin on the Beach A Story with Widgit Symbols - by David Blakesley

7+ readers

  1. Buckle and Squash and the Monstrous Moat-dragon - by Sarah Courtauld
  2. Charlotte's Web - by E. B. White
  3. Borgon the Axeboy and the Dangerous Breakfast - by Kjartan Poskitt

9+ readers

  1. Wendy Quill is Full Up of Wrong - by Wendy Meddour
  2. The Boy on the Porch - by Sharon Creech
  3. Billy's Blitz - by Barbara Mitchelhill

11+ readers

  1. The Savage Kingdom - by Simon David Eden
  2. Armageddon Outta Here - the World of Skulduggery Pleasant - by Derek Landy
  3. No Going Back - by Alex Gutteridge

14+ readers

  1. She is Not Invisible - by Marcus Sedgwick
  2. The Rain - by Virginia Bergin
  3. Every Second Counts - by Sophie Mckenzie


Register now – FREE for a unique range of services specifically created to help parents and anyone who likes to buy books for children choose the best books for boys and girls of all ages.

  • Download and print off the Opening Extract of every 'featured book' on our site, even the picture books
  • Discover new writers through our unique children's author 'like-for-like' recommendation service
  • Read our exclusive online book reviews by Julia Eccleshare, author and children's books editor at the Guardian.
  • Enjoy regular emails to keep you up to date on the latest and best in your chosen age ranges. (Please be reassured that your e-mail address will remain confidential to Lovereading and not sold to any of those horrible spam people).

Register now and try it out. We know choosing books for children will become a joy!

 

 

 
Children's Author List LovereadingLovereading - Lovereading 4 Kids